Cover image for Airbnb
Logo

Airbnb

Engaged Employer

Airbnb

Add a Review

Airbnb Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 20, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 695 of over 2K reviews
4.2
85% Recommend to a Friend
Airbnb CEO & Co-Founder Brian Chesky
87% Approve of CEO

Found 136 of over 2K reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Airbnb CEO & Co-Founder Brian Chesky
Brian Chesky
450 Ratings

What people are saying about Airbnb

Join the conversation on

Tech

631.1K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Airbnb~391850
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Airbnb? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Airbnb employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Airbnb and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Rocket Ship Full of Amazing People

    Feb 12, 2015 - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Past places I've worked at have really messed up on the culture and Airbnb is the opposite. You can tell the founders care a lot about the company, culture and their colleagues. You can tell people are happy right when you walk in the door. I used to dread Sunday evenings because I would have to go to work and now I look forward to them. The hiring process may be a bit slow, but they really do hire well. Everyone here is super nice, smart and hard working. Also, because of the fast pace that this company is growing at you get to work on a crazy amount of cool stuff and have a huge impact.

    Cons

    The work life balance here can be tricky sometimes because there's so much to do. Also, I never thought I'd say this, but sometimes there are too many social events which seem to be focused on the party crowd alone.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great colleagues, nice perks!

    Jul 22, 2020 - Guest Experience Specialist in Montreal, QC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues: smart hardworking individuals Perks: travel credits, on-site gym, free breakfast, coffee and sparkling water

    Cons

    Work/life balance: have to put in a lot of hours just to stay on top of your file load Salesforce: poorly designed and inefficient Parking: if you have to drive your car

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Airbnb team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Customer success

    Oct 27, 2021 - Senior Customer Success Manager in Melbourne
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture and work life balance

    Cons

    None, fairly steady work life

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Growth, Flexibility, Hard Work

    Sep 28, 2016 - Customer Experience Trainer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    So many opportunities in a growing company, as the company expands roles open up and both lateral and upward progression is available throughout each year.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be tough but you have to know this going into the role. You must be a flexible person!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Great company and culture

    Dec 16, 2020 - Technical Sourcer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Breakfast, Lunch, & Dinner. Beer and Kombucha on tap. Great work-life balance and great people to work with!

    Cons

    It's hard to find parking nearby so must get there very early.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    New hire review

    Jul 10, 2015 - Design Lead in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a very creative environment. People are happy to share ideas. I feel empowered to get work done. I am free to manage my own time. I'm surrounded by talented and kind people. I feel like I can make a difference.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is not resolved and this means I am away from my family too much. Not enough structure or clear process. Feels like we're constantly creating the rules as we go, which is exhausting. Not happy with the hierarchy of my department – doesn't feel like the best or most experienced people are in control.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good company to work for

    Nov 1, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work and life balance

    Cons

    Pay is below industry average

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company, people, founders, work/life/balance/parenting is a challenge

    Nov 1, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, the founders are involved and dedicated to the growth of the company. Great place to work if you work for a great boss.

    Cons

    The hyper growth culture is great for those that don't have families. Some teams within the company doesn't understand the work life balance when you have kids. Dogs are amazing and I have one but it isn't the same as being a parent with kids. It is a constant comparison; bringing your dog to work is great but what do you do with your kids?

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Business with a LOT of heart and soul

    Jul 13, 2015 - Recruiting Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. You can bring your whole self to work 2. Everyone is extremely respectful, I have never seen so many people hold the door for each other. 3. Gaining work/life balance is encouraged (part of my personal OKRs set by my manager) 4. Culture is at the forefront of everyone in senior management's mind. Making this a place that is not only profitable but they want you to be able to grow as a person and in your career. 5. No matter how crazy my day is, there is an INCREDIBLE support system in my coworkers to help me through the day. There isn't a feeling of competition between peers the way that it can be at other companies

    Cons

    1. Feedback can be hard for people to give. It's important to establish you can handle constructive feedback in the beginning.

    4 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great place to work

    Jun 25, 2021 - Senior Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -work life balance if you are strong about it yourself and set clear boundaries

    Cons

    -a lot of changes, you need to be extremely flexible and adaptable to change at a moments notice

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 136 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Airbnb Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Airbnb? Share Your Experiences

Airbnb logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Airbnb Photos

+ Add Photo
Airbnb photo of: Main Pantry
Airbnb photo of: Brooklyn, our Lobby in SF.
Airbnb photo of: Office
Airbnb photo of: Office
Airbnb photo of: Office
Airbnb photo of: Week for good
Airbnb photo of: Airbnb Dublin
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Airbnb Job Seekers Also Viewed

Uber Logo
Uber

4.0

23,917 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,206 Airbnb reviews submitted anonymously by Airbnb employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Airbnb is right for you.