Cover image for Alaska Airlines
Logo
See All Photos

Alaska Airlines

Engaged Employer

Alaska Airlines

Add a Review

Alaska Airlines Employee Reviews about "hour"

Updated Nov 30, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,140 of over 1K reviews
3.9
71% Recommend to a Friend
Alaska Airlines CEO Ben Minicucci
62% Approve of CEO

Found 10 of over 1K reviews

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Alaska Airlines CEO Ben Minicucci
Ben Minicucci
200 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is low and competitor airline without union pays starting CSA $5 more an an hour at same airport.(in 93 reviews)
  • "ITS has terrible management and has shown this clearly in the covid era(in 54 reviews)
  • "long hours its cold and icey(in 28 reviews)
  • "The salary is low and the hours are hard.(in 17 reviews)
  • "Terrible training.(in 14 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Alaska Airlines and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "hour"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Nov 29, 2022 - Auditor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    None that I know of

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Alaska Airlines Response

    💙 -Ellen

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Flight Attendant

    Oct 25, 2022 - Paralegal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company provided great health insurance and travel benefits. We stayed in really nice hotels on our layovers, and our layovers generally gave us time to enjoy the city we were in. I was based in San Diego and enjoyed flying with most of my coworkers. We also had excellent pilots and I always felt like I could trust them.

    Cons

    After Alaska bought Virgin America, in my opinion the company went down hill. The values changed, the customer service became lax, and management became too political. After asking for people to furlough during the pandemic, the company turned around and took away most of our flexibility in schedule, which was a huge part of the job. The Airbus aircraft we were forced to fly on felt unsafe for the flight attendants. The emergency equipment was placed in different places on each Airbus and I never felt confident that I could help someone in case of an emergency. Lastly, the culture of Alaska changed and there was FAR more hostility between the Flight Attendants and between the Pilots. Alaska, in my opinion, became more focused on their image rather than the safety of their crews and customer service. Alaska used to be the best!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Alaska Airlines team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Among the lowest paid of the mainline airlines

    Nov 2, 2022 - Flight Attendant in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training hotel accommodations, training center transportation, a small daily meal per diem, and uniforms/suitcase provided free of charge.

    Cons

    Very compressed, short and brutal daily training classes hours, i.e. 0530am-230pm or 3pm-midnight daily classes, six days a week. Just the very basic FAA mandated safety training curriculum taught, NO equally important service training, NO important crew scheduling training, NO computer schedule bidding training. Graduation was more lectures, quick power points to study and learn, handed your wings, a few pictures, and back to the hotel to pack up and you are immediately assigned ready reserve assignment, with trip assignments the very next day! Good luck finding any place to stay or live in one of six of the most expensive West Coast crew base cities! And remember, you will not see your first tiny paycheck until the once a month 20th payday. You better have lots of savings! Or generous families.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    CSA at Alaska Airlines

    Nov 6, 2022 - Customer Service Agent (CSA) in Anchorage, AK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers and flexibility. I loved everyone I worked with, and genuinely loved helping guests.

    Cons

    The probation period is a joke. 6 months is a long time, and they can let you go for anything. I got on one supervisor's bad side (supervisors are called leads) and she made sure I got the boot. Made up things about me totally unfounded. According to their policies I had no real opportunity to defend myself. Instead I was brought to my manager, accused of "having a bad attitude". Did not tell me in which instance I did when I asked. It was a set up. All politics because on lead and manager did not like me. After I was fired many of the leads who did like me went to management and complained. You see in the airline business one guest will say you have a bad attitude if you refuse to wave a bag fee. Even though I practiced the core values of do the right thing and being kind hearted.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company

    Nov 24, 2022 - Anonymous in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great leadership and well run. Has some really great people.

    Cons

    The people who aren’t great can ruin the culture. A lot of whining can lead to unnecessary policy changes. Hard work and job knowledge isn’t the only thing that advances your career anymore.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Fun at first, then a morass

    Nov 30, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The organization is open to trying new things.

