Alexander's Steakhouse Reviews | Glassdoor

Alexander's Steakhouse Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
Chanile Chang
1 Ratings
  1. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alexander's Steakhouse full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High quality service and food

    Cons

    Competitive labor market in the Bay Area

    Alexander's Steakhouse2019-04-10
  2. "A Career Enhancing Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

      I worked at Alexander's Steakhouse full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Culinary Concepts, High Standards, Independence

      Cons

      Pay Scale not competitive with similar concepts

      Alexander's Steakhouse2019-02-21
    • "Great opportunity - could have used better oversight"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Alexander's Steakhouse full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great opportunities to learn and exposure to incredible ingredients

      Cons

      Upper management changes their minds often about certain issues. sometimes too happy with the status quo

      Advice to Management

      Hire talented and experienced people when necessary instead of promoting from within event though candidates are not prepared.

      Alexander's Steakhouse2019-02-13
    • "Amazing restaurants!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Alexander's Steakhouse full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Access to amazing quality products, world class wine list, world class bar programs

      Cons

      Hard to hire staff in the bay area labor market, but low turnover makes it ok

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work!

      Alexander's Steakhouse2018-11-14
    • "Ehh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Alexander's Steakhouse part-time

      Pros

      Great money and routine customers

      Cons

      Terrible management and summer hours are slow

      Alexander's Steakhouse2017-12-28
    • "Runner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Alexander's Steakhouse full-time

      Pros

      Great fun staff, learning new skill sets is encouraged.

      Cons

      High volume formal service is difficult

      Alexander's Steakhouse2017-12-02
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Alexander's Steakhouse full-time

      Pros

      An education in Food, Wine, Liquor, Hospitality and Steps of Service. Make good money.

      Cons

      High expectations of you. Snooty guests.

      Advice to Management

      Treat all staff equally.

      Alexander's Steakhouse2017-08-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sous"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Alexander's Steakhouse full-time

        Pros

        friendly, nice, loving, great product, accommodating

        Cons

        unprofessional and unorganized, impatient, moves too fast, wont listen at times

        Alexander's Steakhouse2017-07-08
      • "Executive Sous Chef"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Executive Sous Chef 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Alexander's Steakhouse full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        I had the pleasure to work with some the best ingredients that I have the pleasure of working with and the FOH & BOH staff is some of the best around

        Cons

        Long hours, but that is just part of being management. Sometimes there can be shortage of qualified team memebers, to uphold our standards, so at times there is a shortage of staff

        Advice to Management

        To always strive for excellence and push for the best. Great management team in place and always willing to work as hard as possible

        Alexander's Steakhouse2017-01-24
      • Helpful (1)

        "A Culinary Art Experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Hostess/Barista/Food Runner in Cupertino, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Alexander's Steakhouse part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Training, management invests in their employees knowledge - Management team is very professional and supportive, most back office "upstairs" management moved up from front/back of house. - Staff are inviting, fun and energetic. Weekly outings occur: birthday celebrations, basketball tournaments, BBQ's and even camping trips since i've been with the company. -Family meal is superb. Fresh dessert is made daily from...

        Show More

        Cons

        - Expectation, management expects you to know information outside of your job description. - Management stresses when our investors or regional managers step through the front door although everything is always fine.

        Advice to Management

        Be playful and personable!

        Alexander's Steakhouse2016-06-17
      Found 14 reviews