KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Alarm.com

Engaged Employer

Alarm.com

Add a Review

Alarm.com Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 336 reviews

4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Alarm.com President and CEO  Steve Trundle (no image)
Steve Trundle
198 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

468

64 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Alarm.com and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Great people, lots of investment in worker success

    Apr 1, 2020 - Software Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * They have an extensive training team that works very hard to help you develop yourself. * They reward initiative * The work life balance was encouraged and respected

    Cons

    * Occasionally the intern projects were too simple, leading to unused time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Engineer Review

    Apr 10, 2017 - Software Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. This is a great place to start one's career. As a software engineer I have gotten a chance to work on multiple projects where I got to learn a lot of new things and work on large scale projects. I think this is a great place to start for any college grad. 2. Work / Life balance is great - You are not micro-managed and given the flexibility to work on your own schedule. 3. Good Co-Workers - Generally speaking all the people I work with are great. 4. Others - You have a direct line to the VP. You will get to learn a lot if you get an opportunity to work with him. However, I think this is generally not the case anymore.

    Cons

    Until recently I barely used to think about leaving the company or searching for new opportunities even though I would constantly get bombarded by emails from recruiters. However, this is not the case anymore, and I find myself constantly thinking about this topic. There are 3 main reasons - 1. Career path - The career path is not very well laid out at Alarm. This in all fairness is probably because we are a growing company. However, this is still frustrating and concerning. As other reviewers have also pointed out, promotion process seems a bit ad hoc (not sure if it really is behind the scenes). Few people have been promoted and others who I think should have been promoted by now are still in their old position. In general, I don't think any SE knows what their career trajectory will look like. They are also in the dark about what will be required for a promotion (i.e. what skill sets, experience level etc.). I know just by talking to people that this is a concern for more people than just myself. A lot of people in other departments have left the company recently because of this same reason. 2. Compensation - I don't think the compensation at Alarm is very competitive. In my research I have found that my pay and even the average pay for an SE here is below the average compensation around Tysons and DC area. The raises are not that great which I think makes the problem worse over time. Initially, I used to think that the compensation was at par / competitive. However, every year during my research I find that my pay is below the average around this area. I know that compensation is even a bigger concern in some other departments. 3. Technology - I think this would be true after a while in any company. However, after working here for so long, I find that I am not learning a lot of new things anymore. At this point I have my doubts about how much longer I will be with the company.

    Continue reading
    23 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Work Enviroment

    May 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -good work life balance -fun work environment -casual dress environment -supportive management -good office amenities -metro accessible

    Cons

    glassdoor requires five words minimum for this section :)

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Great place to work

    Sep 1, 2017 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    culture, amazing office, talented engineers, impactful/interesting projects

    Cons

    It's really up to you to maintain a good work/life balance.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Fun workplace with growing pains

    Feb 23, 2021 - Quality Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company tries to find best fit for projects within department At the manager level, pretty invested in the success of the employees Good COVID response/adaptation Decent work life balance

    Cons

    Low Salaries Difficult to find challenging work unless you are on a specific project Growing pains

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Software Engineer Review

    Apr 13, 2017 - Senior Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a great first job. You will learn a lot about real-world software engineering (all the stuff your CS degree didn't teach you). - The culture is very unique and laid back. People here are also very friendly towards each other. - Nobody will micromanage you or force you to work a certain way - The work/life balance is great. If you are good at your job, you will rarely stay at work more than 45 hours per week. - Flexible hours: you have to be available after new code is deployed (in case you need to fix bugs), but that's about it

    Cons

    - There is a lot of bureaucracy. It it starting to feel like a megacorporation. - The release system is archaic and overly complex. There is no CD pipeline. This makes our jobs as engineers unnecessarily difficult. - Too much toil - there is a lot of repetitive, manual work required to complete day-to-day tasks. For example, most software changes are manually tested. - Compensation is not competitive (see below for explanation) - I am doubtful that this company can compete with the tech giants (like Google) who are building smart home products

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Company is alright

    Aug 10, 2022 - Quality Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management is fine. Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    Career opportunities are lacking. Pay is underwhelming.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Would not recommend

    May 20, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most people are at least outwardly friendly. Lots of social events if that's something you're interested in. Work/life balance is fine.

