Alberta Blue Cross Reviews | Glassdoor

Alberta Blue Cross Reviews

Updated 13 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Alberta Blue Cross CEO Ray R. Pisani (no image)
Ray R. Pisani
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes overworked and understaffed, low pay, only about 4 levels which can limit advancement(in 4 reviews)

  • "Low wage and high work load not associated with Sales(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Blue Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, workplace culture, fosters continuous learning, flexible

    Cons

    I have not yet encountered a con

    Alberta Blue Cross2019-10-13
  2. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 

    I have been working at Alberta Blue Cross full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for makes you feel a part of the team

    Cons

    Work load is super high

    Alberta Blue Cross2019-08-21
  3. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Blue Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work experience, great people, wellness focused, great work life balance

    Cons

    Lower salary than most competitor corporations

    Alberta Blue Cross2019-07-16
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Service Desk Analyst in Leduc, AB

    I have been working at Alberta Blue Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Corporate wellness is a company focus

    Cons

    Parking downtown Edmonton expensive and hard to find

    Alberta Blue Cross2019-06-22
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Failing to live to corporate values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Alberta Blue Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Boasts top employee and desired culture awards. Average benefits (some of our clients enjoy better benefits than employees)

    Cons

    No life/balance in practice. Although policies and documents promote life balance, the reality, especially for management staff is very different. Expectation is to be available all the time; heavy work loads with long hours and not enough resources. Management staff has a challenging time finding talent staff due to lower than average salaries. Older employees' contributions are neglected and discarded. ... Directors disrespect employees openly and seem more interested in politics than staff engagement.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes and pay attention to the reviews and feedback. The culture is turning into a fearful culture where people are afraid to raise their hand and ask for assistance as their workload increases. Managers seem powerless to help our teams success when we have direction to add more projects, provide more resources ... and somehow live the company values. It is unrealistic!

    Alberta Blue Cross2019-06-25
  6. "Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Analyst in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Blue Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture; good management; good work life balance

    Cons

    Low salary; Inconsistent middle management

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff;

    Alberta Blue Cross2019-05-08
  7. "Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Alberta Blue Cross full-time

    Pros

    Great Corporate Culture and Inclusive Environment

    Cons

    Corporate Culture differs based on department

    Alberta Blue Cross2019-04-11
  8. "IPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Individual Sales 

    I worked at Alberta Blue Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    office is located downtown, makes breaks refreshing

    Cons

    team leads are fake. sales driven dept. its always about numbers. the actual products that are sold , in my opinion are not always in the best interest of the client. at the end of the day, clients sign up because there really is no choice. people need coverage and the premiums are too high. i feel sorry for clients

    Advice to Management

    none

    Alberta Blue Cross2019-04-26
  9. "Claims Assessor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Blue Cross full-time

    Pros

    Good company overall to work for

    Cons

    Don’t backfill positions and spread existing work.

    Alberta Blue Cross2019-04-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good organization, Poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alberta Blue Cross full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, great culture, work/life balance. People are great, friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    Salaries lower than market level for some positions. Most management are overtaxed, they're fighting fires instead of planning. This leads to frustrated staff and lower overall engagement.

    Advice to Management

    Delegate to the people you hired to do a job. Trust them.

    Alberta Blue Cross2019-03-08
Found 91 reviews