Aimco Apartment Homes Employee Reviews about "great company"

Updated Oct 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Aimco Apartment Homes Chairman, President, and CEO Terry Considine
Terry Considine
234 Ratings
Pros
  • "Through internal courses and being reimbursed for outside courses contributing to my professional growth the investment in team members is evident(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great company for learning and career growth(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work life balance is sometimes tough and you can get overwhelmed(in 30 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not listen to concerns about your property(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "great company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "AIMCO Leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    AIMCO is a publicly traded company and has really worked out the kinks of day to day operations. The best leadership in the industry and they continue to strive to stay atop the technological trends as well. Training is first rate and any resource needed is available. Great company to work for

    Cons

    Not necessarily a con but you will work hard and challenged on a regular basis. If you want to learn, grow and be challenged AIMCO is for you

    Continue reading

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    October 20, 2020HR Team Member

    Hello, and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are thrilled to hear you experienced so many pros during your time with Aimco! We definitely pride ourselves on our training opportunities and glad you felt the same. As you mentioned, we work hard and we're driven and we believe in what we're doing. At Aimco, we ask, “What is possible?” and strive to be the best. We achieve this by offering our residents world-class service and offering our teammates an environment in alignment with Aimco’s Core Values of Respect, Collaboration, and Performance. Thank you again for your feedback, and your years of service with Aimco. If there is anything else you'd like to share, please reach out to us at YourVoice@Aimco.com.

  2. "Property Manager"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time

    Pros

    Great company for learning and career growth.

    Cons

    Pay rate could be improved.

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    May 28, 2019Human Resources

    Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate the time you put in working at Aimco as a Community Manager. We're happy to hear that you thought Aimco was a great company for learning and career growth. We definitely pride ourselves on our training opportunities and our jungle gym for career expansion. We'd like to hear more about your concerns and the specifics of your feedback. We'd invite you to email us directly at YourVoice@Aimco.com. Thanks again for your input and we hope to hear from you.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, friendly environment and the organization encourages transparency and communication.

    Cons

    Benefits could be better, hard to move up for some departments.

    Continue reading

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    August 29, 2017Talent Management Coordinator

    Hello, and thanks for taking the time to review Aimco. We see that you're still currently employed with us and that you've been here over a year. Congratulations on reaching that milestone. Aimco strives to provide all of our team members with a great culture that includes living with gusto, valuing relationships, and creating moments that matter, so we're thrilled to hear that is what you're experiencing in your role. Thanks for providing your thoughts and feedback regarding the benefits. I will share this information with our corporate team. We are constantly striving to improve and make efforts annually to provide competitive benefits for our team members. If you have any specific you'd like to see changed on the benefits, please reach out to us at yourvoice@aimco.com.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Community Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you work smart, have the ability to adapt to an ever-changing environment, show pride for your work and want to grow with a great company, Aimco is a great company to work for. Upper Management is also super competent and want to see you succeed.

    Cons

    Benefits, especially 401K match is not equal with peer competitors.

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    April 3, 2017Talent Management Coordinator

    Thank you very much for offering us your perspective on Aimco. We’re so happy to hear that you are pleased with your experience at Aimco and to see that you’ve been with us for over a year. We know that at Aimco, we have a play-fast and deliver results culture. It’s great to see that you’ve embraced this culture and that you’re making the most of it. Thank you for your feedback on Aimco’s benefits. We’re constantly striving to improve and to ensure that our employees are offered benefits that are competitive with others in our industry. If you have additional feedback you could provide or suggestions, we’d love to hear from you by email at YourVoice@aimco.com

  5. Helpful (5)

    "A great company to be FROM"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time

    Pros

    Aimco is a great company to be FROM. You can learn a lot about the industry & best practices. You'll also have the opportunity to meet some phenomenal coworkers! I loved the opportunity for cross-team collaboration. That gave me the ability to truly learn the business.

    Cons

    Aimco is an eat 'em up & spit 'em out kind of company. No matter how much you think you're liked, respected, needed, etc I promise you that you are just a peg on the corporate board. Don't full yourself - EVERYONE is replaceable and the jerk boss I had was fond of telling everyone that over & over again. The culture roll out was fantastic & had so much potential to really turn things around. Unfortunately, it just became another thing that management uses against you. The culture values sound great on paper but the execution of them is surface level only. Aimco has a way of making everyone feel like an idiot.You're NOT - you're just working for narcissists. I thought I was well paid at Aimco until I left.

    Continue reading

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    February 16, 2017Talent Management Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your perspective with us. We always appreciate feedback and Aimco is always striving to improve in every way. We value our employees very much and do our best to ensure our employees feel supported, respected, and essential. We take your concerns very seriously, and encourage you to reach out directly at YourVoice@aimco.com to report specific concerns regarding inappropriate conduct or anonymously through www.MySafeWorkPlace.com.

  6. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aimco Apartment Homes

    Pros

    Great company to work for with real potential for growth if you show interest and apply yourself.

    Cons

    4 months in... None so far.

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    January 30, 2017Talent Management Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback! We are very glad to hear that you are enjoying your experience at Aimco and we are happy to have you. If you have any additional feedback, please let us know at YourVoice@Aimco.com.

  7. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Leasing Consultant II in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes

    Pros

    Great company, they have an awesome training structure for all new employees. You can make decent money if you are good at prospecting

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth unless you force it with higher up managers. Your growth is capped out unless you move on to being a property manager

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    October 3, 2016Talent Acquisition Marketing Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience with Aimco.If you would like to discuss anything further with us please feel to reach out at YourVoice@aimco.com

  8. "Leasing Consultant"

    3.0
     

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes

    Pros

    Great company to work for with upwards mobility and a full suite of benefits... medical, dental, vision, 401K.

    Cons

    Scheduling was not the best, understaffed, low pay

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    October 18, 2016Talent Acquisition Marketing Manager

    Thanks for sharing!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Director"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company in a tough industry! Strong senior management across the board. Quality people. Demanding schedule but with a solid support system.

    Cons

    Heavy work load as should be expected in a demanding 24/7 multifamily industry. Some night and weekend work is normal.

    Continue reading

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    March 2, 2016Human Resources

    We are thrilled to read your positive comments about your experience with Aimco. We do recognize open and honest feedback all around. Let’s continue to keep our focus on world-class customer service!

  10. "Financial Analyst II"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aimco Apartment Homes full-time

    Pros

    AIMCO is a great company to work for in all aspects. The culture of AIMCO is amazing and is something that is hard to describe but we all truly live with gusto and own our piece of the business as if it was our own. I enjoy coming to work knowing that I will be challenged on a daily basis and that my hard work and dedication doesn't go unnoticed. AIMCO loves to promote within and sets all of their employees up with goals to make that happen. AIMCO also gives back to its community by starting AIMCO Cares which gives each employee 10-15 hours of paid leave to donate to local charities and cauases. We do a lot of work with our veterans and work really hard to make our communities better. If you want to work for a company that cares about its employees, has a great vision and culture, offers competitive pay and benefits, loves to promote within and challenges each employee to work hard and OWN IT then AIMCO is a great place for you. I highly recommend AIMCO for an amazing career opportunity

    Cons

    Medical benefits are pretty generic and I would always love to see more 401k match but both are pretty standard for the industry.

    Continue reading

    Aimco Apartment Homes Response

    March 2, 2016Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with so much GUSTO. We are proud of our company culture and team members and strive to be the BEST employer! If you are interested in sharing any other thoughts, please contact us at YourVoice@aimco.com.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 English Reviews