Akamai Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Akamai CEO Tom Leighton
Tom Leighton
1,168 Ratings
Pros
  • "Salary, Work life balance, interesting work(in 238 reviews)

  • "Amazing benefits and great work culture(in 124 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "sometimes the work can get out of hand but mostly we do have a good work life balance(in 59 reviews)

  • "No career progression ppportunities within middle management(in 28 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Akamai and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best Job I've Ever Had

      May 12, 2021 - Service Line Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Akamai is a highly functional company, with the best culture I have ever been able to be a part of. The benefits are good, and leadership is solid.

      Cons

      High stakes, high pressure. Working with the biggest companies in the world is not for everyone.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Big changes left a lot of people behind

      Apr 16, 2021 - Principal in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great compensation and benefits, good people, generally caring company that tries to do well by its employees

      Cons

      Lately, lots of politics blocking progress in several areas. Turf wars. The recent reorganization resulted in about a 4% layoff... but they treated those people very well. Worse off are some of us left behind, and I was a lucky one. I was effectively demoted without cause, despite consistently very good reviews. The rising tide of the reorg floated some boats but sank far more others than it should have; many folks were pulled off of leadership and management tracks for no good reason; some people were put on PIPs for poor reasons, effectively managing them out without severance or the good treatment for those who were laid off. This has been very disappointing treatment of people who have been seen as valuable (but perhaps expensive) employees. A lot of very good people are leaving. I’m sure things will shake out and they will do well and be a great employee again, but this was a very disappointing end game for many of us. And it WILL be the end game.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Proud to work for Akamai

      May 11, 2021 - Director in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits Leadership cares about its employees A lot of empathy and flexibility shown during Covid

      Cons

      Can be very dynamic and fast-paced Decisions are often made last minute and teams are constantly having to re-adapt

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      ebbs and flows

      May 11, 2021 - Technical Project Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the inclusion of physical and mental health as a priority.

      Cons

      Some senior staff are not the type to think outside the box. A few are, but most do not,

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      May 3, 2021 - Software Engineer Senior II in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people, compassionate company ethic, very professional treatment by management and peers.

      Cons

      There can be some difficulty finding relevant and up to date documentation.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      May 11, 2021 - Sales Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good product, culture and working environment

      Cons

      None I can think og

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great, Humane, Well-Run No-Frills Company.

      Dec 24, 2020 - Data Scientist in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * The company respects us. 40 hours is 40 hours. Management is fairly transparent and makes itself VERY accountable. This is definitely a company you could be on an L1 visa with. * Feels awesome having the whole world at your fingertips. Being able to make changes and knowing it has real impact on our customers - some of the biggest companies in the world - is pretty cool. * Very mature, prudent company. Incredible safety culture - which is great when you're supposedly "on call" for incidents - my phone has rung 5 times in 2 years. It's not an emergency unless it's an *emergency*. We don't move fast and break things. * Ethical - The company is not actively doing heinous stuff (no radicalizing teens with social media, not exploiting an underclass of independent contractors, etc). It's a poor commentary on the state of the world that that's a pro, but good luck finding that at a big tech company these days.

      Cons

      * After an activist investor came in in 2017, the company (apparently) cut back on a lot of perks. So don't expect a lavish Christmas party, or business trips around the world. I think compensation is on the lean side for the area as well. * Certain BUs have a stricter time off policy than others - that 6 weeks might really be 3-4! * As a data scientist, our databases are a mess. I understand there's been a company-wide effort to rectify this but we still have a long ways to go.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Great Place To Work

      Feb 18, 2021 - Senior User Experience Researcher in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I began my employment at Akamai in the middle of the COVID pandemic, and have been working remotely ever since. They have bent over backwards to make sure I am welcomed to the company, connected to my peers and any resources I need, and make my mental wellness a priority during this stressful time. I can't say enough good things about how wonderful they treat their employees at Akamai. The people are intelligent and passionate, and the technology is complex and highly interesting. There is a constant drive to improve and make the products better and solve real customer needs. I would recommend this company to anyone.

      Cons

      Any con I could give would just be nitpicking. This company is great.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Humble Management and Highly Collaborative

      Mar 4, 2021 - Sales Director in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Access to anyone at any level if you want it. Many Sr. Managers expressed a balance of humility and confidence, highly respectful Many smart, highly competent people, excited to do good things for clients and each other. Strong product market position Human-oriented management and policies, especially for Covid and actions to improve diversity

      Cons

      Major initiatives require C-level commitment Sr. Management over-taxed with too many silos to manage across Acquisitions challenged with preserving the clients and competitive position of the product

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people and interesting work, feels like a family

      Apr 22, 2021 - Software Engineer II in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, good management and friendly working environment

      Cons

      Tech stack not necessarily at the cutting edge

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,754 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Akamai Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Akamai? Share Your Experiences

    or