Aimco Apartment Homes Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Aimco Apartment Homes Chairman, President, and CEO Terry Considine
Terry Considine
215 Ratings
Pros
  • "Through internal courses and being reimbursed for outside courses contributing to my professional growth the investment in team members is evident(in 17 reviews)

  • "They value employees as people, are respectful of work-life balance and actually want to hear honest feedback(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work life balance is sometimes tough and you can get overwhelmed(in 29 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not listen to concerns about your property(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Not just a job, a career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working for Aimco for 6 years. During this time I have been able to grow within the company from a sales job to community manager and a career in property management. Through internal courses and being reimbursed for outside courses contributing to my professional growth the investment in team members is evident. If you are willing to put in the effort the opportunity to grow is there. I can say it cause Im living it.

    Cons

    Technology is great, however we try to do more with less and that begins to affect life work balance

    Continue reading

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    July 20, 2019Talent Marketing & Recruiting

    Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience with us. We sincerely appreciate the length of time you've been working at Aimco and your loyalty. It's always great to hear about our teammate's career growth at Aimco and watch them succeed and write their own story. Thank you for your thoughts on technology and your advice to management. We will absolutely share your feedback and appreciate your insight. If there is anything else you'd like to share, please reach out to us at YourVoice@Aimco.com.

  2. "Good Company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time

    Pros

    Easy to work for and pay is good

    Cons

    Very corporate and they favor some departments

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    April 20, 2020Executive Assistant

    Hi there and thanks for your feedback! We're glad you think Aimco was a good company to work for and that you were compensated well for your work. At Aimco one of our core values is Respect, therefore the treatment of our team members is very important to us and we are disappointed to hear you felt some departments were favored over others. We welcome the opportunity to hear more about your experience. Please reach out to us at YourVoice@Aimco.com.

  3. "Overall a good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked with some great people, benefits/pay are good. Really a good experience overall as I worked my way up from Leasing to Asst Manager to manager.

    Cons

    The work life balance is sometimes tough and you can get overwhelmed

    Continue reading

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    June 12, 2020HR Team Member

    Hi and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We see that you were a loyal Aimco team member and we appreciate your years of service! We’re thrilled to hear you took advantage of Aimco’s jungle gym culture; we love helping our team members advance their careers! As an owner and operator of apartment homes, our business is 24/7. We do, however, strive to provide our team members with work-life integration. We appreciate your thoughts regarding on-site decisions, and will pass along your advice to management and to our senior leaders. If there is anything further you'd like to share with us now or in the future, please reach out at YourVoice@Aimco.com.Aimco.

  4. "Company actually cares"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cares about the on site staff Clear cut expectations Precise operations manual

    Cons

    Bonus program not entirely fair

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    June 12, 2020HR Team Member

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our on-site teams are the heart of our business and we’re thrilled to hear your time with Aimco was a positive experience! Aimco offers industry-competitive pay and strives to rewards those who consistently meet or exceed their operations and sales goals. We welcome the opportunity to learn more about your concerns regarding the bonus program. Please consider emailing us directly at YourVoice@Aimco.com. Thank you again for your input and we hope to hear from you.

  5. "Great Pay, Expendable Employees"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Manager in Oceanside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly compensated. That is all.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is impossible, not allowed OT but also pressured to complete more tasks than humanly possible, Undervalued by the district level and up.

    Continue reading

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    June 18, 2020HR Team Member

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your experiences as an Aimco team member. While we are happy to hear that you felt well compensated during your time with us, we never like to hear that a former team member has had a negative experience. We appreciate your thoughts and advice to the management. We always try to provide our team members with support and work-life balance, knowing that our industry is one that operates 24/7/365. Providing our team members with an environment that is supportive to ensure they have the means to do their jobs well is a top priority at Aimco. Every effort is made to schedule work in accordance with current requirements and staffing capacities, including overtime. We’d appreciate hearing more details about your experiences – we’re always trying to get better. Please email us at YourVoice@Aimco.com.

