Algenol Biofuels Reviews | Glassdoor

Algenol Biofuels Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Algenol Biofuels CEO Edward Legere
Edward Legere
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Algenol will either explode in a good way or implode in a bad way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Algenol Biofuels full-time

    Pros

    A rare biology, specifically algae, based company that could be a disruptor under the right circumstances.

    Cons

    Culture (ironically in many senses of the word, both with it's people and product) can be inconsistent and unreliable. Lack of drive, organization, prioritization, and revenue.

    Continue reading
    Algenol Biofuels2017-10-24
  2. "A good exciting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Algenol Biofuels

    Pros

    Management was good and fair. The direction was clear, and organization was very efficient. We got a lot done during my time at the company. Very innovative technology.

    Cons

    It's tough to compete with low oil price. The location (Fort Myers, FL) is a bit boring. The surrounding area is not that diverse.

    Continue reading
    Algenol Biofuels2016-09-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Don't believe everything you read online"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Algenol Biofuels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Algenol employs intelligent people from all over the world with the education, experience and attitude to help us on our journey to success. The salary is competitive and the benefits are quite generous. We are passionate about the work we do. Our technology is good for the environment, good for society and good business. We enjoy living and working in a place most people only get to visit on vacation.

    Cons

    Developing new technology and taking it from R&D to commercialization takes time. Working at Algenol requires patience, dedication and effort. If you need instant gratification or an easy ride, biotechnology may be the wrong field of work for you. Yes, we are a start-up and rely on funding from investors, but we have partners committed to our success. Sure, we have had some management and personnel issues. Every growing company does. Most of these could have been resolved through mature, rational communication.

    Continue reading
    Algenol Biofuels2016-08-12
  4. Helpful (7)

    "tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Algenol Biofuels

    Pros

    Algenol is located in florida. I like to fish.

    Cons

    Everything else. This is a great part time or short term job if you would like to eventually work in a hotel or on a golf course in Florida. Otherwise, run as fast as you can. We celebrated out "10 year anniversary" and have yet to make or produce anything. That may be a record somewhere. If it is not I overestimate the intellect of the investor class.

    Continue reading
    Algenol Biofuels2016-08-23
  5. Helpful (10)

    "TOXIC ENVIRONMENT BEWARE!!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Algenol Biofuels

    Pros

    This company does not have pros at all.

    Cons

    There are so many cons, I could write a book about this place...

    Continue reading
    Algenol Biofuels2016-07-29
  6. Helpful (7)

    "RUN! Ship is sinking!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technician in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Algenol Biofuels for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They paid us on time.

    Cons

    There are to many cons to report. The biggest con would be managment. I am surprised most of them have made it anywhere in life. The other bid Con would be that the company is always about ready to run out of capital. Most of the employees are all out to get each other. Just not a health work environment. The best way to describe Algenol's work environment would be "Toxic".

    Continue reading
    Algenol Biofuels2016-07-22
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Was promising, NOT ANYMORE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Algenol Biofuels full-time

    Pros

    Any pro's this place had are now all in the past. Although it might be good lab experience for someone getting started.

    Cons

    Always wondering if you'll show up to work and the place will be shut down! Awful management, from the top to the bottom. Lots of talk with no substance. Definitely some good people here, but some that will gladly push you in front of a bus to save themselves (mostly low to mid management.)

    Continue reading
    Algenol Biofuels2016-05-22
  8. "intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Algenol Biofuels

    Pros

    nice work environment, great labs

    Cons

    cross department communication needs improvment

    Algenol Biofuels2016-02-07
  9. Helpful (5)

    "A start-up can be exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Algenol Biofuels for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great employees - from literally all over the world. Very close friendships could be made.very easily. The CEO is now gone - maybe it's better? A start-up can be a lot of fun and exciting.

    Cons

    The Executive Management Team found it difficult to speak up about ANYthing. The IT Department has created a culture of paranoia that verges on the ridiculous.

    Continue reading
    Algenol Biofuels2016-02-23
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Horrible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Algenol Biofuels

    Pros

    There are a few talented people working on interesting projects

    Cons

    Company culture is like that of a middle school - nonstop pointless drama, gossip, and mudslinging. This ranges from the always-present hushed and excited smack-talking in the hallways to never-ending aggressive trans-atlantic email exchanges between Florida and Berlin. People tend to gang up on the few who make actual progress - not just through blatant social exclusion, but also through actively hindering their progress by hiding information and impeding access to resources.

    Algenol Biofuels2016-01-12
Found 28 reviews