Alaska Regional Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Alaska Regional Hospital Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Alaska Regional Hospital CEO Julie Taylor
Julie Taylor
6 Ratings
  1. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Regional Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Supportive Administration, great coworkers and a family-feel amongst staff.

    Cons

    Too much corporate oversight from parent company

    Alaska Regional Hospital2018-03-21
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Respiratory Care Practitioner 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Regional Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Newly remodeled, great staff, good CEO

    Cons

    Having to share the docs with other facilities, some staffing issues but not that bad.

    Alaska Regional Hospital2019-01-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Very understaffed & Corporate HCA not supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Regional Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the direct care staff are great. Nursing wages competitive.

    Cons

    Like all large healthcare systems, there are units here with hostile work environments. Benefits not competitive with other local hospitals. No HSA or HRA pre-tax option, only use it or lose it FSA account. Understaffed, understaffed, understaffed and overtime is banned. They pay big bucks for travelers, but don’t hire extra permanent staff. Trying to use PTO is a joke.

    Advice to Management

    Management does get input from employees, but the problems remain.

    Alaska Regional Hospital2019-01-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Regional Hospital full-time

    Pros

    the emploeyees are helpful and thats it

    Cons

    poor management and work enviroment

    Advice to Management

    listen to employees

    Alaska Regional Hospital2018-04-09
  5. "Oustanding place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Regional Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A true leadership team that is sincerely involved with the day to day operations. Great support from all Directors and an amazing staff that truly cares about the patients.

    Cons

    No downsides and zero cons.

    Alaska Regional Hospital2017-10-12
  6. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Regional Hospital full-time

    Pros

    “Small town feel” you’re not just a number. The CEO knows your name

    Cons

    Some of the laziest nurses around (from a coworker perspective)

    Alaska Regional Hospital2017-10-02
  7. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Alaska Regional Hospital

    Pros

    Amazing staff members and management.

    Cons

    Nothing to add for cons.

    Alaska Regional Hospital2017-07-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nurse Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Regional Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee's have a voice, patients are treated like family. All staff are treated with respect. Both technology and the aesthetics of the hospital are improving. Great leadership

    Cons

    overall the place is amazing to work at. Opportunities are already being addressed and staff are updated on a quarterly basis as to the progress of those opportunities

    Advice to Management

    You are doing a great job. Continue to listen to those in direct patient care. Continue to support ancillary services and keep us moving towards our goals

    Alaska Regional Hospital2017-04-14
  9. "rn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Alaska Regional Hospital full-time

    Pros

    great hospital to work for

    Cons

    small cafeteria to eat in

    Alaska Regional Hospital2016-07-09
  10. "It's okay for this point in my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Alaska Regional Hospital

    Pros

    Dynamic department. I've learned a lot.

    Cons

    Low morale within the hospital as contact agreements are not met.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees. it helps to be somewhat transparent and honest.

    Alaska Regional Hospital2016-05-08
Found 19 reviews