Algolia Reviews

Updated May 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Algolia Chief Executive Officer and Board Member Bernadette Nixon (no image)
Bernadette Nixon
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company cares about great people(in 7 reviews)

  • "Huge focus on work/life balance which comes from the top down - working too late or on weekends is discouraged(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "some growing pains as the org is experiencing hyper growth(in 6 reviews)

  • "Nothing out of the ordinary for a hyper growth startup - some disorganisation but nothing out of the ordinary(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product, great people and new CEO with experience and expertise

      Cons

      Growing fast and going through the expected/usual growing pains

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Algolia Response

      Thank you for the kind words and feedback. We couldn’t agree more that our company values are a huge attraction and what makes Algolia is a great place to work! This growth stage comes with many exciting challenges, including introducing new employees into an already established culture and appropriately staffing resources to ensure execution. This quarter, Algolia launched an immersive new hire onboarding program, redesigned with our culture and values in mind. The output of this redesign is an employee base, old and new, that understands what makes us Algolians. Additionally, we have begun to build a team wholly dedicated to ensuring every Algolian is cared for. There is no denying that burnout is real, and we will continue to find ways to help employees balance work & life. We are excited to share more about our plans internally and excited to hear more of your feedback! -Kristie Rodenbush, Chief People Officer

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fast paced work environment with start up mentally and great potential

      May 4, 2021 - Executive Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Currently we are moving at a faster pace than ever before. I love our trajectory and am excited about whats to come. The new exec team is making a huge impact, which is obvious in the numbers. Most importantly, I love my boss and my team.

      Cons

      We are moving fast and sometimes the teams are moving in slightly different directions. Seems like this is slowly getting better with the roll out of our new company vision, fingers crossed that momentum continues. Covid made aligning on our values even harder but again we are moving in a better direction.

      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fast Growing Company with a Bright Future

      Apr 9, 2021 - Director of Program Management in Santa Fe, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Algolia is growing exponentially and is looking for top notch professionals to join the team. There is a strong culture of mutual respect, radical candor and team effort that creates a strong foundation from which all employees can grow. The level of talent and passion found throughout the organization is astounding.

      Cons

      Like most fast growing companies, there are pains that come with stretching and building new "muscles" but for those that thrive and enjoy collaborating on the big picture, this is the place to be.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Perfectly poised for the next wave of software (Microservice APIs)

      Mar 24, 2021 - Account Executive Mid-Market in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Huge organizational alignment around headless commerce and microservice-based approach (usage based pricing, great dev tools, strong tech offering) - Strong exec team who just hit their stride, new cast of top-level execs hired over the last year have driven a huge amount of organizational improvement and strategic direction -Great existing sales team, super helpful, strong performers -Wide market and big opportunity -Real case studies - clients actually benefit immensely from the product

      Cons

      Standard hypergrowth pains that come with momentum and growing up, but most importantly the exec team is well aligned, communicative, and they care about solving problems (and do, quickly!)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      New hire

      Mar 24, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is already a difficult task to onboard someone onto a company, but it is even harder in the middle of a pandemic. My experience with the team has been nothing short of amazing. Everyone has been incredibly helpful and has made sure I am set up for success in my new role.

      Cons

      None at all. Go and apply now!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Hard Work Pays Off

      Mar 2, 2021 - Revenue Team Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The company truly cares about the growth of individuals - There is MASSIVE room for growth - Fair pay, benefits, generous WFH stipend, swag, company mental health days

      Cons

      - The company is launching into hyper growth, those who can't keep up will get left behind - Sales leadership not always aligned

      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Along for the ride

      Mar 24, 2021 - Business Development in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Caring colleagues, exciting roadmap, lofty goals, amazing product

      Cons

      Plane being built in midair, tenuous support from management, success/growth opportunities questionable at best

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Dec 30, 2020 - Revenue Team 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Terrific leadership with a solid vision.

      Cons

      The go to market strategy used to be a little unclear but they are doing a good job at narrowing in on this and making it easier to sell our products.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Join at your own risk

      Feb 27, 2021 - BDR 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      remote work environment company provided cell phone

      Cons

      the company culture is toxic

      4 people found this review helpful

      Algolia Response

      It's unfortunate to see you found the culture to be toxic and left in less than a year. We have a new CEO, exec team and have had some stellar growth & recognition lately. If you'd like to reach out to me to give me more context on your concerns, I would very much like to hear it. Either way, I wish you luck in your future ventures. -Kristie Rodenbush, Chief People Officer.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent company with questionable market

      Feb 8, 2021 - Sales in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people, good working environment

      Cons

      Very difficult to get market share so company not in hyper growth

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 92 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Algolia Job Seekers

    Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    Mid Market Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Algolia? Share Your Experiences

    Algolia logo
    or