Akron General Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Akron General Health System Reviews

Updated Dec 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Akron General Health System President Brian Harte
Brian Harte
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "RN at Akron General Medical Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    12 hours days and every other weekend to be fair to everyone

    Cons

    short staffed and nurses who have been there a long time use their power

    Advice to Management

    better management of employee's who abuse their power of working there a long time

    Akron General Health System2017-06-07
  2. "Wonderful Co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Akron, OH

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love my co-workers. supportive learning environment

    Cons

    Union contract under re-negotiation with cleveland clinic. benefits and rules in flux

    Akron General Health System2017-04-20
  3. "Akron General"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work! Patient care is number one! Staff is incredibly knowledgeable and very professional!

    Cons

    Trying to get time off can be difficult, but you'll have that anywhere.

    Akron General Health System2017-03-18
  4. "Lots of Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time

    Pros

    I get to work with all sorts of different types of patients, so there is never a time where I am not learning something new.

    Cons

    Lately we have been short staffed due to issues at a competing hospital.

    Akron General Health System2017-03-20
  5. "Unit Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Unit Clerk in Akron, OH
    Recommends

    I worked at Akron General Health System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to start and finish. Tuition reimbursement. Great pay

    Cons

    Always working short, better communication

    Akron General Health System2017-01-26
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Akron General Health System

    Pros

    The cleveland clinic merger is making AGMC better, offering more resources, including more employee benefits, and the name gives it more prestige. The AGMC community is very friendly and overall its a great place to work.

    Cons

    Paid time off includes holidays and sick time all in one bank. There are no maternity leave benefits. Some of the facilities need updating.

    Akron General Health System2017-01-19
  7. "Radiologic technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Radiologic Technologist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice coworkers. Hourly wage is good. Shift is nice. No weekends or holidays.

    Cons

    Cleveland clinic merger made insurance terrible. Medications and doctors are totally denied. Co-pays went up tremendously. Prior authorizations now needed for many meds. I miss AGMC BEFORE the merger. Senior upper management is top heavy. Poor managers are simply shuffled to other departments rather than let go.

    Akron General Health System2017-01-30
  8. "Security Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment with a lot of responsibility. You get a lot of freedom as long as you fulfill your job duties. Staff is very nice and treat the officers well. A lot of over time potential with decent pay.

    Cons

    There aren't a lot of career opportunities. Once you land a position, you're stuck there until another position opens up. You'll work every holiday if you're scheduled days falls on that day, but that's to be expected. Calling off is difficult because you show up to relieve someone else. Your or they will get stuck at work if an officer doesn't show up.

    Advice to Management

    I would suggest keeping a fully staffed group of officers. Mandating officers on their scheduled days off can get old and impacts a good work life balance.

    Akron General Health System2016-12-12
  9. "Housekeeping supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supervisor in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System

    Pros

    Easy welcoming job , good pay and great staff to help you feel appreciated , and great benefits as well which Is good

    Cons

    Hours scheduled to work other then that great job , picking up other managers slack may be challenging and finding parking for work

    Akron General Health System2016-12-01
  10. "Medical Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Secretary in Bedford, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Akron General Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, pay is competitive

    Cons

    Pto is not sufficient you get enough hours to cover holidays otherwise it's unpaid.

    Akron General Health System2016-11-13
Found 68 reviews