    Cons

    The codebase is monolithic, and it desperately needs refactoring. It keeps getting worse as new developers are added who don't have much experience and don't know how to write good code, and more experienced engineers are pushed into management. In addition to the code itself being really terrible to work with, all the tools and technologies used are incredibly outdated. If you're interested in being strong in cutting edge tech, this is not the right place for you. The promotion standards are incredibly inconsistent. There is a document with expectations listed for each level of software engineering roles, but you can't expect to get a promotion even if you meet all the guidelines. A lot of the managers have been given the opportunity to manage after only having been a software engineer for 3-5 years, which ends up meaning some of the managers are really terrible at being managers. Even though these managers may be incapable of effectively managing, they still get promoted and have more people added under them as direct reports. There is a lack of effort from the company to support diversity and inclusion. There are some groups started by employees for this purpose, but I would have liked to see the company make an effort to foster a healthy environment, starting with hiring someone to focus on diversity and inclusion as their job. There is a culture within software engineering of being generally patronizing to people who disagree or are trying to learn something new. I've heard others talk about this, and I've experienced it myself on a different team, so it seems to span multiple teams. This certainly isn't true for everyone or even the majority of engineers, but there are a decent number of "brogrammers" at the company that perpetuate a culture of a lack of self-awareness and casual misogyny/racism. Most people are really nice and genuine, but the few people like this definitely ruined the culture for me.

    14 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pretty good

    May 3, 2022 - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance for me

    Cons

    Technology can be pretty outdated

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Career Mistake - Alarm.com.

    Feb 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Nice looking office, and amenities within the office * Social events in the office/happy hours

    Cons

    * Not much flexibility as far as work hours go (felt looked down on for leaving work early due to childcare responsibilities) * Didn't feel a sense of work life balance - emails/chats at all hours of the night, even on things that were not urgent and could have waited till the next day. * No team collaboration - everything was all driven from the top down, and there was no room for improvement from other people on the team. * Poor communication from management * Lack of confidentiality on teams * Not allowed to work from home pretty much ever, and if you had to, you would feel guilty. * Pay was not at all competitive compared to the market (one of the reasons I left) * All decisions that were made were based on favoritism, not based on the work others were doing. * Old school processes in place that needed updated, but no one wanted to do anything different because 'that was the way it was always done.'

    Continue reading
    30 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

Popular Careers with Alarm.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Alarm.com? Share Your Experiences

or

Affiliated Companies

Alarm.com Careers

Cover image for Alarm.com

Our technology powers the connected home and business. WE INVENT AND INNOVATE Our platform and solutions are at the center of four...More

  • About Us
  • Our Values
  • Our Employees
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Alarm.com

499 days ago

Employee Story
As a Senior Program Manager for Alarm.com, Albert Lin helps the Device Engineering team stay aligned with company objectives and makes sure his team members have access to the resources they need to be successful. Albert enjoys the genuine camaraderie on his team, saying, “It’s incredibly cool to see teammates step up and provide an assist that can go a long way to making someone else’s day. I appreciate everyone’s willingness to help each other out.” Alarm.com gives Albert and his team the chance to regularly try new things. According to Albert, “The work that our engineering team tackles, naturally involves some level of experimentation—much of what we do hasn’t been done before—so trying out new ideas is just part of our process!” Want to join Albert at Alarm.com? Learn more at alarm.com/careers.
Shared image - Alarm.com on LinkedIn: As a Senior Program Manager for Alarm.com, Albert Lin helps the Device
Alarm.com on LinkedIn: As a Senior Program Manager for Alarm.com, Albert Lin helps the Device
www.linkedin.com
Logo

Alarm.com

499 days ago

Employee Story
"Alarm.com is a place where you can grow professionally and personally; I have never had that before,” says Alexander Rasmussen, Support Operations team lead at Alarm.com. Alex manages nine Support Operation Associates, and his team is responsible for getting critical tools and resources in the hands of Alarm.com employees. In addition to