Airgas "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Airgas Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Airgas CEO Pascal Vinet (no image)
Pascal Vinet
233 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Benefits, work /life balance(in 73 reviews)

  • "Room for growth, good pay, realistic goals(in 54 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some disconnect within upper management but nothing that cannot be remedied(in 67 reviews)

  • "upper management seem to be more concerned with their matrix percentages and statistics rather than customer service(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent Career Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Bedford, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, very laid back environment with opportunity to grow with in the company with excellent benefits and wage compensation. Upper management truly cares about the employees and safety, excellent balance in work and home life.

    Cons

    NONE, Great place to work

    Airgas2019-09-03
  2. "Hopefully I'll feel the same in 20 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Delivery Driver in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Your knowledge and skills are noticed almost immediately My branch has a GREAT staff who communicate well Weekends off, rarely work after 5 pm Everyone knows family and health come first, which makes management VERY accommodating to time off I feel like an asset to the company which makes coming to work day in and day out enjoyable

    Cons

    upper management seem to be more concerned with their matrix percentages and statistics rather than customer service SAP will take years to master Computers and electronics used daily at the branch seem a bit archaic They hang a driver bonus over our drivers head which seem unattainable for some routes making the driver wanting to rush which could potentially cause a safety hazard. In my opinion, it should... just be instilled into their hourly wage

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    DON'T LACK CONCERN FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. Our customers have chosen us BECAUSE of the service we have supplied to them for years. We can't compete with prices on cyberweld and other online welding supply sites. We owe our customers a great price and great service at every corner of our business. If they're spending a little more for the same product we HAVE to make up for it in knowledge, support, and stock of the... products they use to feed their families.

    Show More
    Airgas2019-11-20
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance which may be manager dependent. Work from home depending on position. Opportunity for advancement. Company is growing and wants talent to stay. Great bonus program

    Cons

    Benefits are not cheap but thats any company. Some disconnect within upper management but nothing that cannot be remedied.

    Airgas2019-11-14
  4. "Unity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Csr1 in Moraine, OH
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working atmosphere. Overall friendly and laid back place to work. Career Potential. Seems there maybe room to advance within the company. Great Support from upper Management (District/regional) and Hr.

    Cons

    Moraine (N033), Is the ONLY Airgas open on Saturdays in the country makes which stinks on those weekends for Work/Family time balance. Working Managers!, I know Managers have primary job duties/functions, however, I guess I've always been accustom to in a RETAIL driven environment, the customers being the primary focus. Meaning if Phones are ringing and CSR's are on calls and or busy, that a free manager answers... the phone takes care of the customers needs, rather that be placing processing an order and or taking a message. Secondly in store with a RETAIL front if there is lines at the counter and Associates are tied up with another customer and or on the phone, a manager should/could jump to a register to help ring out or assist a customer on the sales floor. It just seems that at times managers at the branch level aren't as supporting to the business needs. My OPINION is just from the one location so i can't speak on any other location other the mine.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember we are a TEAM, and not just when the lights are on. Support your staff, people tend to work harder for YOU when you show you are willing to WORK WITH THEM.

    Airgas2019-11-12
  5. "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Knoxville, TN
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can make your own schedule.

    Cons

    Unreachable goals. Receive commissions every 3rd year due to the increased budget. Upper management doesn’t listen to requests. You’re only a number. Making up declining economic conditions by taking from employees.

    Advice to Management

    Employees currently very unhappy with changes being made. Everyone is feeling bullied and unappreciated.

    Airgas2019-11-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "My first year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow, great training, fair compensation

    Cons

    The lack of communication and presence of upper management at the branch level

    Advice to Management

    Be visible and get to know your employees

    Airgas2019-09-17
  7. "Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Sales Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, Company phone, company Laptop, Expenses for Lunch and Gas. Good Pay

    Cons

    -Too aggressive sales goals while the competition is way cheaper, hard to sell against -Micromanaged-Daily/Hourly Itineraries -Poor training for the field -Communication with upper management is bad

    Advice to Management

    Training for the specific field (not sales training) needs to be better. Communication with sales team is disappointing with high expectations

    Airgas2019-09-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Over worked and under paid for this area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Port Arthur, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time

    Pros

    Great customers. Hours are average.

    Cons

    Poor management all the way up the chain. They don't care about you. It's all about their bonuses and lining their pockets. Good ol boy club and they will harrass you to quit. A lot of unfair treatment amoung the employees. They will work you like a dog while they sit have meetings. Most of which our loud laughing outburst. If your "in" you will be sheltered and advance. Upper management is unqualified to lead and... are dictactors not doers. The DM lacks leadership. Nothing is confidential and the job title went to their head. Pretends to care but backstabs everyone. There to get a check and go home attitude among staff. Lack of product for customers is 80% of the time. Can't keep drivers or good help. Raises are a joke!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't promote without extensive training. Bring in a third party in the hiring process that is unbias. Too many friends of managers filling the branch. Follow the handbook you provide. Train managers all aspects of each position so they understand our jobs! Be leaders and actually do what you expect. Turn overs here are not the branch issues it is the GM and hire up club that bring moral down. Our customers are... tired of hearing someone no longer works here.

    Show More
    Airgas2019-10-04
  9. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration in Germantown, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really feel like I have found my forever job, I enjoy my supervisor, and upper management. I feel very grateful to be so appreciated. So cool to know how many long term employees that are here with 20+ years with Airgas!

    Cons

    The negative attitudes from staff, can be frowned upon. But you can't make everyone happy.

    Airgas2019-08-21
  10. "Not a Bad place to Work, but not Great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are a person who puts in the expected effort and work for a role, you will have job security. Same benefits as I would expect from any company. Typical 2-3% raises every year. If you are content with an average work/life balance and a boring, normal career - this is the place for you. Their views on Safety in the work place are some of the best I have ever seen.

    Cons

    If you put 110% into your career, this is not the place for you. You will not be rewarded for your effort going above and beyond or if you have a high capacity of what you can manage. Raises and Bonuses are not paid by your individual performance and you are not recognized for the work that you put in. From what I have come to gather, anyone can be promoted based on a Resume, not their actual performance. Upper... management has an insincere way of pushing safety - They are more worried about their bottom line (No question this is important) and hitting numbers than actually getting out of their office and thanking their drivers and front line associates.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spend even 10 minutes a day getting out of the office to thank your drivers and front line associates. Your Branch Management does it every day so it does not have the same effect on those employees. You need to change the culture in this company. People can just put themselves on cruise control with their job and still see the same compensation as those who go all out. Pay for performance. Pay your high performing... associates like they deserve. Restructure Branch Management bonus structures so that they have motivation to push their associates to hit branch goals.

    Show More
    Airgas2019-08-19
Found 78 reviews