AirTran Holdings Reviews | Glassdoor

AirTran Holdings Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
AirTran Holdings CEO Gary Kelly
Gary Kelly
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free flight benefits and a flexible work schedule(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, loved the free flights, within my department we had a lot of autonomy in executing our work(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The position I had ended when the airline was sold(in 11 reviews)

  • "The center is open 24/7 year round, very structured(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AirTran Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone worked together like family; fun place to be, lots of friends; & flying for free was also a lot of fun!

    Cons

    Airlines budgets are tight, especially low-cost carriers; making the business case for monetary resources could be difficult

    AirTran Holdings2015-05-07
  2. "Crd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AirTran Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible scheduling, training

    Cons

    Short staffed, low pay, insensitive management

    AirTran Holdings2018-06-08
  3. "Cool place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AirTran Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Really like the people in the call center

    Cons

    The company does not promote growth.

    AirTran Holdings2018-04-18
  4. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Crew Scheduler in Orlando, FL

    I worked at AirTran Holdings full-time

    Pros

    The people were awesome. Everyone embodied the team work ethic

    Cons

    got bought out and had to move.

    AirTran Holdings2017-02-27
  5. "Reservations Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at AirTran Holdings

    Pros

    Free flight benefits and a flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Very busy call center based work

    AirTran Holdings2016-10-07
  6. "First Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at AirTran Holdings

    Pros

    Great People to work with

    Cons

    Working Holidays and weekends were not fun

    AirTran Holdings2016-03-09
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AirTran Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Great employees, flexible schedules, get to see many places

    Cons

    no longer in business, long days, no paid holidays

    AirTran Holdings2016-01-06
  8. "Good company, too bad they're gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AirTran Holdings full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, loved the free flights, within my department we had a lot of autonomy in executing our work.

    Cons

    Thin profit margins (typical of all airlines) made it hard to get the budget needed to accomplish some goals

    Advice to Management

    Next time, don't sell out to a competitor

    AirTran Holdings2015-11-03
  9. "Standard corporate nonsense, but overall not terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relations Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at AirTran Holdings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free travel (stand-by)! This is by far the best perk. I traveled more in the few years I worked here than in the entire rest of my life. Stand-by is tricky sometimes, so you have to be flexible, but still an awesome benefit! Also, getting to help people and solve problems was awesome. I would typically take people from yelling and screaming to happily thanking me for fixing their problem.

    Cons

    It's an airline. I runs (basically) 24/365. And if there's a storm anywhere, prepare to work overtime (sometimes mandatory).

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so corporate. In my opinion, "chain of command", (most) policies, rules, etc. only serve to complicate things. Have a more transparent and open environment.

    AirTran Holdings2015-10-26
  10. "Southwest took over during my internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at AirTran Holdings

    Pros

    Flight benefits, really flexible, a lot of autonomy

    Cons

    Everyone kept to themselves, not very collegial

    AirTran Holdings2015-08-29
Found 80 reviews