Afirm "audits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Afirm Employee Reviews about "audits"

Updated Mar 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
28%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Afirm President Jon Kovach (no image)
Jon Kovach
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay depends on completed audits, which are at the mercy of insured’s compliance(in 17 reviews)

  • "No single point of contact , time on audits is not compensated , very low pay for contractors(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "audits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Premium Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premium Auditor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Afirm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Auditors are employees, not subcontractors. We receive an hourly wage, plus commission dollars for audits completed. We have a full benefit package, including medical, dental and a 401K. All expenses are reimbursed.

    Cons

    Inventory for auditing can be scattered outside of your "normal" territory which means with drive time you may not be able to get as many audits completed for the week as you would like and the real money comes from over ride dollars on completed audits.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2016-07-21

    Afirm Response

    September 16, 2016HR Associate

    Thank you for the feedback! One of the ways we are trying to improve the travel time and territory variances is by creating more specific territories. We feel that with the growth of our scheduling department we can help our employees utilize their time and talents in the most efficient way possible.

    Continue reading
  2. "Not worth the time. Very unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Contractor - Premium Auditor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Afirm for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy intro to insurance industry

    Cons

    They treat contractors badly. No single point of contact , time on audits is not compensated , very low pay for contractors. Seems as though they have management and workflow issues. Noone seems to know what anyone else is doing even when they re on the same team. Bizarre experience.

    Afirm2020-03-02
  3. "Glad I tried it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Insurance Auditor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Afirm for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive team. Flexible hours. In depth training.

    Cons

    Unpaid training. Pay depends on completed audits, which are at the mercy of insured’s compliance. Can work many hours to retrieve information to complete an audit and end up with less than $10.

    Afirm2020-01-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Agents Run the Show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Auditor in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Afirm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only Pro I have is that, during Audits, I have met some wonderful people; business owners and one other representing Afirm; the Recruiter.

    Cons

    All was well and felt I had found my "rest of my life" job until you go out into the field and some Agents are so worried that they might lose the account that they get involved with the audit and Afirm does not back you up. Also, training tells us to call Agent if we need help in contacting Insured. I did just that and the Agent banned me from auditing any of that Agent's customers as well as another Agent carrying insurance from one Carrier; the majority of their business, the same Carrier. Afirm should have done a little investigating to see how many times I tried to contact Insured and then tell the Agent that if your customers do not cooperate, we are dropping you. Instead, I lost all those jobs. Who is running the show: If you are an auditing company, then be one even if it means growing some b___ls. Who would want to go thru the intensive , time consuming, expensive training only to finally go out and do some audits and get "Beat up" by Agencies and their customers. How can a "so-called" auditing company keep any employees. Training is at the future contractor's expense; Afirm has a virtual trainer training 10 people during a session. I am sure it is an expense, but if you want to hire and keep people, you have to spend some money and back up your employees. Of the 10 in my class, only 2 made it through and I don't know why I am still working after most of my jobs were taken away due to the Agent or Agency.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2019-02-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "For the right person, might be great, for many...not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Premium Auditor 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Afirm for more than a year

    Pros

    High billable rate. Flexible hours, managing my own time. Supportive team.

    Cons

    As an auditor, you have to schedule your own appointments. This is not easy, at least for me. If you're good at multi-tasking, perhaps you could do well, but scheduling appointments, performing the audit, and closing out the audit all have to be balanced and are very different activities. The audits are the easy part. Additionally, while the billable rate is high, a majority of my activity is not billable, such as research (really!), drive time (which EVERY audit requires), and much more. Don't expect to bill more than 20 hours/wk.

    Afirm2018-08-17
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Don't bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Afirm full-time

    Pros

    laptop but MS Word keeps crashing.

    Cons

    Dishonest - they say they' reimburse $50.00/month for cell phone, 50/mo for home wifi but didn't. You're not told what your pay will be if you complete x number of audits. Why not? Because it's very low. There's another review, stating same issue. No need to apply here for a job - Trump is bring back America, factories, jobs,......

    Afirm2018-08-21
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Loss Control Surveyoy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Loss Control Surveyor in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Afirm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no Pro's to being employed with Afirm Solutions

    Cons

    Its not a real job, it's a total scam. The company objective is to hire as many loss control surveyors as they can, have them perform as many audits as possible, before they realize they are working for less than minimum wage, and have to use their own vehicle, and home office supplies, which you are marginally compensated for. I ascertained in a week that this was a complete waste of my time and money. It was explained to me that if I was able to complete 3 surveys a day, or 15 in a week, I would average 75k to 80k annually, and if I was able to 4 a day, 20 in a week, I could expect to exceed 100k in annual earnings. The actual compensation for each survey is between $25 and $40, so at an average of less than $30 an audit, you would have to do 50 audits a week to earn $75k annually, and about 75 audits a week to earn 100k. Completely false of what you will be told by management. If you take into consideration your vehicle usage, time, tolls, and incidentals, you are working for FREE. Don't be fooled by the hype of working for an "established" company. This is nothing more than a legal scam that will frustrate you, lead you on, and deplete your finances, if you allow yourself to be tricked into working for this organization.

    Continue reading
    Afirm2018-05-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "premium auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Contract Auditor in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Afirm for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible work schedule, good managers - when you can reach them

    Cons

    low billable caps on audits = high SG&A at corporate level, inconsistent systems, lack of assistance from home office (three supervisors, always leaving VMs).

    Continue reading
    Afirm2018-01-18
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Bait and switch. Think twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premium in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Afirm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can be flexible scheduling if you have a good scheduler. But you are at the mercy of insurance clients and insurers

    Cons

    Bait and switch. They don't tell you the amount of work that is required to turn in audits. Unless you are a seasoned insurance pro, it is a completely new language and universe. Extremely hard learning curve in the beginning then you are thrown into the fire. There must be a dozen people in management hired just to get on your case to produce MORE! You even have a manager that reminds you weekly that your location is so behind and won't make this week's production...

    Continue reading
    Afirm2017-12-03
  10. Helpful (21)

    "Bait and Switch -Misleading- Use You UP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Afirm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work From Home- Flexible Hours

    Cons

    You are forced to do low paying reports as The Parent Company Kaufman owns several of the Companies AFIRM does reports for. Hourly Wage- is Deducted from commissions which is $10 an hour. so if you work 40 hours with calls, Audits/Inspections, write ups, drive time = $400 they don't pay you this in addition to commissions. They subtract- so If commissions were $1000, they only pay you $600 + the $10 an hr of $400-- VERY Misleading, Vacation or Sick Pay is Deducted from Commissions, Very Coercive & manipulating Mgmt. Threatening emails, Very Disturbing approach to management. The HR responses to all these comments here is only damage control with no change. You will get Tired & burnt out and very disappointed if you decide to work for AFIRM. They will always turn the screws- Pressure- Threaten you with Employment contract you agreed to it is relentless. Keep In mind the wear and tear, repairs, maintenance, tires ,Insurance, on your vehicle, Your Cell Phone costs, computer, paper, Ink. parking costs, tolls, + You will get calls at all hours even after you have done work from Customers, Agents, AFIRM Mgmnt. its Crazy!

    Continue reading
    Afirm2017-06-22
Found 20 reviews