KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Agoda

Agoda

Add a Review

Agoda Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Sep 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 1,143 reviews

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Agoda Chief Executive Officer John Brown
John Brown
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast pace working environment comes with great challenges to grow(in 67 reviews)

  • "People from almost all over the world are working in our Bangkok office(in 49 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Bangkok is great only year then boring (traffic pollution)(in 29 reviews)

  • "employees, there is only one Thai person in a senior management role (none in the C-suite)(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Agoda and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Not bad

      Sep 15, 2020 - Opportunity Manager in Bangkok
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great office, decent salary, nice multicultural environment and plenty of social activities

      Cons

      no flexible working arrangements (WFH, timing), old fashioned senior management, poor under performance management

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible experience

      Apr 20, 2019 - Accommodation Services Specialist in Gurgaon, Haryana, Haryana
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training is good, base pay is nice, hotel discounts

      Cons

      Lots of politics, India country head has lot of ego he will not let you progress in career if you are not in his good books, senior management also incapable they are not adaptable to changes, they will never encourage young talent or good ideas, managers are not professional they will take things personally on their ego if you share constructive feedback or highlight mistakes committed by their favorite employees, outdated technology with lot of bugs, Appraisals are pathetic only 5-7 percent, during joining they will make you sign an agreement where you won't be able to join any competition company within 9 months of leaving Agoda, they will hold your bonus if you quit before March, there is no career development program, people are sitting in same position for 4-5 years so no scope of growth for junior employees, everyone is chilling and India business is suffering.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      The worst experience

      Feb 16, 2019 - Manager in Hammersmith, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not much really, the only thing was that I learnt how not to do things.

      Cons

      If you have already work experience in the travel industry, do not work for Agoda. You will be probably not improve your skills or your career despite all promises made during interviews. The level of experience & skills by senior management is extremely low compared to other companies in the business. Most have no other work experience except from Agoda or are rejects from the likes of IBM, Accor or Tourico. Trainings offered are so simplistic that they are an absolute waste of time. Processes are over complicated, unnecessary and not very well thought through. Most tasks are conveyor style like as Agoda does not believe in empowering people. Favouritism, bullying and illegal practices are a daily thing at Agoda, especially since the new Managing Director for Europe moved from her UK role into this position. Senior Management cannot be trusted as very often they resort to lies and wrong promises. Management also encourages their team’s to deceit customers and suppliers. Targets are not realistic and calculation is very often incorrect. Benefits are minimal and below industry standard.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best tech firm in Thailand

      Jun 3, 2019 - Project Manager in Bangkok
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Caliber of employees - the quality of employees at agoda is by far the best in Thailand and easily on par with other tech firms such as Google and Amazon 2. Company culture - very international, data-driven

      Cons

      1. Even though agoda is based in Thailand with 5000+ employees, there is only one Thai person in a senior management role (none in the C-suite)

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      You have to fit a certain profile to work their regardless of your performance

      Aug 1, 2019 - Market Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great colleagues from so many places.

      Cons

      Senior "Management" are unqualified Dishonesty is the company culture Your work performance is not the focus

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great culture to work on high impact projects and learn by doing surrounded by a great team

      Dec 30, 2015 - Director Level in Bangkok
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Agoda encourages taking (measured) risks. It's a culture of no blaming when something didn't work out but rather try to learn from it. The working atmosphere is really good. People are mostly nice, very collaborative, non judgmental and not too worried about politics. I had never imagined working in a company with so many so smart people. There are really high caliber people in every department. The size and growth of the business make it possible to work on projects of great impact, whatever your function is.

      Cons

      In my opinion the CEO is still involved in too many decisions. They are mostly right decisions. He is a really passionate leader, great communicator, with high IQ and EQ and knowing the business in great detail. My only worry is that slows down operations a bit. Something senior management is fixing is the frequent change in priorities happening in the past. That's improving rapidly and I expect it to be out of my cons list in 1 year. I'm glad the organization is resilient to make organizational changes like this.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Senior Full Stack Software Engineer

      Nov 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Progressive -Fast paced -Open to ideas from developers