    Cons

    Lack of structure, trying too many things so systems are not cohesive. No well-defined processes for how work should be done. Nit-picky policies that seem to be put in place to make people feel productive. Too many meetings. Salaries are generally not competitive.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Nov 28, 2022 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Work from home can’t complain.

    Cons

    Employee to employee support can be lacking a lot of the time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Alaska Airlines Response

    Thank you for the review! -Ellen

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Just do your job

    Nov 27, 2022 - Ramp Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Alaska has been good to me

    Cons

    I really don’t have any

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    I WAS GAS-LIGHTED

    Oct 2, 2022 - Customer Service Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    none - the leads, trainers and management were so unprofessional

    Cons

    As I said, I was hired, went to Seattle for 7 days of full time training, at sjc spent 10 days straight of 10 hour days training, worked on my own for August and September, then was let go after all the work they put in training me. Also, the same day I was let go, 4 other people in my Seattle class were let go also. I was gas-lighted because the week before, I was told I would be going upstairs to learn the gates and that my customer service was excellent. I was also told that I was really improving on image. These people are crazy to put in that much time training me for NO REASON! Some people think they do this all the time so we can cover shifts, give the 4 trainers a job and in August half the staff went on vacation. DO NOT EVEN TRY TO WORK HERE! It was like high school with the "in crowd". If you were not one of them you were treated horribly. Also, they want good looking gay guys and 20 year old with long dark hair and thin. If you don'tlook like or act like them you will be let go.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good, positive company to work for

    Nov 10, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great overarching moral standards, care for customers and each other, relatively decent pay, flight perks, can be flexible with hours by doing trades

    Cons

    Terrible health benefits, not what you get, but how much they charge you in order to get it. Not worth paying into something when you could set that money aside and have it going toward your medical bills. Have to wait 30 days to do trades.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Alaska Airlines Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Alaska Airlines? Share Your Experiences

or

Affiliated Companies

Alaska Airlines Careers

Cover image for Alaska Airlines

We were founded in Alaska back in 1932 and have been headquartered in Seattle for nearly seven decades with hubs in Seattle, Portland,...More

  • Nurture our Talent
  • Travel Perks and Benefits
  • Strengthen Our Communities
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Alaska Airlines

43 days ago

Employee Story
In the 26 years Bertha has been part of our team—as an agent, trainer, translation expert, and advocate for our Spanish-speaking guests and employees—she says it has all been a phenomenal ride and a dream come true. “As a reservations supervisor, I hope my journey will inspire and encourage agents and others to continue learning and pursue a long career with Alaska. The past 26 years have flown by because I truly love what I do," she said. “Every position I’ve held during these years has been a true learning experience, and the amazing individuals I’ve met have inspired me to grow.” As Hispanic Heritage Month comes to a close, Alaska Airlines continues to strive for progress to increase diversity, equity and inclusion from both within our teams and the industry overall. We are excited to recognize and honor employees like Bertha and celebrate the contributions and influence they have within our network and beyond.
Shared image - Employee aims to make Alaska the airline of choice for the Hispanic community
Employee aims to make Alaska the airline of choice for the Hispanic community
news.alaskaair.com
See all

Alaska Airlines Photos

+ Add Photo
Alaska Airlines photo of: Week of CARE
Alaska Airlines photo of: Week of CARE
Alaska Airlines photo of: Week of CARE
Alaska Airlines photo of: Leadership Summit
Alaska Airlines photo of: Live Aloha Festival
Alaska Airlines photo of: Live Aloha Festival
Alaska Airlines photo of: Dance Exercise Class in the Hanger
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Alaska Airlines Job Seekers Also Viewed

United Airlines Logo
United Airlines

4.1

5,638 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,220 Alaska Airlines reviews submitted anonymously by Alaska Airlines employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Alaska Airlines is right for you.