KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Akron Children's Hospital

Engaged Employer

Akron Children's Hospital

Add a Review

Akron Children's Hospital Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 269 of over 281 reviews

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Akron Children's Hospital CEO Chris Gessner
Chris Gessner
22 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "good benefits and a positive family like atmosphere(in 21 reviews)
  • "Most people are nice and helpful(in 12 reviews)
  • "Most coworkers are friendly(in 11 reviews)
  • "Positive culture and good community reputation(in 11 reviews)
  • "Great staff, Administration works with you(in 8 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Akron Children's Hospital and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years
    Featured Review

    So nice working for an employer that cares about it's employees!

    Oct 9, 2021 - Medical Laboratory Scientist in Akron, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The number one reason I applied here was because of the amazing tuition reimbursement program. I have been able to complete my degree with very little out-of-pocket expense. They seem to perform regular market analysis to stay competitive with wages. Regular raises, wellness program and retirement are all great!

    Cons

    I think the health insurance is spectacular if you have small children. As an adult, it is expected that we will go out of network (to an adult hospital) for services. This can result in a higher out-of-pocket expense. I would like the option of having a PPO that allows me to choose which hospital would be considered my primary, but I don't know if that exists anywhere.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Jun 20, 2022 - Critical Care Paramedic 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful atmosphere very rewarding great education program

    Cons

    Low pays low staffing numbers stressful environment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    rt/ct tech

    Jun 25, 2022 - Radiologic Technologist/CT Technologist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    friendly coworkers/ kids awesome updated equipment

    Cons

    pay benefits short staffed poor work life balance

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Review

    Jun 9, 2022 - Patient Access Representative in Boardman, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have a great education assistance program. Laid back for the most part. Decent benefits

    Cons

    Workers are overworked at times.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    AMAZING ENVIRONMENT

    Jun 8, 2022 - Unregistered EEG Tech 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The staff is so friendly and it’s a big family Everything is well organized

    Cons

    nothing is a con! Absolutely nothing at Akron Childrens is bad!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Positive workplace and family focused

    May 30, 2022 - Coordinator in Akron, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent team. Good benefits. Positive work environment. Family focused. My team cares about me professionally and personally.

    Cons

    Not a competitive salary. It’s hard to get a raise. Lots of red tape to accomplish new ideas. Big ideas thinking is not rewarded.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to contribute to a mission driven organization!

    May 27, 2022 - Manager in Akron, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A mission driven organization with meaningful work.

    Cons

    None that I can really think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Lots of Change

    May 25, 2022 - Scheduler 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lunches provided randomly, medical insurance, great co workers

    Cons

    PTO and pay are not market competitive

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Horrible management

    Jun 25, 2022 - Certified Medical Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not a single pro for this place

    Cons

    Management, mean staff, voice is unheard

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Fully committed to Children, young adults, their families and ACH Employees

    May 20, 2022 - Administrator in Akron, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Deeply invested passionate clinicians. Everyone is quite focused on delivering the best care 2. Committed to ALL children, young adults and their families 3. More and more inclusive. Feels like we are daily discovering unique needs of the patient populations we serve. As an ethnic and cultural minority, I feel welcome and that leadership wants to do right by me and every employee. 4. New CEO really wants to connect with everyone and appears to be a good listener

    Cons

    1. National name is missing, despite being such an awesome children's hospital. The care delivered and the quality of people far exceeds the national brand. 2. Like all of healthcare, workers are exhausted and being asked to do more

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Akron Children's Hospital Response

    Senior Public Relations Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to share both your positive comments and your concerns. We appreciate that you understand that we continually strive to find new and better ways to provide care – and access to that care – for the patients, families and communities we serve. Taking care of our employees is also a priority, and we continue to make strides in ensuring our work environment is a diverse and inclusive one. At the same time, we acknowledge the need to support our workforce during this time of ongoing staffing shortages. We’ve recently made significant adjustments in compensation for numerous roles across the organization, and we continue to review and adjust compensation in other areas to ensure we remain competitive in the marketplace. To address the staffing shortage in key areas, we launched a flexible staffing support program, through which employees receive extra compensation for taking on additional hours in those departments. We are committed to an aggressive and creative approach to this issue, while also providing staff support through wide-ranging resiliency programs.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 269 Reviews

Akron Children's Hospital Reviews FAQs

Akron Children's Hospital has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 281 reviews left anonymously by employees. 71% of employees would recommend working at Akron Children's Hospital to a friend and 61% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Akron Children's Hospital employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Akron Children's Hospital. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

71% of Akron Children's Hospital employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Akron Children's Hospital 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Akron Children's Hospital to be career development, culture, coworkers and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, management, benefits.

Popular Careers with Akron Children's Hospital Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Akron Children's Hospital? Share Your Experiences

or

Akron Children's Hospital Careers

Cover image for Akron Children's Hospital

Akron Children’s Hospital has a strong commitment to outstanding patient care and also to its employees. Our passion is felt every day in...More

  • More Than a Job
  • Benefits
  • Nursing Careers
  • Career Launch
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Akron Children's Hospital

54 days ago

Company News
We're honored to be recognized as a Becker's Healthcare "150 Top Places to Work in Healthcare 2022." We’re grateful for the dedication of our employees through even the most trying times, and we’re committed to providing them a supportive, diverse and inclusive work environment that allows them to thrive. Discover more reasons to love your career by visiting our career site today.
Shared image - Akron Children's Hospital Career Site
Akron Children's Hospital Career Site
careers.akronchildrens.org
Logo

Akron Children's Hospital

145 days ago

Community
Jihad, a 14-year Akron Children's employee, has since stepped into the role as an EMR Support Specialist where he and his team ensure quality patient care. For Jihad, #BlackHistoryMonth has always been a time to pay homage to his ancestors. “Black History month is a time to pay homage to my ancestors that have paved the way and sacrificed so much for us to have to opportunities that we have today. Unfortunately, Black History month is only 28 days and I would encourage all of us to recognize Black history throughout the entire year.” We're proud to support so many driven employees looking to make a change. Learn more about our commitment to #DiversityHiring today
Shared image - Akron Children's Hospital Celebrates Black History Month
Akron Children's Hospital Celebrates Black History Month
careers.akronchildrens.org
See all

Akron Children's Hospital Photos

+ Add Photo
Akron Children's Hospital photo of: Kay Jewelers Pavilion Lobby
Akron Children's Hospital photo of: Akron Children's Hospital
Akron Children's Hospital photo of: Akron Children's Hospital
Akron Children's Hospital photo of: Akron Children's Hospital
Akron Children's Hospital photo of: Akron Children's Hospital
Akron Children's Hospital photo of: Akron Children's Hospital
Akron Children's Hospital photo of: Akron Children's Hospital
See All Photos