Alfresco Software Reviews | Glassdoor

Alfresco Software Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
66%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Alfresco Software CEO Bernadette Nixon
Bernadette Nixon
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Alfresco is experiencing some growing pains, as most companies do at this stage in their development(in 7 reviews)

  • "A lot of new management hiring their friends and not giving opportunity to old employees to be promoted(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alfresco Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Alfresco is a great organization. Between the culture, the leadership and the excitement we encounter every day, this is a great place to be.

    Cons

    No big negatives at this time

    Continue reading
    Alfresco Software2019-06-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Positive Onboarding Experience, Great People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alfresco Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very excited to recently start my Alfresco career. Onboarding was organized, and I was able to meet with my peers directly in order to learn how business is conducted. Everyone is very friendly and accommodating to all of my questions. Have run into enthusiasm at every turn. Solid customer success leadership in the company who "gets it" when it comes to what we need to do to achieve scale and dominate our space. Have the freedom to find my path, and finding that my input is valued and sought after immediately. Benefits are fantastic. If you see a job posting that suits you here, do not hesitate!

    Cons

    Have not seen any downsides.

    Alfresco Software2019-02-01
  3. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alfresco Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Relaxed work environment and culture.

    Cons

    Very difficult product to sell.

    Alfresco Software2019-05-15
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Ship without a rudder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alfresco Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People for the most part, Great work/life balance, benefits

    Cons

    No leadership, lots of corporate politics, unless you are in sales you are of no importance, no communication, constant turmoil (layoffs, leadership changes, changes to company policies)

    Continue reading
    Alfresco Software2018-10-28

    Alfresco Software Response

    November 9, 2018Global Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Alfresco has has definitely been through a transition the last few months including the appointment of a new CEO and many members of the leadership team. That leadership team is, above all else, driven by the values of open communication and transparency and only through regular feedback will we be able to address all concerns – so despite being negative we truly do appreciate this feedback. We have implemented several new communication channels from the CEO weekly newsletters to monthly all hands calls, employee survey and departmental activities. We are also focused on recognition and reward strategies across the whole company and for the last few months we have publicly announced rewards and have recognized team members across all departments. We can only continue to improve with open and honest feedback so we encourage you to contact a member of the leadership team or Bernadette herself directly to discuss, in confidence, your feedback

    Continue reading
  5. "On the upswing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hillsborough, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alfresco Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New owner new CEO who gets the business. They should do well

    Cons

    They will go through some transition as companies do when they get acquired, but a great market opportunity ahead.

    Continue reading
    Alfresco Software2018-10-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alfresco Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed office environment and fantastic company culture. The Atlanta office has great events and camaraderie. I highly recommend Alfresco as a fun place to work

    Cons

    Small company, not as much brand recognition

    Alfresco Software2018-02-08
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Like most jobs, it is what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alfresco Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked in support for almost 6 years. So, I really want to give an honest and very fair opinion of what it's like to work here. From my perspective: Alfresco is customer oriented but also employee oriented. They also have made big strides in how they treat their partners. Most departments can work from home. Even those where you generally have to come in most days, you still get an opportunity to work from home one day a week. I live in Colorado (office is in Atlanta) so I got to work from home nearly 100% of the time though I was asked to come to the home office for a week out of the quarter (most quarters). Alfresco is full of bright and laid back people. You will certainly get a lot of help to do your job especially if you can show you are applying yourself and care about the quality of your work. Somehow I managed to get a trip with my wife to Kuaui a couple of years ago. Everything was top notch. We did not use bleeding edge technology necessarily but you do get the chance to learn about a lot of different tech. Not only are senior engineers very knowledgeable but so are the customers. You will learn a lot very quickly if you simply pay attention. My manager had high standards and pushed us a good bit but I found that be a positive. There is a lot of opportunity to move into different roles in the company if you find one area is not your favorite. The benefits are good but not nearly as good as they once were but I think this is commonplace for most businesses now in the U.S. The pay is very good compared to other support jobs. If you are a producer, you will be rewarded and they will work hard to keep you. I can't help but think a lot of the complaints are coming from people who have come to Alfresco and not given their all but that's just a guess. Honestly, if I wasn't going to where I am, I would stay here at Alfresco. They've treated me very well and I've made friends here that I will know forever. The CEO is very fair, open and honest. If there is something everyone needs to know, he is very much willing to share that info with you. Doug is also very dedicated to Alfresco and gives it his all.

    Cons

    The product is in the ECM space. It competes with Sharepoint, Documentum and a few others. I'll be honest, Alfresco and Activiti are not very sexy. That's not always a bad thing. Though it is a product of necessity these days, I hear from sales that it can be difficult to sell. You must be technically sound to do the support work here but be aware that most of the job is customer service rather than technical work, so be prepared for that. When your customer fills out a survey based on the service they've received, that score stays attached to your name regardless of whether it was engineering's, marketing, support or product management's fault. That can be a little frustrating at times especially when dealing with those who have unreasonable expectations but it will also help you up your soft skills game. You almost have to have the mindset of extreme ownership. But, that will at least help you should you decide to change roles and move away from support. Alfresco is still hoping to one day go public. As such, there are corporate standards that have to be put in place and you have to bear that in mind. It's not a startup but some days it still does have that startup feel that attracted me initially.

    Continue reading
    Alfresco Software2017-11-09
  8. "Punching above its weight: disrupting the incumbents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alfresco Software full-time

    Pros

    No big company nonsense, great people, opportunity to make a difference

    Cons

    Early morning meetings with the UK

    Continue reading
    Alfresco Software2017-10-16
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alfresco Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Snacks in the break room, nice vacation accrual, a few capable folks in various roles, all wearing 17 hats. Most people not in the sales organization are nice.

    Cons

    Turnover. I lost count of how many managers I had over the space of a year. The entire team turned over at least once as well. Nothing sparks confidence for customers like having a new rep every 6-12 months. Rigid license structure (subscription only, regardless of deal size or wishes of the customer) and people having too many job functions means it is hard to get things done in a timely manner (seriously - all these posts about turnover are 100% accurate). I think the longest tenured sales person in the Americas is 2 years.

    Continue reading
    Alfresco Software2017-10-17
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Abandoned Ship Just In Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alfresco Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with some pretty cool software and work with some really smart people. You'll also get the opportunity to travel internationally. Thanks for the trip to Barcelona!

    Cons

    Those really smart people probably won't be there 6 months after you start. I've never worked at a company that had as much turnover as Alfresco. And the new sales regime that was brought in to "turn things around" are making decisions to barely keep their own jobs afloat.

    Continue reading
    Alfresco Software2017-06-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 38 reviews