      Cons

      - When they hired me in Bangkok, in the interview they were bragging about how good they were and how they could get anyone they wanted in the company and how they only employ 1% of applicants. Everything seems... over exaggerated. Despite all this, I come from a western country and left a very high paying job. Their offer was MUCH less than my offer back home. I told them I would only stay for a short time in the job and wanted to do it to enjoy my time while it lasted in Bangkok. Despite this, they were so confident and arrogant that I would stay more longer than the time I quoted that even during my exit interview they were like "when we hired you, we knew that you would stay for more longer than xxx time" after I told them I was quiting. I found them to be quite cocky and over confident of their worth to my career. For a whole year, they bragged on about how they could pay anything to get westerners to come and work for them but when push come to shove and I told them how much they needed to pay to be just as good as my offers back home, they turned around and said "You're not worth that much". I would personally tell them that they aren't worth MY TIME either, but that's above their heads at the moment because they are arrogant.. As for the person that said this: "There's a tension in the company regarding the low salaries paid to the "local" Asian workforce vs. the high salaries and stock options typically awarded to Western expats (or Asians educated overseas) and senior management." They do this because they have to, to retain these staff. The offers are STILL not attractive even for the western expats anyway despite what Agoda says. The salary after tax verse the cost of living is still worse with Agoda than back home in most western countries. The only westerners who work in Bangkok are there for just lifestyle reasons and not money which is understandable due to the nightlife and beach scene.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      London is full of opportunities, do not waste your career on Agoda

      Dec 4, 2018 - Market Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice colleagues, good work-life balance.

      Cons

      - Opaque annual bonus criteria: you never know your how much you are going to get in your annual bonus. - Favouritism: towards some team members - Despotism - Poor Senior Management: with a couple of exceptions. - Micromanagement is the usual work dynamic - Repetitive tasks: it's all about pricing, reporting in the CRM... - The internal organisation, the procedures are so complex that it takes ages to solve an easy issue for an hotelier. - Complex platforms with many technical deficiencies - Bad reputation in the travel industry - Negativity is going to be your workday: hoteliers are constantly complaining about Agoda practices and you have to be there in the front line saving the face.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Could be better...

      Nov 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you work hard and have a good manager, you can progress.

      Cons

      Very much controlled by the head office in Bangkok. Senior management team would very much benefit from people management training.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      No other job I've had comes close.

      Nov 4, 2015 - Software Engineer in Bangkok
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ownership: All about ownership at Agoda. The management have faith in a bottom-up management style. This means as an engineer I still have the trust and belief from management to suggest and work, and live MY ideas. Not only is this OK - it's actively encouraged. I just cannot see a situation at Amazon where I go to Jeff Bezos - hey jeff, let me rewrite your whole taxation engine. At Agoda - that's nearly the reality; management worked with me on my idea, suggested changes, put me in charge, I chose the team, and... OK I was a little late, but the project was hugely succesful and made us a tonne of money! Really, really satisfying. Technology: Agoda surprised me. I didn't think their technology base was that impressive on joining - I quickly found out this isn't true. Kafka, Cassandra, vertica, Hadoop, it's all part of the repetoire. In my time at Agoda not only have I been exposed to a heap of technologies that ordinarily wouldn't come across - but I've done the research and made the suggestions myself. I've learned java, scala, python, R in addition to the tech I already knew. Business: I've always worked in small enteprise companies - basically, they pay well. Agoda is the first big company i've worked for. if big companies are like this - i'm not working for a small company ever again. Agoda has exposed me to the business, I make business decisions. Whether to prioritize issue A, or issue B it's actually up to me. Now I'm not making choices like buying companies, or where to create the next datacenter, but... I can decide that working on the maps will increase conversion and create a whole heap of new features about maps and work on them. I just have never had that level of autonomy at another company. Thailand: Living in Thailand is awesome. I cannot begin to compare it to my life in London. Everything is cheap, everything is accessible, people are wonderful. This for me is a major bonus.!

      Cons

      Ordered chaos! Agoda is growing very very aggressively and still growing at a high rate. This means that sometimes we're unable to clean up the code as much as we would like it to. This is kind of frustrating. I do understand it's a function of a succesful company, but at the same time it would be really good to find more time to do some of the clean up work. Testing I know I shouldn't say this but... Agoda tests so much. Every line of code we have tests for. Unit tests, javascript tests, system tests, database tests, api tests. Honestly - I don't enjoy testing. I totally see the value in it, and we have way, way less problems when i first joined. But testing is boring - i want to code more. Communication downwards Agoda is real big - and I know the bosses they try to make sure there are opporunities to talk with senior management. our CEO Rob will fill a movie theatre and let us know what is happening. but it would be much cooler to have this more often and from other people.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Agoda Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Agoda? Share Your Experiences

    or