Akamai Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Akamai CEO Tom Leighton
Tom Leighton
953 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/Life balance was bad for the ones who were working on night shift as well(in 53 reviews)

  • "NO cons have seen in my experience(in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company. Great people. Great benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People, pay, benefits, culture, flexibility

    Cons

    complexity on understanding the various products

    Akamai2020-03-09
  2. "Good Products"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Akamai full-time

    Pros

    Customers genuinely like the products

    Cons

    Executives lacking in customer engagement

    Akamai2020-05-23
  3. "Really like it here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Solid Leadership,great development and learning opportunities, big focus on I&D, sustainability and social responsibility.

    Cons

    Some legacy/fixed mindset thinking with some long-tenured employees, but we're making progress in this space.

    Akamai2020-05-15
  4. "asdasdasd"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Akamai part-time

    Pros

    good company with good pay

    Cons

    parking can be expensive to find if you are working in cambridge

    Akamai2020-05-12
  5. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart people, and mostly nice people, which is a rare combination

    Cons

    Depending on the team, the upper management can be stifling

    Akamai2020-05-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Losing their edge"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Many smart people, flexible, good pay

    Cons

    Too much technical debt all around, slow to move (think aircraft carrier), need managers from outside.

    Continue reading
    Akamai2020-05-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "fair company to work for, BUT. . ."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician II in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible schedule, fairly happy people within the company.

    Cons

    very slow to get a promotion.

    Continue reading
    Akamai2020-05-07
  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work that cares about its people, pays fairly, and provides a lot of opportunities.

    Cons

    There is still a lot of "startup mentality", which can make it challenging to get things done across the whole organization. Also career paths are not obvious.

    Akamai2020-04-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for, but progress is slow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akamai full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, flexibility, and benefits. Most colleagues were friendly and nice to work with. Ability for IC career progression.

    Cons

    High level of bureaucracy, need many people to sign off to move forward. Some colleagues and leadership were old-fashioned. Transition in leadership in my dept led to team decline. Recent trend of large layoffs based on what makes revenue, leading to projects that were more user-centric being cut.

    Akamai2020-04-07
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Learn Politics, become part of the good old boy's club STAT and you are set!"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Akamai full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Work Life Balance, Great Products

    Cons

    Implementations never go right Not a minority friendly company Politics, once you play the game you are set. It has helped me now but some people will never fit in. And will struggle with this....Don't join if you care about culture, join if you are here to make money, work hard and enjoy life outside of work

    Akamai2020-04-07
Found 1411 reviews