KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Agios Pharmaceuticals

Is this your company?

Agios Pharmaceuticals

Add a Review

Agios Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 of over 73 reviews

4.1
72%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Agios Pharmaceuticals CEO Jackie Fouse
Jackie Fouse
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "work life balance(in 4 reviews)

  • "strong pipeline, collaborative colleagues, fast-paced company(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some growing pains as to be expected with any small/mid-size biotech, but leadership manages these changes and growing pains well(in 5 reviews)

  • "fast paced environment(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Patients First

      Jul 11, 2021 - Associate Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very collaborative environment that focuses on patients first and following the science

      Cons

      Currently hiring after company reorganization

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work at

      Jun 25, 2021 - Associate Scientist in Riverstone
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and collaborate, values fun and hard working

      Cons

      Can't think of any down side, except maybe loses a lot of people due to the size

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Different from the past

      Jun 6, 2021 - Senior Scientist in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay and compensation are great (for non-contractors) compared to company of similar size

      Cons

      AGIOS today is very different from past with new CEO and CSO only care about money. They have lost many great talent recently due to oncology divestment with an insane turn over even for Cambridge. You will have very high workload with staff run very lean and top heavy.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Agios Pharmaceuticals Response

      Chief People Officer

      I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I’m sorry to hear your most recent experiences haven’t been what you’d hoped. We’re always looking to create the greatest overall impact for our patients, and for our people. We believe that selling our oncology therapies and pipeline to Servier was the best way to help the greatest number of people – whether it’s oncology patients, genetically defined diseases patients, or each of our employees. While our scientific area of focus has shifted, our core culture and values that have made us Agios remain. Even though it’s never easy to see valued colleagues leave, our attrition rates are below industry average. Like you, I am always a bit sad when any of our wonderful employees move on. But, I wish them well and am proud of the opportunities ahead of them! I encourage you to reach out to me directly so we can talk about how to improve your experience. Thanks for continuing to be part of our team.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Company that cares!

      Apr 20, 2021 - Associate Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love Agios for its great people and the drive to help patients in need. Many companies say it, you can feel it here. It's great people working on great science to help people.

      Cons

      Agios could use more diversity but I know they are working hard to correct it.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Agios Pharmaceuticals Response

      Head of Internal Communications

      We really appreciate your feedback. It’s amazing to hear that you can “feel” our drive and energy – something of which you’re a HUGE part!! You’re correct that diversity, equity and inclusion is a big area of focus for us right now. With the help of our Diversity Council and employees like you, we’re working on it in many different ways. Stay tuned for more in the future.

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Incredible Company

      Apr 5, 2021 - Business Analyst in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Highly Modernized Culture, Transparent Management, Culture of listening to employee feedback that truly trickles all the way down from the leadership team

      Cons

      None, very thankful for my time there.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Agios Pharmaceuticals Response

      Head of Internal Communications

      Thank you so much for the great feedback. It’s fantastic to hear that you feel heard and that you’re having a positive experience with our culture. We’re so happy you’re part of the team!

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Management!

      Mar 23, 2021 - Senior Manager, Quality Assurance in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My manager fostered an environment of leaning, development and open door communication.

      Cons

      They tend to run lean however that is not uncommon in any pharmaceutical QA team.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Agios Pharmaceuticals Response

      Head of Internal Communications

      We truly appreciate your feedback. We’re committed to a culture of development – and of transparency / open communication. It’s excellent to see that you’re experiencing both. We know there’s a lot of demand on the QA team (and all of us…especially this past year). Please make sure you’re getting the support you need by reaching out to your manager or HR at any time!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful Patient Focused Organization

      Dec 23, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Agios is an incredibly thoughtful, patient-focused organization. There is a strong focus on both patients and employees, and on employee growth, learning, and development. Also, excellent compensation and benefits including a discretionary time off policy where you are actually encouraged to take the time off whenever you need it! And, there are two company shutdowns for over a week - summer and winter.

      Cons

      Some growing pains as to be expected with any small/mid-size biotech, but leadership manages these changes and growing pains well. There is a strong emphasis on transparency.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Agios Pharmaceuticals Response

      Head of Internal Communications

      It’s wonderful to read your experiences as part of our team! We’re so happy to have you and look forward to continuing our important work together.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Selfish management

      May 19, 2021 - Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      bringing kids to work day

      Cons

      Managers are selfish and non-smart. My manager asked me to work without thinking promotion while he seeked his own promotion all the time. It sucks!!!

      4 people found this review helpful

      Agios Pharmaceuticals Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m sorry that your time at Agios wasn’t what you’d hoped – and I’m sorry to hear about your experience with your manager. If you’re open to it, I’d be happy to talk more so I can determine how to address it. Please feel free to reach out to me directly.

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Inexperienced Management

      Apr 16, 2021 - Associate Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company offer good benefits.

      Cons

      Management judge people based on personal preference and ignoring actual contributions. Many good people leaving.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Agios Pharmaceuticals Response

      Chief People Officer

      I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are committed to our “follow the science” approach; it’s something that’s always been our mantra and always will be. Our updated strategic direction ensures that both the oncology and genetically defined diseases portfolio have the focus and funding required to develop their enormous potential – and to help as many patients as we possibly can. Our people are central to what we do, and we strive to make Agios a place where you can grow and excel. It seems as though your experiences don’t align with that. I’d be happy to discuss this with you more and see how I can help if you’re open to reaching out to me directly.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Jan 28, 2021 - Senior Manager in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, small company atmosphere with some larger companies systems and processes in place. Great benefits, very flexible.

      Cons

      Discretionary leave however hard to take time off

      2 people found this review helpful

      Agios Pharmaceuticals Response

      Head of Internal Communications

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We encourage all of our people to leverage flexibility and our discretionary time-off approach in whatever way works best for them – which, in the middle of a global pandemic is something that’s more important than ever before. At the same time, it may also present more challenges than ever before! Please feel free to reach out directly if you’d like to talk through some approaches that will help you take the time you need.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 58 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Agios Pharmaceuticals Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Agios Pharmaceuticals? Share Your Experiences

    Agios Pharmaceuticals logo
    or