Alameda County Reviews | Glassdoor

Alameda County Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Susan Muranishi
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Consistent work schedule, work at my own pace, good pay, great benefits(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, pto, and retirement(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Programs take a long time to roll out given the typical government red tape, so would not want to work there long term(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I live in Hanford County near Lemoore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alameda County full-time

    Pros

    My supervised experience in Hanford at the Navy base was a great experience I was in charge 2 grocery stores 3 gas stations and one mall I had 16 guys up under me so getting things done on time prompt and to the point I wasn't under no stress things got done on a timely matter I enjoyed that job very much Miss it today

    Cons

    Getting the job done on a timely matter

    Advice to Management

    Listening to your workers they will tell you what's wrong and for upper management to just listen to them sometimes we upper management can't get it wrong 2 that's why I'll workers who's out there doing the job can sometimes give good advice

    Alameda County2019-06-04
  2. "Great benefits, zero training or educational support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Alameda County full-time

      Pros

      Health benefits were pretty good.

      Cons

      If you want to branch out in your career or even try an new opportunity within the County, there was not much support for that. You were put in a job title box, and there you stayed. A lot of jaded dead-enders just sticking around long enough to collect retirement.

      Alameda County2019-05-19
    • "Great Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate Auditor in Oakland, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Alameda County full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Management promotes hard working, ambitious individuals with good attitudes

      Cons

      Some coworkers are unambitious

      Alameda County2019-04-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fine place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Office of the County Counsel 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Alameda County full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      It is truly an 8-5 type of job. The work is meaningful, too.

      Cons

      The use of Microsoft Outlook is beyond frustrating, archaic, and behind the times. There is zero training. Communication is nonexistent between upper management and the rest of the entire office. I am not sure if folks do not know how to communicate or if upper management thinks too highly of itself to share information with others in the office. I suspect the latter, unless everyone in upper management is lacking in...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Communicate to everyone. Attorneys, paralegals, and support staff. Share little bits of information that might not matter to you because everyone under you will likely appreciate being told.

      Alameda County2019-03-19
    • "A Great Career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Deputy Sheriff in Oakland, CA

      I have been working at Alameda County full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Excellent locations, flexible work assignments, variables shifts available, excellent compensation.

      Cons

      No situation and not one person is perfect. None that I am willing to share.

      Alameda County2019-02-16
    • Helpful (3)

      "Best employment opportunities and chances for advancements."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Specialist Clerk II in Hayward, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Alameda County full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Stability, many office locations. Great people. Chances for advancement.

      Cons

      Reactive not proactive. Simple task made complex.

      Advice to Management

      County temps should be granted permanent employment after a period of steady employee within agency. Why train them in different positions only hire another that will need the same training? Looks like a waste of money and energy.

      Alameda County2019-01-25
    • "Eligibility Technician II"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Alameda County full-time

      Pros

      Consistent work schedule, work at my own pace, good pay, great benefits

      Cons

      Favoritism, some management and co-workers can be rude or have power trips

      Alameda County2018-12-06
    • "data analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Alameda County

        Pros

        no work form home in my dept.

        Cons

        you get all holidays off and bonus.

        Alameda County2018-11-05
      • "Poll Worker"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends

          I have been working at Alameda County

          Pros

          I've signed up to be a Clerk/ Poll Worker on Election day. The training was three hours, and it felt long but very straightforward. This is an important election, and the County still needs Poll Works - please sign up!

          Cons

          It'll be a long day on the 6th.

          Alameda County2018-10-26
        • "Analyst"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Alameda County

          Pros

          Very fun place to work

          Cons

          N/A at this point currently

          Advice to Management

          n/a

          Alameda County2018-10-21
        Found 96 reviews