Afirm Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Afirm Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
32%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Afirm President Jon Kovach (no image)
Jon Kovach
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay depends on completed audits, which are at the mercy of insured’s compliance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Extremely low pay to contractors(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Love It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Control Consultant in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Afirm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to move around like you want

    Cons

    Travel and on the road

    Afirm2019-04-17
  2. "Flexible but misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Insurance Loss Surveyor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Afirm part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility- able to set own schedule. Interesting inspections. Many of the people at Afirm you must deal with by phone and email are very nice.

    Cons

    Upon hiring Afirm presents the idea that employees receive an hourly wage plus commission. However, the “hourly wage” is deducted from the commissions. Therefore, although you must track all hours spent working (including all emails, phone calls, research, meetings, classes, etc.) you don’t receive pay for any of that time. The only pay received is for reports turned in which is never enough to compensate for all the time required to complete them.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2020-01-27

    Afirm Response

    January 31, 2020Executive Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to creating a comfortable and transparent environment for all of our employees so it is unexpected to hear about your experience. We continuously look for ways to improve our company. In an effort to equip our employees with all of the necessary tools and resources to be successful we offer monthly, free industry specific training. Training elevates staffs ability to improve their production, resulting in increased compensation. This is just one example of how we invest in our teams to ensure the most desirable outcome is achieved. AFIRMs dedication to training is what sets us apart; as we are relentless about having well educated and profitable Field Reps.

    Continue reading
  3. "Falling Further Behind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Coordinator in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Afirm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positions available country wide, allowed to work from home. Co-workers are very nice and helpful. Managers are very good at helping out when needed.

    Cons

    Software is problematic and has frequent issues. Benefits cut to bare minimum and raised rates. Employee retention is dropping, struggle to keep employees happy. Do not replace staff when they leave causing work load to increase on everyone else. Owned by corporate Kaufman who controls everything. Very little freedom to make changes. Training is lacking and many times are left to learn on your own.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2019-12-10
  4. "Just not what it first appears"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premium Auditor in Austin, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Afirm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and independence when working..

    Cons

    Just cant seem to make a full time living no matter how many hours I work. Needed more information that isn't always available.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2019-10-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Buyer Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Control Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Afirm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The ability to work at least part of the time from home.

    Cons

    Costs of paper, ink, cameras, phone, time on road, time on phone and time to input report does not commensurate with pay. When I first started I recommended this company to friends, but the company has changed and now I'm not quite sure how much longer I'll stay under these conditions. I now see why they're always advertising for new I.C.'s. They have a large IC turnover rate. Management has zero respect for those of us in field and without field reps they have no company.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2019-07-26
  6. Helpful (4)

    "How to lose an employee in 10 days!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Afirm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people with a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    First, with each new acquisition they retain the least qualified people. These individuals are not leaders but will sell you out in an instant if it means improving their standing. Sales is ran by people not the least bit qualified nor understand any concept of how to run a sales organization. Based on other work experiences, VP’s and AVP’s would be managers at other companies if they were lucky, most likely wouldn’t be hired in the first place. No training, no guidance, and if you ask a question you might as well just ask a magic 8 ball. Second, I’ve worked several other positions within the company and each level is a mess. This is a family run business in Fort Collins that is easy to get into but not worth your time or effort. They lie, cheat, and steal there way to stay afloat and it amazes me each day it’s in operation. Without the backing of KFG, this boat would have already sank. Third, after working for several companies I can tell you this is by far the worst. It is a stagnant position wherever you are and growth is not possible. You might get a better title, but that is all that will happen, you will never grow as a professional in your craft. The company feeds off good talent that they push away within a few years at max. To finish, please just rethink your options. If you think you’re talented and hard working then this is not the company for you as you will never move up the ladder nor learn anything of importance along the way. I wasted years trying to improve the work processes they have adapted and change is not possible under the current “leadership” at every level.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2019-07-11
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Stay Away - Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Afirm full-time

    Pros

    President is a salesman that is out of his lane and demoted CEO to cover his own ignorance. Leadership leads in fear to the point AVP's are afraid to say no. Majority of AVPs wish to leave the company, but are stuck.

    Cons

    Afirm has been sinking since its "Leadership Team" decided to change the internal structure in March of 2018. President threw a party for the companies 30 year anniversary in the middle of a meltdown. Worst restructuring in corporate American history lead to multiple layoffs, demotions, firing, and reassignments of staff. Work can't be discussed at family dinners of leadership for fear of retaliation. Customers mislead regarding the company's ability to perform services. Clients have left in double-digit percentage, and production processing slowed by double-digit percentages. Employees work more hours than paid and leadership just ignores it. Field staff loss of income in double-digit percentage. Additional hours worked to completed to same about of work. Double-digit losses in 2018. No incentive to perform. Staff just collecting paychecks while seeking other employment.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2019-03-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Agents Run the Show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Auditor in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Afirm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only Pro I have is that, during Audits, I have met some wonderful people; business owners and one other representing Afirm; the Recruiter.

    Cons

    All was well and felt I had found my "rest of my life" job until you go out into the field and some Agents are so worried that they might lose the account that they get involved with the audit and Afirm does not back you up. Also, training tells us to call Agent if we need help in contacting Insured. I did just that and the Agent banned me from auditing any of that Agent's customers as well as another Agent carrying insurance from one Carrier; the majority of their business, the same Carrier. Afirm should have done a little investigating to see how many times I tried to contact Insured and then tell the Agent that if your customers do not cooperate, we are dropping you. Instead, I lost all those jobs. Who is running the show: If you are an auditing company, then be one even if it means growing some b___ls. Who would want to go thru the intensive , time consuming, expensive training only to finally go out and do some audits and get "Beat up" by Agencies and their customers. How can a "so-called" auditing company keep any employees. Training is at the future contractor's expense; Afirm has a virtual trainer training 10 people during a session. I am sure it is an expense, but if you want to hire and keep people, you have to spend some money and back up your employees. Of the 10 in my class, only 2 made it through and I don't know why I am still working after most of my jobs were taken away due to the Agent or Agency.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2019-02-19
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Huge investment upfront, nothing after for full time employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premium Auditor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Afirm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Seems like a fun place to work at first

    Cons

    Goals and expectations keep rising but pay keeps getting lower, harder to achieve goals and incentive pay.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2019-01-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Field Audit Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Audit Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Afirm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, working from home. Decent healthcare benefits.

    Cons

    Annual reviews are a joke. Received excellent ratings, but after compensation restructuring it was actually a huge cut in pay. Commission system is not transparent, paychecks are always incorrect. Told you have paid holidays and vacation but at your base salary which is barely above minimum wage. Zero communication other than being bombarded with emails to produce more. Constant software and server issues, making timely work next to impossible.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2018-12-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 79 reviews