Akron General Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Akron General Health System Reviews

Updated Dec 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Akron General Health System President Brian Harte
Brian Harte
7 Ratings
  1. "tech II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech II in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    it is close to home

    Cons

    pay is low, you have to accrue PTO

    Advice to Management

    use your resources

    Akron General Health System2018-03-22
  2. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System part-time

    Pros

    I love my job at Akron General. Everyone feels like family when I am there.

    Cons

    Everyone is not on the same page

    Akron General Health System2018-02-07
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Friendly co-workers, good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time

    Pros

    It's a big health system, but feels like a small town. People are friendly and for us staff, the emphasis is patient care and being kind to others.

    Cons

    Since acquisition by the Cleveland Clinic, we're losing a lot of our well developed practices in lieu of alignment.

    Akron General Health System2018-01-13
  5. "RN Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Insurance, mileage, tuition reimbursement, raises.

    Cons

    Overload. Do more with the same amount of time. New ongoing responsibilities piled on almost weekly These seem to be management strategies.

    Advice to Management

    Keep advocating for your field nurses. Hire more to lessen patient to nurse ratio.

    Akron General Health System2018-01-23
  6. "Steady job with too much headache"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits, lower level employees have ability to advance when opportunities present themselves.

    Cons

    Inexperienced/ineffective management. Use of union employees keeps around poor attitudes and protects under qualified employees.

    Akron General Health System2017-12-26
  7. "Rn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Akron General Health System

    Pros

    Good pay and great co-workers

    Cons

    Long hours and busy days

    Advice to Management

    Give longer lunch breaks everyday

    Akron General Health System2017-10-30
  8. "A lot of caring people work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Akron, OH

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The staff is very caring for its patients

    Cons

    I have frequently seen policies not followed equally, though this is not uncommon in large companies.

    Akron General Health System2017-07-24
  9. "Lots of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A good place to work, overall. In the midst of huge changes with the Cleveland Clinic ownership leading to some uncertainty about the future.

    Cons

    Lots of changes with Cleveland Clinic and more questions than answers about the future of some positions and people.

    Advice to Management

    Value the talent you have in place.

    Akron General Health System2017-07-08
  10. "Nurse manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time

    Pros

    Positive environment, good people to work with

    Cons

    Slow to discipline , unions protect

    Akron General Health System2017-06-27
  11. Helpful (2)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Akron General Health System full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is good. Benefits are great. 401k managed well.

    Cons

    Completely a bullying environment. Don't be a whistle-blower or they will quickly make sure you leave. Union is useless except for collecting high dues from your paycheck.

    Advice to Management

    Stop favoring. Favorite employees get away with murder. People who report serious problems are punished or shunned by management even if you're an exceptional employee. Policies only apply to some. They don't promote within.

    Akron General Health System2017-07-05
Found 68 reviews