KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Aldo

Is this your company?

Aldo

Add a Review

Aldo Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,895 of over 1,978 reviews

3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Aldo Chief Executive Officer David Bensadoun
David Bensadoun
405 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great discount, room for growth, good pay, supportive management(in 127 reviews)

  • "50% Discount regular price items(in 112 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "can be long hours depending on department(in 75 reviews)

  • "Too focused on sales goals and numbers(in 75 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Aldo and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Aldo

      Oct 20, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment and team atmosphere.

      Cons

      Not a lot of flexibility for those that have busy schedules.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Aldo Cashier Experience

      Aug 31, 2021 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work hours and work scheduling was always great. The store was committed to helping out customers as needed. The quality of the products were excellent and I still own various shoes, bags and accessories from the store still in great condition. The employee discount was amazing because it was half off the original price.

      Cons

      This is probably not relevant anymore but as we moved into the new storefront, there were a handful of days that our system would shut down and we weren't able to accept card purchases which led to stressful and demanding shifts. Too often I was also working as a sales associate due to having too few sales associates on schedule but I wasn't allowed to mark down my sales because it wasn't my actual position. The employee discount may be half off the original price however, they deduct the full price from your monthly discount amount which was roughly $500, so if I bought $500 worth of items and only paid $250, then I wouldn't be able to use my discount till the following month.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      No employee appreciation or gratitude for hard work

      Jul 30, 2021 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great discount on goods, even though the prices are too high to start. the quality has gone down over the last 6 years and the prices are going up. Just trying to stay in business.

      Cons

      Corporate management was completely rude. In 2019 this company went through a large change to "restructure" when in fact they let go the managers that had integrity, and were with the company for a decade. they were just trying to cut large saleries, all the new District and regional managers were promoted, alot of them dont know what theyre doing and are on power trips. I was told several times it didnt matter how well my numbers were or how well my store did, i always needed to cut hours and no pay raises were ever given, infact all bonuses were cut for store managers and we were manipulated to work upwards of 60 hour weeks to keep our jobs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Eh

      Oct 21, 2021 - Stock Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The discounts was pretty good

      Cons

      Assistant managers were not good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Mostly Relaxed

      Oct 6, 2021 - Sales Lead/Key Holder in Skokie, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a relaxed working environment/laid back culture and mostly young people (20's - early 30's)

      Cons

      It can be hard to move up in leadership

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great for short time, not the best long term option

      Oct 7, 2021 - Store Manager in Arlington, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -50% off discount -fun environment -fashion forward

      Cons

      - as a SM, doesn't leave a lot of time for personal day (especially weekends) -salary isn't sufficient in metro areas -cap on bonus is too low in comparison to what is brought in with sales.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Oct 3, 2021 - Sales Lead in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is an easy job and fun working with customers and employees.

      Cons

      Customers are not always happy with the quality.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Ok Job

      Sep 24, 2021 - Key Holder in Skokie, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You receive people skills and perfect your multitasking skills.

      Cons

      Only store managers and assist managers get bonuses. Which is extremely unfortunate because they are not the only people who help gain the bonus.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Dead End Growth

      Jul 30, 2021 - Stock Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was able to work with some great people in different locations across Michigan, and California during my time.

      Cons

      Very limited growth and many empty promises. Store Managers, District Managers, Regional Managers have mentioned they would assist me with my growth and development. I've started as Stock Coordinator and moved through Keyholder and Assistant Store Manager positions but was never taken seriously. I ended up opting to move back into a full-time Stock Coordinator position to protect my mental health from the toxicity of fellow managers. I've found myself training new hires and Store Managers on my own. I've been moved around through different locations because of my skin color and appearance. I was thought to be one ethnicity and moved to "connect with the client" in a different location. I was often overlooked. In my 5 years of working at Aldo, I've had a total of 11 different Store Managers, 3 different District Managers, and 3 different Regional Managers. I've been harrassed by a Regional Manager and hit on by a District Manager.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great starter job, but can get very political

      Oct 12, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling Not a hard job

      Cons

      Management can be a little bit political.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,895 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Aldo Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Aldo? Share Your Experiences

    or