Aha! Reviews | Glassdoor

Aha! Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
91%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Aha! Co-Founder and CEO Brian de Haaff
Brian de Haaff
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Remote work has its benefits but I'd still love to have a 5th week of vacation(in 17 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (26)

    "As Good As Advertised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aha! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoy the fast pace at Aha! Everyone at the company is driven and works as a team to help the business not just succeed, but thrive. Transparency is excellent. Everyone knows what is going on every single week. The whole company is geared towards remote work. The onboarding, the onsite meetings, the little things that help us remote workers connect and truly feel like a team - it’s all there. I am also impressed with the continuous efforts to evolve and improve the business, all driven by a strategy-first mindset.

    Show More

    Cons

    My customer-facing position is somewhat different than the product management I had done in the past. The switch from a longer-term strategic focus to daily meetings with different customers and focus on specific customer questions was an adjustment. I have found that, once you get up to speed, there are plenty of opportunities for other types of involvement and ownership within the team, which helps fill some of that need in me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the drive to evolve and improve. It is an ongoing process to stay on top.

    Aha!2019-03-05
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Smart team doing challenging work — culture unlike anything you have ever experience!d"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Marketing Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aha! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture at Aha! is the real deal. You are surrounded by incredibly smart people who want nothing more than to build impactful software and help other teams do the same. We are motivated by guiding each other through continuous learning, pushing each other's ideas, and helping each other become the best marketer, PM, writer, engineer, support, or ops person that you can become. Day one begins your 5+ week onboarding program (some roles go through much more). Not only will you go deep on learning the Aha! application, but you will also learn about how we work, the interruptions we welcome, and how we deliver real features on a weekly (yes, weekly!) basis. You will also be paired with a coach the entire way. You will quickly experience the incredible work of a true cross-functional team and how everyone contributes to making the product better. On several occasions, I have witnessed a conversation happen on chat and within 30 minutes that "idea / improvement" is deployed to production. We move fast and we do things that make sense for our users (including us — since we literally run the entire business in Aha!). No matter what role you are in, you have ownership to make real impact. Wether it is an internal process improvement, a new marketing approach, or a feature for the product, everyone contributes toward the shard goals. And yes, you actually understand what the goals are. The access to company metrics is incredible and we review how we are doing on a weekly basis. Numbers, stats, etc. are not hidden — you have access to see how we are doing just like everyone else.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you prefer running solo off on your own and following little-to-no process, you will not enjoy working at Aha! We have lots of process and work hard to continually improve them. You own your work, but everything is collaborative, reviewed by peers (multiple times) and there is little room for rockstars working in the dark coming back with a final solution. If you do not like extreme transparency (all your work, to-dos, etc. is visible in Aha! by the entire team) then you will not enjoy working on this team.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to recognize when things are not a good fit and move on quickly. Our culture remains unique and refreshing even as we surpass 100 people. Keep doing what you are doing as we go to 200 but allow room to adjust given challenges that come with each new milestone of people (100, 125, 150, etc.)

    Aha!2019-07-29
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Great people, driven leadership, learning organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aha! full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Aha! for three years. I consider those to be the time when I grew most in my professional career. You will be pushed hard to do things you aren't sure you can do, but that is what makes you better — and you will always be treated with kindness. Aha! is the most talented group of professionals I have ever worked with. From the CS team who answers support tickets, to the marketers writing blog posts, to the engineers behind the code -- everyone is world-class. It can be intimidating at first, but over time all those talented folks just become your coworkers. And a great group of coworkers at that. Company profit share is generous and onsites are a great opportunity to travel to beautiful places and connect with the team in person. If you have ever wondered how to build and sustain a remote company, there is no better blueprint than what Aha! has created. The product is great. It provides real value and it is something you can be proud to work on.

    Show More

    Cons

    Don't think you are joining a remote company so you can do the job for 5 hrs a day from a coffee shop. You get to work from wherever you are most comfortable but you will be expected to perform and the bar to keep up with the talented folks here is high. Working from home can also make it hard to turn off, it is important to set boundaries that work for you. Working with people all around the country (and a few around the world) was really awesome, but I did find myself missing the human interaction of an office on a day to day basis.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As you grow, there will always be detractors. Stay true to what you've built and the values that got you this far. I loved my time at Aha! and I am thankful for it.

