Aki-Home Reviews | Glassdoor

Aki-Home Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Akio Nitori
27 Ratings
  1. "A weird family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Aki-Home

      Pros

      My coworkers are lovely humans who care about each other and the company. There is great potential in our company if we can only reach it! It’s small enough that opinions are heard and considered.

      Cons

      We are struggling to meet our goals. Many people who work here are dissatisfied by typical job woes, and often create issues for themselves and the company. We have gotten better, but we need new people who are willing to try instead of being dead weight. Unfortunately, many of those concerns are made public or forums like this and so it becomes harder and harder to hire positive workers.

      Advice to Management

      Don’t be afraid to fire people who aren’t doing well. Spend more money on advertising.

      Aki-Home2019-02-28
    • "Big promises, no rewards..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager - Corporate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Aki-Home full-time

      Pros

      Seems open and friendly at first.

      Cons

      After working there for awhile, you discover there is much favoritism and chaos. The management likes to promise the world and make you believe that you have a grand future in the company, but the future is very gloomy. When they opened in 2013, they talked about 1000 stores within 10 years, but after 6 years, they have a measely 4 with crappy reviews online. Looking at their FB photos, I don't see one recognizable...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You deserve everything that is happening to your company right now.

      Aki-Home2019-01-24
    • "Part time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Aki-Home part-time

      Pros

      Easy job, nice employees to work with, everyone is very helpful.

      Cons

      Corporate is lacking structure, lots of issues on their end.

      Aki-Home2018-11-19
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Aki-Home full-time

      Pros

      Easy environment and Good benifits

      Cons

      Compensation, Discount and Work Schedule

      Aki-Home2018-11-15
    • "Part time employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Aki-Home part-time

      Pros

      Hired some nice people I guess.

      Cons

      Company is trying to sell furniture that may work in japan to american households. Same thing with how they work their employees; they're used to japanese work ethics. Corporate is clueless on what to do in pretty much every aspect. Micromanaged pretty much every second of the day. No real benefits of working there besides the paycheck. To get perks you have to have the best sales, etc. Almost impossible to move...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Treat your employees better.

      Aki-Home2018-11-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "sales associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Aki-Home part-time

      Pros

      I guess the fact that I was getting a paycheck is a pro, but I was making less than people I was hired on the same day with.

      Cons

      Micromanaging to death. corporate is absolutely awful No opportunities for advancement . if they need to fulfill a higher-level position they recruit from outside the company. No options to work full time. they don't care about their employees at all.

      Advice to Management

      Show your employees some respect.

      Aki-Home2018-09-13
    • "Eh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Irvine, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Aki-Home part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      It has a nice staff that is friendly

      Cons

      Disorganized at time for a new company

      Advice to Management

      Tighter ship

      Aki-Home2018-02-07
    • "Lovable and crazy at the same time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in La Palma, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Aki-Home full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      When you shake off all the negativity that people have been holding on to, you notice that we have really grown into a fun place to work.

      Cons

      We have had a tough few years since we opened our doors. Lots of change and some leftover hurt feelings. Customer service needs work and we still have some organization to iron out.

      Advice to Management

      Keep trying. We have come a long way. Don’t give up now! I know it sucks, but you have to hold people accountable when they are terrible to customers, even though they are your friends and you have gone through much together. Good job fixing SO much in the last year!

      Aki-Home2018-01-19
    • Helpful (2)

      "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Aki-Home part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good hours, Clean enviorment, Give Breaks

      Cons

      Management always on you making sure your worked 24/7. Breaks are mandatory. Clocking in and out on the dot very pushy if you clocked in late or clocked out too early. Management was bad. Japanese business needs to improvise and be more relaxed.

      Aki-Home2017-10-06
    • "Benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Aki-Home full-time

      Pros

      Up to 20 days of PTO after 5 years 5 days of sick time 80 hours for jury duty Holiday pay for non-exempt employees

      Cons

      Health Insurance - 1 PPO Plan

      Aki-Home2017-09-26
    Found 47 reviews