Akron General Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Akron General Health System Reviews

Updated Dec 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Akron General Health System President Brian Harte
Brian Harte
7 Ratings
  1. "Lab tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lab in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Akron General Health System

    Pros

    Good system, nice employees, good job

    Cons

    None none none none none. Ok?

    Akron General Health System2016-01-31
  2. "Mri technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    MRI Technologist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Schedule flexablilty outpatient settings updating facilities

    Cons

    Pay is low benefits are high

    Akron General Health System2016-01-09
  3. "A little of everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Akron General Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay was great, some staff cool

    Cons

    Union job, if something went wrong its save yourself

    Advice to Management

    Step your game up

    Akron General Health System2015-10-17
  4. "AGMC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System

    Pros

    Great team of coworkers, a culture that wants to improve the health of the communities we serve

    Cons

    Change is difficult to implement

    Akron General Health System2015-10-17
  5. "Hospice Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Akron General Health System

    Pros

    Everyone is very kind and genuinely concerned about each other. The nurses and aides all provide excellent care to patients. Management is fair and very receptive to any problems or complaints the employee may have.

    Cons

    long hours, sometimes do not get enough hours (but that is because I am just prn status)

    Akron General Health System2015-08-20
  6. "Smallest hospital in Ohio, but able to provide the greatest care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Lodi, OH
    Recommends

    I worked at Akron General Health System part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff and co-workers; awesome therapy dept, very neat and tidy facility; Able to provide primary nursing care with ease. Nurse to patient ratio 1:4 (dayshift). It was a very nice place to work! I never really had a bad day when working there.

    Cons

    There is only one nursing floor and smaller ER. I wanted "more experience" and decided to leave....now I am kicking myself.

    Advice to Management

    Director of Nursing ran a tight ship which is why nurses provided good care and why patients were happy with care.

    Akron General Health System2015-08-08
  7. "Medical asst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Akron General Health System

    Pros

    Great place to work! Staff is very friendly which helps a lot and make the job easier

    Cons

    Lots of down time, depending on the shift (3rd shift). Also the changing on the floor where you work on

    Akron General Health System2015-07-08
  8. "SR. Cardiovascular Techincian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Cardiovascular Technician in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akron General Health System full-time

    Pros

    Akron General Hospital is a great place to work. Akron General abide by their mission statement and that is to improve the health and lives of their patients and the community. They are a well organized well ran organization that I have enjoyed working with for 25 years.

    Cons

    I do not have any

    Advice to Management

    Always keep the lines of communication open with all of your employees

    Akron General Health System2015-06-29
  9. "Loved Working Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akron General Health System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I can't say enough good things about working at AGMC. I have always regretted leaving. I worked my way through school while there and they were good about working around my schedule so I did not lose hours. Great boss, good department.

    Cons

    I had a tough time moving up until I went to school to be an RN and then I ended up in a job that required the RN but quite honestly should have been done by a business person.

    Advice to Management

    Think broader. Sometimes having a medical degree doesn't get you through moving the hospital forward.

    Akron General Health System2015-05-19
  10. "Great company with fair pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nutrition Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Akron General Health System part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, opportunities to move up, great pay

    Cons

    sometimes management can be tough

    Akron General Health System2015-03-25
Found 68 reviews