  6. "Good Entry-Level Job for Recent Grad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    experience, sales, relationship building, training

    Cons

    lack of growth opportunities, entry-level pay

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    May 6, 2020HR Team Member

    Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re happy to hear that you thought Aimco was a great company for learning and relationship building. We definitely pride ourselves on our training opportunities and collaborative culture. We’re sad to hear you felt there was a lack of growth opportunity and compensation. Aimco encourages all team members to take advantage of our jungle-gym culture and apply for other types of roles they qualify for. We’re located in 20 different markets across the U.S., and we often see team members grow their career by exploring relocation opportunities. Leasing Consultants are paid for performance with a base salary and commission structure that rewards those who consistently meet or exceed their sales goals. We’ll certainly pass along your feedback to our Operations Team, and we welcome the opportunity to learn more about your concerns. Please consider emailing us directly at YourVoice@Aimco.com. Thanks again for your input and we hope to hear from you.

  7. "Very high turnover in FP&A and accounting"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time

    Pros

    HR, Operations and Marketing folks are mostly happy in their jobs and make great friends. Breakfast on mondays thirsty thursdays and town halls are great.

    Cons

    Finance, Planning & Analysis dept as well as accounting has very long hours, rank and file works late and expected to work weekends. Reporting datelines are calendar not work day based. Eg. instead of work day 3 it’s 3rd of every month, if it ends up on a Monday, you are expected to adjust your weekends schedules to book journals and run reports and make it to Monday dateline. Very high turnover at manager/accountant and analyst level and management made no effort to address or talk to existing employees on turnover impact on existing employees. They pretend it doesn’t happen or maybe it just doesn’t matter to them. Culture is not the only problem, process and procedures are very seriously flawed.

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    April 20, 2020Executive Assistant

    Hi there and thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We see that you are relatively new to Aimco (Welcome!) and we’re happy to hear that you’re enjoying our town square events in Denver! As an owner and operator of apartment homes, our business is 24/7. We do, however, strive to provide our team members with work-life integration. We’d like to discuss your concerns with you in a forum that can be constructive and collaborative. We’re here to help and listen, so please reach out to your HR Business partner at Aimco or email us directly to set up a time where we can talk at YourVoice@Aimco.com.

  8. "Delt with current residents and people looking for new apartments to rent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Greenwood Village, Arapahoe, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good company to work for always helpful to the staff and had good benefits

    Cons

    Their training could have been more complete

    Continue reading

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    March 9, 2020Talent Manager, Human Resources

    Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We see you were with us for 5 years- or more - and we really appreciate your loyalty to Aimco. We are glad to hear to you thought we were a good company to work for and that you were able to utilize the benefits. Thank you for the insight on the training- we would love to hear more specifically about where it could be improved. Please reach out to us at YourVoice@Aimco.com as we're always looking to get better.

  9. "A Decade of Service"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay. Structured company often at the forefront with technology and process.

    Cons

    Tough environment. High stress and high expectations. Management style weeds out people quickly.

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    March 19, 2020Talent Manager, Human Resources

    Hi there and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Wow - 10 years with us! Thank you for your commitment and loyalty to Aimco. We appreciate hearing that you feel you're paid well and that Aimco is at the forefront of technology and process - we agree with you! We also want to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us about the environment. You're right that we have high expectations at Aimco as we want to the best! That being said, we'd appreciate hearing more about your experience and finding out if there is something we can improve upon as a team. Please reach out to your Director of HR to share your thoughts or email us at YourVoice@Aimco.com. We're hear to listen and to help!

  10. "Some good....some bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent. Quite a bit of autonomy.

    Cons

    Too much paperwork pushed to lower level employees

    Continue reading

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    February 14, 2020Talent Manager, Human Resources

    Hi There. We’re not sure if you meant to leave a review for Aimco, as we do not have an apartment community in Louisville, KY and our regional managers are certainly not “chained to their desks” or required to “push papers.” In fact, our regional managers’ experience is almost the opposite, in that they are always conducting on-site community visits, spending time connecting with the on-site team members, and they have little to no paperwork. Our centralized shared services office handles almost all paperwork for our communities. Please consider reaching out to us at YourVoice@Aimco.com so that we can take a deeper look and understand your review and whether or not it was meant for Aimco.

Found 389 reviews