Ahlstrom Reviews | Glassdoor

Ahlstrom Reviews

Updated Apr 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Jan Lång
12 Ratings
  1. "Material handler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foster Parent for the State in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ahlstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people were like family and Alhstrom was a safe and clean place to work I always stayed busy and maintained good work ethics

    Cons

    Some of the management were not always giving good communication which sometimes lead up to a lot of mistakes but as a work family we handled the situations in a timely and professional manner

    Advice to Management

    Just keep good communication and the work flow will go smoothly

    Ahlstrom2017-08-11
  2. "nnot a bad place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing in Windsor Locks, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ahlstrom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ggood money and ggood people

    Cons

    longg days and long nights

    Advice to Management

    be more knowledgable

    Ahlstrom2019-02-23
  3. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ahlstrom full-time

    Pros

    Capital investments and global teamwork, good products

    Cons

    Constant reorganization, although different divisions within the company can be different

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose the long term vision with employee moral. Look for areas where there's lots of turnover and dig into the details about why.

    Ahlstrom2018-11-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "There's More to Life than Pay and Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Windsor Locks, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ahlstrom full-time

    Pros

    Hourly pay is well above market and area averages. Company recently merged to be Ahlstrom-Munksjo and annual reports are promising. 401K and other benefits are hard to beat.

    Cons

    Hours worked coupled with pay make anyone trying to find other employment cringe at the total loss of money they would incur. Zero talent management....zero. Site profits are relatively low. Need corporate capital to modernize. Supervisors are blue collar promotions who have expert machine experience but no people/supervisory experience. Little to no room for site promotions. Company promotions move you well out...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging. Develop an onboarding program for new hires. Internally audit/develop training programs (if they still exist). Develop talent and provide/create opportunities. Invest profits in site improvements and employees. Provide 24/7 onsite maintenance with preventive maintenance focus. Stop focusing on attendance and focus/ positively reward production and quality. Provide training on how to interact with...

    Show More
    Ahlstrom2017-12-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Management issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ahlstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Usually very understanding about health/family matters. Pretty good pay starting off as well.

    Cons

    Every department is short staffed so everyone is overworked. Morale here lately is at an all time low from what I've observed. I accepted my job, a few years ago. Since then I have been forced to take on duties for departments that I have no experience with.

    Advice to Management

    Just HIRE more employees. It makes no sense to have people working in departments they aren't qualified for, and it makes even less sense to refuse to train these people for jobs they never applied for in the first place. That in itself would take care of many problems.

    Ahlstrom2017-11-08
  6. "Manufacturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ahlstrom full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay and decent benefits. Great 401k

    Cons

    No room for advancement and favoritism is rapant

    Ahlstrom2017-09-22
  7. "Experienced paper manufacturer, new at lean"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Carlisle, PA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ahlstrom for less than a year

    Pros

    High involvement in cutting edge technical paper design Opportunity to design new lean systems Low bureaucracy

    Cons

    Challenging to introduce lean theory to operational staff

    Advice to Management

    Reapply lean thinking in every facet of operation (people management, technical design, marketing)

    Ahlstrom2016-11-30
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Manufacturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Windsor Locks, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ahlstrom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The hourly work force is very senior and knowledgeable. Non-union shop and they always go above and beyond. Some workers routinely work 18-20+ days for vacation coverage in summer months. Maintenance guys frequently work extended hours and weekends.

    Cons

    Company is not financially sound. They are publically traded and are only producing 2-3% profit. Constantly in a state of flux between divesting and consolidation. Management at the Windsor Locks site is some of the worst. Favoritism is rampant and new ideas that are not aligned with management are suppressed. The facility and offices are in a very poor state of disrepair, very hard to attract and keep talent to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Retire, new talent frequently leaves the company because they do not feel they have the opportunity to grow.

    Ahlstrom2016-12-07
  9. "Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Gardners, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ahlstrom for less than a year

    Pros

    Good learning experience Laid back environment

    Cons

    Poor management Poor attitude among coworkers in general Little opportunity to progress

    Advice to Management

    Do not just keep people around because you like them.

    Ahlstrom2016-10-06
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Ahlstrom full-time

    Pros

    Good healthcare benefits. Very flexible with regards to sick time.

    Cons

    Very limited opportunities for upward mobility. Management style would be more suitable for a call center environment. Very little incentive is provided for performance or performance improvement.

    Advice to Management

    More emphasis should be placed on incentives for performance.

    Ahlstrom2016-04-06
Found 39 reviews