Alder Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
55%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Alder CEO Adam Schanz (no image)
Adam Schanz
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Alder is a high energy environment with great people(in 7 reviews)

  • "They have a base plus commission, if you excel in negotiations and customer service you can make a substantial amount of money on a flexible schedule(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No benefits micro management as well is now a downside(in 15 reviews)

  • "My take-away from Alder: Alder is a company that only seeks to get as much money out of people (customers and employees) to give to the sales reps(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great!

      May 5, 2021 - OUTSIDE SALES 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment, competitive pay, and great training.

      Cons

      Tough facing rejection. Have to be strong mentally.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      I love my job

      Apr 15, 2021 - Chief Marketing Officer (CMO) in Orem, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been a part of Alder's growth from start-up to now a large player in the security space. What I have enjoyed the most is having a real impact on the company. My work matters and is visible in the companies growth. I enjoy being in an environment that requires you to learn new skills.

      Cons

      With our explosive growth at times, we are understaffed and playing catch up in scaling the business. We have outgrown our parking lot so you better get to work early if you want a spot.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great learning experience

      Mar 4, 2021 - Direct Sales Representative in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome comradery / ethical & growth oriented culture Unparalleled sales training Overall amazing sales learning experience, which will give you a strong competitive edge in your following career moves. Physically, emotionally, and mentally tough job. All of the above given that the job is what you make out of it.

      Cons

      They hire pretty much anybody. You will probably work with some weirdos or thugs at some point. There is no base pay, and at the same time a tough learning curve, so you could potentially be working your bum off with no pay at some point. Don't believe the hype about becoming a millionaire knocking doors. It just doesn't happen. Take the experience for what it is. Physically, emotionally, and mentally tough job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work for self driven individuals

      Apr 28, 2021 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Income potential, if you're driven by sales this job is for you.

      Cons

      You are 1099'd as an employee, great earning potential but have to find health insurance/benefits outside of the workplace.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      Apr 19, 2021 - Inside Sales Representative in Orem, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, flexible working schedule

      Cons

      Lack of transparency about pay

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Cool People, Bad Organization

      Apr 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are cool and relaxed

      Cons

      Management is very disorganized and doesn't communicate across all departments

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Mar 8, 2021 - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays well if you are good at sales

      Cons

      Really hard to sell alarms

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      TERRIBLE

      Apr 7, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly this company takes you to trips and vacations to turn your eyes away from what is really happening.

      Cons

      You are taught to lie and deceive people into a contract that they know they cant afford for some cheap alarm system.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work.

      Feb 22, 2021 - Call Center 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid pay if you do your job well.

      Cons

      No benefits for now, too bad.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      lot of responsibilities, no pay

      Feb 24, 2021 - Team Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very dynamic and made some friends

      Cons

      As i was "promoted, i was asked to change shifts and oversee a floor. my pay was never raised, with a lot of excuses given as to why a raise would come in time, but I was to take o more and more work until then

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 95 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Alder Job Seekers

    Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Alder? Share Your Experiences

    Alder logo
    or