KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Alder

Is this your company?

Alder

Add a Review

Alder Employee Reviews about "no benefits"

Updated Jun 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 133 reviews

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Alder CEO Adam Schanz (no image)
Adam Schanz
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Alder is a high energy environment with great people(in 7 reviews)

  • "They have a base plus commission, if you excel in negotiations and customer service you can make a substantial amount of money on a flexible schedule(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No benefits micro management as well is now a downside(in 15 reviews)

  • "My take-away from Alder: Alder is a company that only seeks to get as much money out of people (customers and employees) to give to the sales reps(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Alder and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "no benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Welcome to the Jungle

      Jun 17, 2020 - Creative Director in Orem, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Alder is not for people who need to be told what to do at all times. Working here has taught me entrepreneurial spirit and given me the opportunity to perfect my skills and craft in a way I doubt I could find anywhere else.

      Cons

      Don't expect a lot of help. No benefits.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      My biggest regret

      Jun 3, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly compared to every other alarm company they’re at the bottom of every category

      Cons

      Pay was never on time, refused to pay, no benefits, constantly having to rebrand after being sued.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible company with slimy practices and terrible management and constant lies

      Jan 27, 2020 - Customer Loyalty Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free lunch on Friday, flexible hours

      Cons

      If I could give zero stars I would. Constant lies about pay and commission. Horrible Management that doesn't keep their promises. Executives are only worries about the sales and lie to customers. Doesn't care about employees and is only money driven. Shady business practices. I despise this company. No benefits whatsoever. No opportunity for advancement.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      There's better opportunities

      Dec 16, 2019 - Inside Sales Representative in Orem, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management was upfront and super cool Decent culture Flexible schedule

      Cons

      Product is mediocre No benefits or insurance Compensation isn't the best

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Inside Sales Rep

      Nov 23, 2019 - Inside Sales in Orem, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Schedule Weekly Pay Residual Day One Ability to sell to non qualifying credit accounts and renters

      Cons

      Not enough leads daily Hard to progress in skills. Outbound to Inbound NO BENEFITS

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Developers Seem Undervalued

      Sep 28, 2019 - Developer in Orem, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of autonomy. Friendly and helpful coworkers.

      Cons

      Developers don't seem to be valued - low pay and no benefits. The CTO has an anger problem - he has no problem cussing out employees for small mistakes.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Scheduling specialist

      Jun 12, 2018 - Scheduling Coordinator in Orem, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment nice culture extremely flexible with scheduling if you are a student.

      Cons

      No benefits micro management as well is now a downside

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Know what you're in for before you join!

      Apr 7, 2018 - Smart Home Consultant in New Haven, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cool boss and co workers, good opportunity for those with sales experience.

      Cons

      No benefits, unpaid training, base + commission NOT offered to anyone under 40 hours, sent to ghetto areas on my first day by myself! No shadowing company veterans until my second week, and even that was only one time.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It is a fun, challenging, and fulfilling career opportunity.

      Nov 19, 2017 - Customer Service Supervisor in Provo, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of growth happening so promotional opportunities are always available and a career option with the company is a very big possibility. There are willing to work with you and your situations in whatever way you need in order for you to be there for yourself and your family.

      Cons

      There are no benefits, though they are working very hard on implementing them. Currently no PTO though again they are working on implementing it.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Alder Response

      VP, People

      Thank you for your positive comments. You have mentioned what is probably one of our biggest value propositions to our employees, the opportunity to lead and step up to the plate. That is one of the most fun and engaging components of working for a rapidly growing company. Our people team is working diligently on an employee handbook which includes a PTO proposal. Thank you for your continued commitment to Alder!

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unless you're applying for a sales position, don't even consider it.

      Nov 15, 2017 - Technical Support Representative in Orem, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Crossfit gym on premise -Flexible M-S Hours -Sundays not required -Job requires little effort -Great place to work if you are going into a sales position (They will do everything they can to take care of you if you get them sales)

      Cons

      -Terrible Treatment of Employees- Supervisors and Lower Managers genuinely care for their employees, but there are constant threats from upper management that if we do something wrong, they will fire us right then and there, even though most of the time it's something we weren't trained for. Lunch breaks are only 15 minutes unless you're working 7+ hours a day. Training is a joke. Pays less compared to other alarm companies in the area. No benefits. -Dishonesty and Hypocrisy from Upper Management- Many of my coworkers were promised a certain pay, but were paid less than originally promised and it took constant pestering to the management to get any sort of compensation. We were promised prizes (Movie tickets, Alder Swag, Speakers, etc...) and they were hardly ever delivered. Many of the ideas from upper management (Arrangement of the desks, procedures we follow to assist customers, etc...) hardly ever actually work. They used to have nice meals every Friday, but now they hardly ever provide them, and when they do, it's not very good. Many times when tasks are not done right by agents, the upper management assigns them to a smaller group of more qualified agents rather than actually teaching their agents to do it correctly. -Dishonesty of the Company towards the Customers- I can't tell you how many times I've had a customer who never should've been sold one of our security systems has been bound to a 5 year contract just so the sales representative could make money. Many times the representatives will lie to the customer stating that they are with their current alarm company and are upgrading their system, and then sign them up with Alder. Alder claims that it is legal within the industry and that basically every company does it, but never stops to question if it is ethical.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Alder Response

      VP, People

      Thank you for speaking up! One of the best reasons we invest in Glassdoor at Alder is for the ability it provides our employees to speak up in a way with candor when perhaps they might have felt like their concerns weren't addressed while they were working for us. Regarding your pros: We take full accountability for not making it clear to you that your job here took great effort. Whatever message or impression we gave you that it didn't, we take that as a full failure on our part to have not made that message more clear. By and large, our employees here take great pride in the work that they do as one of the biggest value propositions we offer is the opportunity to lead with passion, tenacity and great engagement. We are so sorry that we failed to inspire that vision within you. Regarding your Cons: We are improving our training. We regret that you weren't able to share your ideas or get some of your suggestions implemented. We are actively recruiting for a Training Lead to build and facilitate our training program. It is unfortunate that we weren't able to tap into your ideas and suggestions sooner. Regarding your pay, if you feel that you were not paid correctly, we encourage you to contact OpenDoor@Alder.com so that we may look into this issue. Thank you also for speaking up about our sales practices. A few of our core values include, "Make them Remember", "People are our Priority" and "Family is Everything". When we approach customers and present them a value proposition that will better their lives and provide protection for them, we do this with these values in mind. We take any claims of deceptive sales practices, or unethical behavior very seriously. We again encourage you to speak up at OpenDoor@Alder.com if you are aware of any of these. It's unfortunate for both parties that our relationship ended the way it did. We hope at the end of the day we were at least able to help you on your life journey and help build your character through learning valuable life lessons. Please trust that we will take your feedback and do what we need to improve. For that, we thank you for your candor and speaking out.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Alder Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Alder? Share Your Experiences

    or