Alabama Power Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Alabama Power Chairman, President and CEO Mark Crosswhite  (no image)
Mark Crosswhite
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Often long hours because the company is committed to customers--they come first(in 5 reviews)

  • "Senior leadership has weakened in recent years, uncertainty of business changes and reorganization, toxic work environment in impacted departments(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Friendly and Beneficial"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fleet Services Mechanic/Garage Assistant in Calera, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alabama Power part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities for learning and advancement of skills.

    Cons

    There was not much to complain about with this company.

    Continue reading
    Alabama Power2020-03-23
  2. "Toxic Politics but decent pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alabama Power full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some great people work here and the pay is above average for Alabama. Benefits are great too.

    Cons

    Unless your related to a former VP or a politician, your odds for moving up are slim. This is a hyper political company and cut throat. You will not be promoted based on your work. Due to politics and how long people stay at this company, you'll need to make questionable deals to get anything done. Southern Style is just marketing - this place is full of liars and crooks.

    Continue reading
    Alabama Power2020-05-27
  3. "DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT APPLY FOR APPLIANCE SALES! The Commission pay SUCKS!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Alabama Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Monday-Friday 8-5, Nice Co Workers

    Cons

    Commission, Pay, No advancement, unappreciated for all the extra job responsibilities with no pay, Management in the department

    Continue reading
    Alabama Power2020-05-21
  4. "Nice place to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Montgomery, AL

    I worked at Alabama Power full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of benefits for working for Alabama Power

    Cons

    Management did not care about its employees

    Alabama Power2020-02-03
  5. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alabama Power full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company for long term employment.

    Cons

    Less than average pay for engineers

    Alabama Power2020-01-28
  6. "WORKING FOR A COMPANY LIKE THIS!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alabama Power full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is caring and allows you to grow in your business life but also personal.

    Cons

    Work long hours but you earn what you work.

    Continue reading
    Alabama Power2019-11-19
  7. "Great company, terrible location Anniston"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Anniston, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alabama Power full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diversity could be upgraded currently.

    Cons

    Male counterparts can be sexist

    Continue reading
    Alabama Power2019-11-19
  8. "Great job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alabama Power full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of benefits, great culture

    Cons

    No cafeteria on site, but stores are near

    Alabama Power2019-10-25
  9. "Great environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer Co-Op 

    I have been working at Alabama Power full-time

    Pros

    Very flexible , great opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Unsure direction of the company

    Alabama Power2019-11-01
  10. "Good Company Need More Diversity"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Alabama Power full-time

    Pros

    It is a wonderful company with excellent benefits. Pension Plan, 401 K Plan, 12 weeks of Fraternity Leave, Sick and Vacation. The work as an Engineer can be high and low sometimes just depends on the work load. It’s very manageable though. The pay can be better for Engineers as well we are underpaid compared to other competitors.

    Cons

    Definitely need more diversity. They say they support diversity and want more of it there but, upper management lack the motivation of getting diversity in the company. Sometimes they come off as “I want what I want” instead of getting others of diverse backgrounds a opportunity.

    Continue reading
    Alabama Power2019-09-26
Found 77 reviews