Akron Children's Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Akron Children's Hospital Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Akron Children's Hospital CEO Grace Wakulchik
Grace Wakulchik
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work with everyone(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, the people are really genuine & friendly(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "very low pay compared to other hospitals and clinics around(in 5 reviews)

  • "some upper management have very poor communication skills(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Staff RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 

    I have been working at Akron Children's Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company culture and job satisfaction

    Cons

    The pay isn't as high as other hospitals.

    Advice to Management

    Offer weekend and critical care differential to staff RNs.

    Akron Children's Hospital2019-05-31
  2. "I was so excited when I first started working here.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akron Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities to advance to different areas within the hospital, EFC, employee benefits

    Cons

    Management, HR, pay, coworkers, different offices and staff don't live up to the companies mission, DRAMA

    Advice to Management

    Management is a joke, I wish that HR would do well checks around different locations and see how different all of the ACHP practices are. Learn how to manage staff properly and take disciplinary action when necessary. Stop favoritism. Stop allowing staff to be treated poorly by patient's and parents.

    Akron Children's Hospital2019-08-20
  3. "Overall good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Athletic Trainer 

    I have been working at Akron Children's Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CEU and education assistance, Salary is competitive

    Cons

    Management not in line with the field

    Akron Children's Hospital2019-07-10
  4. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Scheduling Coordinator 

    I have been working at Akron Children's Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great place to work today

    Cons

    none at this time today

    Akron Children's Hospital2019-06-27
  5. "Good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Secretary in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akron Children's Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you get to learn a lot and work amongst the best doctors and nurses. Great place to work to gain knowledge while in school if you are remaining in the medical field.

    Cons

    very low pay compared to other hospitals and clinics around.

    Advice to Management

    great management in my department. Advice that you do better in the HR department i feel like they don't advocate for employees salary and don't take anything in consideration when doing a counteroffer. Literally not even a penny difference. I tried to apply for a different position that actually requires experience and a degree in that filed which i have and they tried to tell me that it is a lateral move with my same...

    Show More
    Akron Children's Hospital2019-06-21
  6. "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Pediatrician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akron Children's Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent physicians. Newer facilities.

    Cons

    Nurses run the hospital, health insurance could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Have more physicians in leadership

    Akron Children's Hospital2019-06-06
  7. "Nice work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Speech Language Pathologist 

    I have been working at Akron Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Supportive coworkers, you can tell you are appreciated

    Cons

    Lacking a reasonable benefits package

    Akron Children's Hospital2019-05-16
  8. "Staff RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akron Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, happy, and upbeat place to work. Staff members are amazing!

    Cons

    The pay is not even close to other hospitals around. Way too low. Across the board, raises should be based on performance. No incentive to become certified or extra training. Doesn’t equal anymore in pay.

    Akron Children's Hospital2019-05-16
  9. "plastic surgery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Akron Children's Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    set schedule and yearly raises

    Cons

    hostile work environment, inner-office drama, favoritism, horrible pay

    Akron Children's Hospital2019-05-10
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Akron Children's Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, Friendly co-workers, Past CEO, Patient Care

    Cons

    Traditional thinking Very conservative Poor pay PTO policy is not good

    Akron Children's Hospital2019-03-08

    Akron Children's Hospital Response

    May 23, 2019Senior Public Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We strive to ensure our employees feel valued through fair pay and non-traditional benefits.

Found 105 reviews