Alaska DOT&PF Reviews | Glassdoor

Alaska DOT&PF Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Alaska DOT&PF CEO Marc A. Luiken (no image)
Marc A. Luiken
7 Ratings
  1. "High caliber professional engineers creating high value designs for Alaskan infrastructure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AutoCAD Drafter in Fairbanks, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska DOT&PF full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Productive office environment with high levels of respect for all. Progressive in terms of gender and race equality.

    Cons

    There are no cons except occasional reshuffling of work spaces.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Alaska DOT&PF2018-08-28
  2. "Benefits great, wages below standard, management ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EA3 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska DOT&PF full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Health insurance managed by the union and is great.

    Cons

    Some job categories and departments are considered disposable and abusive work conditions result from this reality. Annual pink slips during previous administration and promise to fire all non-critical employees, 375 positions, and replace as needed with consultants, temps, and out of state laborers. Turnover is huge, empty positions growing and not being filled.

    Alaska DOT&PF2019-08-02
  3. "Excellent work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Alaska DOT&PF full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers and good work life balance

    Cons

    Advancement path is limited depending on position

    Alaska DOT&PF2019-05-16
  4. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska DOT&PF full-time

    Pros

    Excellent mission in serving the public of Alaska. Great benefits and salaries.

    Cons

    Effective communication, or communication in general, is something you may have to continuously and actively pursue.

    Advice to Management

    When they are needed, assist in the success of each encumbant by incorporating functioning training strategies and plans. // Remember that all employees have value and something positive to offer for the overall success of the team and mission.

    Alaska DOT&PF2018-02-16
  5. "Needs improvement before I'd work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska DOT&PF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great PTO and good benefits. Enjoyed working there overall, and got some absolutely awesome experience. Good training opportunities.

    Cons

    Poor response to sexual harassment in the workplace. Some jobs require long hours with some "creative" timekeeping to avoid OT rules in the current political climate, or travel, the expenses for which is almost never completely covered. Promotion opportunities are severely curtailed in the current political environment.

    Advice to Management

    MUST reform how sexual harassment cases are handled. It wasn't what led to me leaving, but it was something I observed on several occasions, and it did contribute to my decision to seek work elsewhere. I knew one person who reported her supervisor for sexual harassment and *assault*. They delayed investigating him months until he "retired", then fired her at the end of the "probationary period" she was in because... she had recently gotten a promotion. He's now working again for someone else who doesn't know about the accusations, and she struggled to find work for months while going through arbitration. I had another friend be sexually harassed by several other inspectors and contractors' employees she worked with. It took several complaints from her to get anyone to even give them a lecture, despite the fact several of them literally exposed themselves to her (as a "joke" everyone but her seemed to think was funny).

    Show More
    Alaska DOT&PF2017-11-08
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska DOT&PF full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, really good people who care about their work, varied work

    Cons

    It's a state government department, so that does mean a lot of bureaucracy sometimes.

    Alaska DOT&PF2017-06-21
  7. "Flagger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Alaska DOT&PF

    Pros

    Great management, good hours, and good money!

    Cons

    At times the hours can be overwhelming and breaks are limited!

    Alaska DOT&PF2017-04-23
  8. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska DOT&PF

    Pros

    The Department of Transportation has a very friendly and constructive work environment, coworkers are flexible and accommodating and it truly feels like working on a team.

    Cons

    I did not find that there were any real downsides to working at the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring interns, in engineering and in other disciplines because it is a valuable resource to students looking for work experience. It is also a good idea for the employer because it establishes a path forward for recent graduates who can continue to work at DOT if the relationship is mutually beneficial.

    Alaska DOT&PF2016-08-01
  9. "Construction EAII"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Alaska DOT&PF full-time

    Pros

    Lots of hours in the summer Great experience in Alaskan outdoors Part of an organization making an impact on the state Very flexible with winter vacation

    Cons

    Winters can be very slow Working out of town for the summer can be hard with a family

    Alaska DOT&PF2016-02-08
  10. "Logistics Analyst Intern at the airport"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Alaska DOT&PF

    Pros

    Learned a lot because I was working closely with executive board member. Feeling dedicated and empowered at work. Even thought it was unpaid internship, the data and experience are valued at most.

    Cons

    Sometimes, you might feel lost; because there is no specific tasks given from upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up and make a department for global logistics and supply chain data intelligence

    Alaska DOT&PF2015-11-23
Found 14 reviews