    Aha!2019-07-29
  4. Helpful (7)

    "The organization of my dreams!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aha! full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart, empowered people. Goal driven. On-sites. Aha! Cares. TRM. Authentic. Always learning. Always growing. Strong values that influence everything we do. And, a world-class product. I can't imagine working anywhere else.

    Cons

    I have worked at many startups and some very large corporations, it can be intimidating to work with so many amazingly bright people. It keeps you on your toes and drives you to be your best.

    Advice to Management

    In my career I have struggled to find an employer with strong ethics, morals and kindness when driving a company forward. Many thanks to leadership for creating a new standard that all organizations should strive for.

    Aha!2019-07-29
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Really great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aha! full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoy working at Aha! It's not like any company that I've ever worked for (and I've worked from Fortune 500 to small software companies). The leaders here give us with weekly updates on what is working - and what isn't. I've never worked for a company that is that transparent. It's also a place where I feel comfortable asking why we do things a certain way and offering up other ways to do things. Of course, I need to show why my way is better but you gotta expect that a company that is this successful isn't gonna want to change what has worked for them so far unless you can make a good argument. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't - I'm just glad that I have the chance. The people here are also really great, too. Everyone wants to help and is more than happy to get on a video call to talk through things and also catch up with life outside of work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working remote can feel, well remote, at times. They do a good job of encouraging people to get on video calls, talk about stuff besides work - we even have a book club. If I don't sign off, then I do find myself helping with things past the end of my workday. No one has told me that I need to do that so I guess it's more of a me problem. Remote work has its benefits but I'd still love to have a 5th week of vacation.

    Show More
    Aha!2019-06-20
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Giving back through Aha! Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aha! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Aha! recently launched a new program called Aha! Cares. The program supports nonprofit organizations that provide food, shelter, and safety in our local communities. I am incredibly proud to be part of a company that recognizes the suffering of others and takes meaningful action to help. Aha! was already a very special place to work, but this program takes it to a new level.

    Cons

    The only con might be convincing others that a company with this much integrity actually exists. It does.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for being such a genuinely caring and inspiring team and for pioneering new ways to make a difference.

    Aha!2019-06-09
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Stellar company, A+ engineering team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aha! full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been here for over four years now, and I can tell you that the company is serious about the culture and values it publicizes on its website. The high-level goals and direction are clear, leadership is transparent, and everyone is consistently kind and responsive. The engineering team is hands-down the best one I've ever been a part of -- intelligent people with a wide variety of backgrounds and experience who are nevertheless humble and kind. I've never felt afraid to ask a question or speak my mind. The benefits are great -- some quite unusual for a small company, such as a significant annual profit-sharing bonus and a 401K with company contributions.

    Show More

    Cons

    I've seen some negative reviews lately -- I can't speak for their experience but I can tell you that it frankly has not been mine. The company definitely values hard work, and I've pulled the occasional late night or weekend in preparation for a big feature launch, but those are by far the exception and I've never been asked to work more than 40 hours a week. The CEO is certainly opinionated about how to build a successful company, but I have never felt that I cannot talk to him about any concerns I might have, and I think the company's success says a lot about his leadership style. Remote work does have some legitimate cons, especially depending on your personality and working style. I've found that I have to go out of my way to find social interaction or else it's easy for me not to leave my house for a few days at a time. I'm pretty introverted so that doesn't bother me too much, but it's not a lifestyle for everyone.

