Age Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Age Group Reviews

Updated Apr 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
16%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Richard Adjmi
7 Ratings
  1. "Not the most professional, but it did feel like home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Age Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice office, Mac computers, great production team, and learned a ton there.

    Cons

    Yelling, uneven job distribution, long hours for OT team

    Advice to Management

    Everyone’s busy that’s why there were not much of systematic improvement of management. Work flow and collaboration among departments could be improved by 3rd party counseling agency.

    Age Group2019-04-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't Even Think About Working Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Age Group full-time

    Pros

    The ONLY good thing (can also be a bad thing depending on where you are) is that you can basically show up whenever you want. There is a sign-in sheet but you write down your own time of arrival. Some people do get a time-punch card though. My only option here is to give 1 star as the lowest score, I wish there was a negative score.

    Cons

    Let's start from the bottom. Lack of communication in every department and between departments, if there is any at all. If a change is made in one department and that change can effect other departments, it won't be notified unless people from other department find out somehow. No middle management, there is no point person in charge of each department, so nobody can or dares to make decisions. Pretty much all...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let the real professionals do it. Either hire some professional management personnel or sell it to someone who know how to do business.

    Age Group2017-08-29
  3. "it is ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Age Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    not much pros , if you are the manager favorite you can get far, I do know if that is a pro

    Cons

    need to work late hours if the management does not like you .. you are pretty much out

    Age Group2017-03-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "not a nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Age Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    people were great really nice

    Cons

    no raises line their own pockets

    Advice to Management

    go get an education

    Age Group2017-03-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Unorganized Chaos."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Age Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The building is convenient to train and great lunch spots, if you manage to get a lunch break. Great coffee spots around neighborhood.

    Cons

    Mental abuse on a daily basis. Very unclear direction if any direction is given at all. Don't work here unless your looking to be entirely miserable. Understaffed and overworked.

    Advice to Management

    Sell your business! Call it quits!

    Age Group2016-05-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "never would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Age Group for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Made so many friends that was the best part

    Cons

    never get a raise company motto "be thankful you have a job"

    Advice to Management

    there is no management

    Age Group2015-12-04
  7. "Not bad when compared to the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Artist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Age Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice clean office with perfectly functioning equipments. A rather mellow and relaxed work environment compared to other insane asylums I have experienced over the years. Regular work hours; no crazy unpaid overtimes or weekends.

    Cons

    do not ever expect any salary raise or a decent holiday bonus. the top prize at the Christmas party: $50

    Advice to Management

    I never knew them and never was formally introduced: no contacts between upper management and employees which was fine with me.

    Age Group2015-06-26
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Demoralizing, Greedy Owners, Bad work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Age Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best pro was getting out of that place. It was demoralizing! The owners are greedy and scream all the time. They act nice on your interview so you will take the job but are sneaky snake oil sales men with nothing but the worst for your life!

    Cons

    Salaries are crappy, little bonuses that barely help you out. The owners act religious one second and then scream obscenities down the hall the next. They are poorly educated leaders with little or no college education. Don't work here! Run for the hills if your offered a job!

    Advice to Management

    Cash out! Sell your business you need to take some work ethic courses. Your management skills are poor and you lack major education. You offer your employees no incentive to want to work hard and you offer no advancement opportunities.

    Age Group2014-10-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A mixed bag of nuts but a definite learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Age Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary, Production staff is really kind and easy to work with, holiday bonus', You can easily learn from your peers at times, Health benefits weren't bad.

    Cons

    The upper management minus the COO were often un professional in the way they speak to staff. There was often a lot of yelling and profanity in offices and hallways. The design staff was a bit catty which isn't un heard of but I feel they were often more eager to work out of fear of the boss than creative design development. There was no system in place for employee review you found out more through gossip. I learned...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Office culture an moral is often down because no one wants to be reprimanded all the time. It is often unclear what management wants so design has to do more than a little bit of extra work hoping that they come out on top. Being clear about what you want from your staff would be very effective. All of your staff are adults so address your staff as such and not like you would your children. The hostility of hearing people...

    Show More
    Age Group2014-07-16
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Dysfunctional Leadership, Poor Company Culture, Disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Age Group full-time

    Pros

    Company appears fiscally sound. Good and easily accessible location. Showroom and workspaces are nice. Accessible tech-support should you have computer issues.

    Cons

    Had I known about this site before taking a position at Age Group, I would have had a painfully accurate representation of what to expect based on the negative reviews already written. At the heart what's wrong here is not only management that's difficult to deal with and ineffective at directing and guiding employees but also the absence of any sort of structured design process or development calendar. I lacked...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn to give considered, constructive, smart and intelligible feedback. I mean, a lot more than, “I hate it". You don’t get people to want to work harder for you by berating or belittling them. What you do get is a bunch of head nodding, clock-watching employees unwilling to share opinions whose main objective is to get through the day without stirring the pot.

    Age Group2013-07-21
Found 12 reviews