Alabama Gas Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 13 reviews

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Alabama Gas Chairman and CEO James T. McManus II (no image)
James T. McManus II
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    The Best 10 Years

    Nov 13, 2017 - Customer Service Representative in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family oriented, great benefits, great hours, pay rates are excellent and always better than expected, pension plans, 401k, HR staff listens

    Cons

    Once it was sold to Laclede/Spire, it wasn't nearly as happy of an environment, benefits changed and some people lost some added vaca they earned

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Manager of Multifamily Markets

    Jul 2, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family environment, access to upper management, pleasant working environment, solid pay and benefits, not too stressful, great opportunity to work in the community

    Cons

    Little room for advancement, no way to separate yourself from the pack if you are not one of the chosen few, salaries a little low on a national scale

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Contractor, more than 3 years

    Great Stepping Stone

    Jun 24, 2016 - GIS Contractor in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great for recent graduates. individuals are totally emerged in the utility busy.

    Cons

    the Laclede acquisition created tension and forced some into early retirement. Benefits suffered.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Inconsistent, promotions are not based on what you know, but who you know.

    May 11, 2016 - Rep in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company luncheons Flexible time Volunteering for events during company time

    Cons

    If you start from the bottom, the only way you will get ahead is by ratting out others, working in the call center or being a brown noser. Salaries are scattered all over the place. The work environment was very stressful, depending on which building you worked in. Needless to say, I originally started at Midtown. If you don't want to be micromanaged, this is not the place for you. If you did not work in the call center and worked at Midtown, you were not moving up.....point blank period! The front office that dealt with the walk in customers did the same work asthe call center plus more responsibilities. Yet, they were underpaid and everyone in the building knew it. That building is so chaotic. Luckily, I applied for another postion and was moved to another building, it was a totally different culture. It just amazed me how relaxed it was. It used to be a company with morals and values. Every since they were sold by Energen, the company has went downhill, ask the people that were laid off or the customers. That should tell you something. If you want to be stressed and want to have your job on the chopping block every 3 months because the new company acquires another gas company and wants to do layoffs, then this is the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    used to be a great place to work

    Mar 16, 2016 -  in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    easy to get promoted and getting recognized for good work. long term employment,good to retire.

    Cons

    sometimes in experienced people are promoted,management able to play favs, new company that brought it out laclede not a very good company and has changed the dynamics of a great company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company until sold.

    Oct 18, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Laid back corporate atmosphere. Great people. Downtown location. Locally, it has good officers in place who are easy to work with.

    Cons

    Salaries not comparable to other corporate companies. New ownership (out of st Louis) Shrinking budgets. Slowly being taken over by Laclede Group and ran from Missouri.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Its Not What It Seems

    Jul 1, 2015 - Customer Service 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits; great training;

    Cons

    This review is both on the industry and the company. As far as the industry, you are only dealing with people who don't pay their bills. Think about it - if you're a person who pay your bills on time every month, how often would you call your utility company? Never. So the majority of the people calling in are people who have financial issues and can't pay their bill or is trying to get their service reconnected. The entire time I was there, I was cursed out about 6 hours out of the 8 hours I was there. People would call screaming and cursing. I started hating going to work. Its not worth the money in my opinion. If you can't take getting yelled at all day, people screaming at you to the top of their lungs and cursing you out... then don't work for them. From a company perspective, there where too many metrics. You have to do this in so many minutes and do that in so many minutes and you can't say this and you can't say that. You're really not helping the customers "naturally", because you're thinking more about your talk time and saying the right words and refreshing the calls within a certain time frame, rather than providing excellent customer support. There were several people around me who literally yelled at the customers all day and they always received 100% QA awards. The company really try to focus on customer service but their ideals around it is not up to par with larger companies who excel in customer service. Advancement opportunities are very little to non-existent. I know someone who still works there now and they have been trying to move to another position, but management controls that. If they don't want you to move to another department, they don't have to recommend you. Although the HR person told us that they move up pretty quickly, I don't believe thats true.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Looks are deceiving

    Mar 3, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Allows you to make up time off,

    Cons

    Take away breaks to hold meetings during business hours. Require you to give up 30 minuets of your lunch during peak season. Do as I say not as I do management. Promote people who have been suspended for "sexual harassment" Will not allow you to eat your desk when they take half of your lunch hour away because of Mickey the Mouse. However, the managers sit in their offices and eat. I didn't know rodents new not to eat the managers crumbs, Require you to be at work before 8 to log on to your computer system so you will be ready to take calls, but you don't get the over time because it is only done in 15 min, increments on time sheets, Tell you are not allowed to have a cell phone, but managers walk around with two on their hip, Management takes 2 hour lunches and do not come in until 8:30, however; you will be wrote up if you computer is not up and taking calls at 8:00. Very bad leadership at this company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Unbelievable place to work

    Feb 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people, flexibility, recognition, but most importantly my boss. This company truly values its employees and the quality of their lives. It's the best place you will ever work. Medium sized company, but all are extended members of your family. You will not find a place with such amazing skills but modest personalities. Awesome bonus plan.

    Cons

    The only negative I have found in the numerous years I've worked here is the new parent comapny's medical insurance.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Best place to work

    Jan 28, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My direct manager is exceptional and words cannot describe how well he treats us. He genuinely cares about not only his staff’s professional progression, but also their personal life circumstances as well. Not only because of this, but the employees as well, make me proud to be a member of the Alagasco family. If the opportunity presents itself, I implore you take advantage of it. If you are fortunate enough, it is the best place you will ever work. With the exception of health and dental insurance, they offer a superior benefits package along with a generous PTO and holiday allotment. For example, how many organizations today recognize MLK day and officially close the doors? It is an unbelievable environment with some of the most talented, authentic, supportive, and highly educated people you will meet in your lifetime. They are not only your colleagues, but your friends and family as well. Wages are very fair.

    Cons

    As with any acquisition, a natural anxiety presents itself. However, thus far things remain very optimistic for Alagasco’s future. Laclede brought in their insurance package, which is very affordable, but it is co-insurance. I would rather pay more for better coverage than their current offering. Almost everyone I discussed this with shares my point-of-view.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Work at Alabama Gas? Share Your Experiences

Alabama Gas logo
or