    Show More
    Aha!2019-05-16
  8. Helpful (4)

    "The best leaders and team at any software company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aha! full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Aha! is a unique company. It is one of the largest 100% remote software companies. And it is completely self-funded and profitable. It is actually better on the inside than what you can see. I have never been happier. I know exactly what the vision is and what our goals are and I have a lot of space to do my work. If I get stuck I know that my colleagues will help me. The company expects a lot from me — but I love the challenge and am not the kind of person who is satisfied working with people who are not giving their best. We ship more features in a month than most companies do in a year for example and we are all rewarded through: - Being recognized through what we call #hatitude - Profit sharing - Contributions to our retirement plan - Annual reviews [that actually happen] - Training programs - Offsites (we call them onsites) for a week twice a year at a 5 star resort - Opportunities for rapid growth (nearly every person in a leadership role started as an individual contributor) I have never worked in a company with such strong leadership and it shows every day in the number of customers that write in that they love the company. We actually track it there are so many. I also see it because my colleagues are happy — they love the company and what it stands for.

    Show More

    Cons

    Transparency is a key value of the company. That means that I receive regular feedback on what I am doing well and areas that I can improve. You need to be honest with yourself and an active learner to do well at Aha! Some people do not want that.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on being great and hiring outstanding people. Remember what led to the company’s tremendous success and continue to invest in the team and give back to others who are less fortunate than we are.

    Aha!2019-06-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aha! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -It's clear to see where you're making an impact. The goals of the company and each team are clear and we share progress and challenges on a regular basis with the entire organization. -The people are seriously the nicest I've ever met. My immediate team is wonderful, but I've also built close relationships with people on teams that I normally wouldn't in another company. There is a real sense of inclusion and friendliness. -Benefits and salary are really good. Profit-sharing is always nice at the end of the year and we've had benefits added around increased PTO, volunteer days, and parental and bereavement leave based on feedback employees have given. -Remote work is awesome. We do a really good job of staying connected but you still have plenty of flexibility when you need it.

    Show More

    Cons

    -I've heard from some co-workers that they struggle with remote work. I don't have this problem, but I can see how for some people you might miss a typical office environment. I think the pros definitely outweigh the cons, though. -There are some grumblings every once in a while and it seems like some people aren't sure how to vent their frustrations. It feels like negativity sometimes comes in waves from an anonymous person or two, but for the most part the mood is really positive around the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to us and encouraging us to speak up. We may not always feel comfortable doing it, but it's nice to know that management cares about what think.

    Aha!2019-06-11
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Joining Aha! turned out to be one of the best decisions I've made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aha! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not only is the product fantastic and it's changed the way I work for the better, but the people I work with are truly the best I've ever worked with in all of my career. There simply is not a kinder and more supportive group anywhere. If ever I have a question or need help at work, I know I can ask any one of my co-workers and they will stop what they are doing to help. Everyone here is smart, driven, hard-working and fun. Company culture is always a big piece of the puzzle and many companies strive to have a unique culture that keeps employees bonded to one another and happy in what they do every day. Aha! has grown a beautiful culture of support, kindness, personal growth and balance. Yes, we all work very hard and there are weeks where I may work overtime, but then it's balanced out the following week when I have to take a few hours here and there to go watch my children at field day or play in a sports competition. I never feel like I can't stop my work to be a part of my children's lives. Even better, we celebrate our families quite often in meetings and in Slack channels. Not only we do know each other's role at the company, we know favorite hobbies, who they are pulling for in the NHL playoffs, even spouse's and children's names. It's amazing how much we all care about one another, at and outside of our work. Many companies say they will grow from within, but they simply don't. Aha! is the first company in over a decade that I've worked for that truly does this. It's exciting and inspiring to see my co-workers get promoted and also to know that I have the same potential here. I love that I am in the right place doing exactly what I love to do and that my managers recognize this. It's a really great feeling. The company is profitable! It has been years since I was able to say that about a company I worked for and it speaks volumes to the excellent product, smart company, and highly competent people that work at Aha!

    Show More

    Cons

    I find that I actually work much harder at home compared to working in an office with multiple interruptions that forced me to stop what I was doing. It can be hard to recognize that I should stop and take a break more often than I do. That also probably speaks to the fact that I like what I am doing!

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for what you have done so far, keep focusing on the talent you have right in front of you and keeping them happy.

    Aha!2019-05-13
Found 89 reviews
</>Embed