Airgas Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Airgas Chief Executive Officer Pascal Vinet (no image)
Pascal Vinet
268 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule and good benefits(in 82 reviews)

  • "Good pay and opportunities to advance within the company(in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some disconnect within upper management but nothing that cannot be remedied(in 65 reviews)

  • "Since the Air Liquide acquisition they are always looking to cut expenses any way possible(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (15)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Airgas is a great company to work for. I have had a very positive experience so far. I enjoy working with the my team and with the customers. It is a new adventure every day. The benefits are great and the pay as long as you hit your budget and or exceed it you will do very well!

    Cons

    I have not had any negative experiences with Airgas.

    Continue reading
    Airgas2019-10-08
  2. "Five Star Employee Rating for Airgas"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Receivable Specialist in Lawrenceville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great team working environment. work/life balance. great place to work.

    Cons

    I have no Cons to list.

    Airgas2019-12-10
  3. "If you are resilient, you will thrive."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Trainee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of Travel and training in process knowledge.

    Cons

    The employees can be limited in sharing their knowledge because some believe in job security. Not a lot of computer system training.

    Airgas2020-05-25
  4. "Good Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Replenishment Buyer in Salem, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good health insurance; flexible; hires from within

    Cons

    I really don't find much to complain about, other than they moved my job out of state

    Airgas2020-05-18
  5. "Airgas pros and cons"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Hopewell, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family like work environment

    Cons

    No one ever showed up

    Continue reading
    Airgas2020-04-28
  6. "Awful place to work terrible executive management (AVP) and sales support managemant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Savannah, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None, It use to be a great place to work but not anymore.

    Cons

    Awful management, high turnover, not enough employees, AVP rules with an iron fist and has absolutely no idea how to inspire a team.

    Continue reading
    Airgas2020-06-01
  7. "Unbelievable"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Modesto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is good if you can stomach it long enough, if you can say under the dead weight middle management radar the crews that actually work are great. But the micromanagement miserable.

    Cons

    The purchase by Air Liquide has been dreadful. More dead weight middle management. The Covid 19 treatment of front line employees simply AWFUL, stolen vacations, stolen pay, while management sits at home racking in their paychecks and we take a 25% cut in pay! Simply unbelievable. Micro managed to death, management gone for 10 weeks and NO ONE NOTICED. But cut salesmen cut drivers hours, cut all front line employees. Stole our vacation, RUN, DO NOT WORK HERE! Stolen vacation time, stolen pay, simply awful. ZERO respect for front line workers, no regard for our health and welfare.

    Continue reading
    Airgas2020-05-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Better than retail but same corporate games."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours are good, M-F no weekends or holidays. Company phone & laptop.

    Cons

    Since the Air Liquide acquisition they are always looking to cut expenses any way possible. Payroll is viewed as the greatest expense rather than the greatest asset. Branch Managers have to do and know all. We are the go-to and person responsible for; Safety, DOT compliance, Medical compliance, FDA compliance, in-stock conditions, showroom standards, hiring, and so much more. There are about 15 different reports that come down weekly and monthly that we are held accountable for.

    Continue reading
    Airgas2020-05-05
  9. "Career Opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to advance if willing to transfer

    Cons

    Local opportunities are sometimes limited

    Airgas2020-04-13
  10. "Industrial Distribution"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company with expansive resources.

    Cons

    Large company. Employees are numbers on a ledger.

    Airgas2020-04-23
Found 983 reviews