Cover image for Alder
Logo

Alder

Is this your company?

Alder

Add a Review

Alder Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Oct 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 163 reviews

3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Alder CEO Adam Schanz (no image)
Adam Schanz
93 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "You get to travel to new states and get to meet some great people.(in 11 reviews)
  • "Flexible Schedule and that's it.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Coworkers were cool and nice people and the managing staff was very laid back.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Working here has taught me entrepreneurial spirit and given me the opportunity to perfect my skills and craft in a way I doubt I could find anywhere else.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Alder and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Alder home security

    Sep 27, 2021 - Area Manager in Little Rock, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great sales people and team trains well

    Cons

    Ended up not making what I should have because of their pay model. Read the paperwork. Its kind of a scam.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great for students

    Dec 2, 2019 - Supervisor in Orem, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free food Friday’s, good pay, and great people

    Cons

    It can get repetitive and boring. It lacks in incentives and morale. Sometimes feels like management doesn’t care about their agents.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    They only care about taking money out of their customers

    Jul 1, 2019 - Customer Loyalty Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great people to work with. -Nice giveaways every Friday -Very flexible

    Cons

    -Their policies kept changing and they only cared about the money, never the customer. -Pay is extremely low compared to other companies. -The way they do commissions is quite difficult to understand.

    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Internship experience

    Oct 20, 2021 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Met great people, open workplace culture

    Cons

    management can lack transparency with employees

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Door to Door

    Jan 15, 2022 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Lack of transparency at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Alder Sales Rep

    Aug 25, 2021 - Door to Door Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to travel to new states and get to meet some great people. The company does pay for some trips if you meet requirements.

    Cons

    Management of a certain team really needs to learn better leadership skills. I wouldn’t recommend females for this job because I’ve seen how girls are treated in some teams. Some of the workers use unethical methods to sell the product as well.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Alder

    Jun 17, 2020 - Sales Consultant in Katy, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, values and culture

    Cons

    Not a proper fit for me

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Selling door-to-door

    Dec 16, 2020 - Sales Representative in Orem, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great teams. Great people to work with. Reasonable.

    Cons

    They can try to keep you there forever.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Customer Acquisition

    Apr 9, 2016 - Customer Acquisition 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great family feel with a fun environment. Great pay and advancement opportunities make it a good environment for people to move up the ladder for non-students. For students there is a scholarship and internship program.

    Cons

    There aren't really cons. The company is obviously not a good fit for people with a minimalist work ethic. If you are driven, this is a great fit for you.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Alder Response

    Director of People Operations

    Thank you for this comment. Family is indeed Everything at Alder and we do strive for a fun environment. Thank you for your drive and passion, our Employees are the best part of the company!

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    It's a bad idea. Don't do it. Please. Seriously.

    Nov 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have a big building. There's a soda machine. Crossfit. There are some great people at Alder. The business seems to be doing well so if you wanted to work here for some reason, they should still be around. Oh yeah, and they have those cool Dyson hand dryers in the bathroom. Those things are cool.

    Cons

    Honestly the worst work environment I've ever been in. I heard disturbing racist and sexist comments more than once from leadership. There's no hope to move up because things are so disorganized. They only care about the sales guys. The pay is bad and there are literally no benefits. It's no wonder that people don't stay here long. Solid 1 star reviews makes it look like I just clicked all 1s because I didn't like Alder, but honestly each were considered individually. I would never recommend anyone I cared about work there.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Alder Response

    VP, People

    Thank you so much for speaking up! You have hit the highlights very well. We're proud of our crossfit facility and coaching program that has helped improve the health and well-being of so many of our employees. You're also correct that our business is not only doing well, but thriving. We continue to be one of the fastest growing businesses in Utah. You are also correct on the work environment. We are still considered a "startup" business and as such, we haven't had policies or training regarding Diversity and Inclusion (anti-harrassment) yet. Our people team is working on developing that and we are saddened to hear that we weren't able to address your concerns before you left. If any employee feels as though they've been treated unfairly, we encourage them to contact us at OpenDoor@Alder.com You are also correct that our focus tends to be on Sales as that is what drives the growth of the business. We would clarify on the statement "they only care about the sales guys" as that is simply not true at all. We look to make many improvements in the coming months and years, but we can't do that without the feedback from our employees. Thank you for speaking up.

Viewing 1 - 11 of 11 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Alder Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Alder? Share Your Experiences

Alder logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Alder Photos

+ Add Photo
Alder photo of: Corporate Office
Alder photo of: We live Alder Value: "Family is Everything" as we do team building activities.
Alder photo of: We live Alder Value: "Be Ever the Wiser" as we provide ongoing Leadership Development
Alder photo of: We live Alder Value: "Only Your Best" as we prepare to head out for Summer Sales
Alder photo of: Halloween 2017
Alder photo of: We like to keep ourselves "grounded" at Alder
Alder photo of: Team Fun!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist