Alberta Health Services Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Alberta Health Services President and CEO Verna Yiu (no image)
Verna Yiu
171 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good wage, good Benefits and good environment(in 46 reviews)

  • "Rewarding work, good pay, Good union(in 46 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Program manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alberta Health Services

    Pros

    Great place to work.

    Cons

    Lots of supervisors. Too many levels in management.

    Alberta Health Services2018-10-18
  2. "Work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I work here. I get paid.

    Cons

    I hate my life. But it’s a job.

    Continue reading
    Alberta Health Services2019-09-15
  3. "Registered Nurse"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alberta Health Services

    Pros

    Good benefits, big company so ability to work your way up

    Cons

    Depending on unit may not get overtime compensation

    Alberta Health Services2018-01-08
  4. "Worked as psychiatric aide"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services part-time

    Pros

    Got plenty of shifts with them even though I was on the casual float team. Good job to have during post secondary

    Cons

    almost impossible to get a permanent position unless you are high on the seniority list, otherwise the jobs are given to someone more senior.

    Alberta Health Services2016-11-16
  5. "Admin Assistant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Alberta Health Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Focused on helping people and patients that staff needs are neglected. Able to do a variety of tasks and projects in an emergency situation

    Cons

    Too much-added responsibilities that are not in the job description and was not affront and honest about it at the time of hiring.

    Continue reading
    Alberta Health Services2016-07-16
  6. "Alberta Health Services"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Alberta Health Services

    Pros

    Flexible work schedules in some departments.

    Cons

    Very limited opportunities for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Alberta Health Services2016-03-09
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Senior Analyst, BAS, Temporary Project"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alberta Health Services

    Pros

    Good salary for a small town location. Great benefits; lots of opportunity.

    Cons

    Even though the corporate line is life/work balance, the office culture encourages overtime hours for salaried workers to get the job done - understaffed and overworked, which is good for the corporate bottom $$, but not staff life/work.

    Alberta Health Services2015-02-06
  8. "Project Management Team"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Alberta Health Services full-time

    Pros

    - Young team - Lots of work to do

    Cons

    - Old Culture - Stagnant in their IT processes

    Alberta Health Services2013-04-19
  9. "Excellent Employers, Great Wages and Benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Clerk in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great wages and benefits if you secure a full-time spot. Lots of opportunity to move to different locations. Easy to pick up shifts or have coworkers cover.

    Cons

    Nepotism, senior staff sometimes bully new staff, lots of module training. Buddy shifts should be checked in from management

    Continue reading
    Alberta Health Services2020-05-28
  10. "AHS"

    4.0
    Current Employee - RN W/Diploma in Fort Saskatchewan, AB

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time

    Pros

    Close to home. Day shifts. Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Long hours. Short staff. Bad management

    Alberta Health Services2020-05-26
Found 600 reviews