Alice & Olivia Sales Associate - Stylist Reviews | Glassdoor

Alice & Olivia Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Alice & Olivia Chief executive Stacey Bendet (no image)
Stacey Bendet
63 Ratings
  1. "I’ve found my lifelong career with a+o"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve worked in retail my entire working life, but I never imagined I could find a place where I would be inspired, motivated, and challenged every single day, until I came across alice + olivia. I’ve done everything from the big department stores to the tiny local boutiques to other high-end brand names, and a+o has the most incredible working environment I’ve ever seen. On a store level, teamwork is key and you’re surrounded by people who constantly challenge you in a motivational way to improve yourself and your business. On a corporate level, executives are compassionate and empathetic. They’re accessible and encouraging, and to the absolute top, I know I could reach out to anyone and receive a warm response. No one is “too good” to help someone else, and no one’s opinion is “too small” to take into account. Internal growth is also heavily encouraged and supported, and you will never be handed a job or a task and set up for failure. Your superiors will ensure that you’re juggling your responsibilities successfully before throwing in another ball. Our selling culture is one of our many incredible assets, but our greatest asset is our people. This company has found the best of the best in the retail world, and it’s nothing short of magical to work with people like that every day.

    Cons

    No job is perfect. There will always be tough days, especially in a customer-facing industry like retail. That being said, at a+o, those tough days are a rarity, and I am confident in the people I work with to remind me of all the good days that make it worth it.

    Alice & Olivia2020-01-10
  2. "Passionate leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working alongside powerful women that you learn from each and everyday to be your own entrepreneur and teach that to your team

    Cons

    There are not many locations which makes growth a little more difficult if you are not willing to move markets. This position is also an everyday job and requires lots of dedication

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2020-01-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The toxicity brings people together.

    Cons

    By far the worst company I’ve ever worked for. The definition of a living nightmare. Run while you can... I’m not here to say that I’ve worked at a bunch of amazing companies, because I haven’t, but boy does this one take the cake. I don’t really even know where to begin. I guess I’ll start with the term “Micromanaging” which since working at Alice + Olivia has completely redefined itself. Management at A+O like to think they pride themselves on not “micromanaging” their staff when it’s quite the opposite. They have a log for just about everything you do. They want you to log who you reached out to, how you reached out to them (text, phone call, e-mail, postcard, etc) did they answer, if so what did they say, did they then come in to the store, if so how much did they spend... it goes on. Then you’re graded on how many postcards you’ve sent weekly, as if thats driving business or sales? I’m shocked I haven’t personally received a restraining order from what they consider “client outreach.” Its practically stalking and harassment. I’m surprised they haven’t made us all log how many bathroom breaks we’ve taken...I’m sure it’ll go into effect soon enough. Next up on the list I’d say is professionalism. I have never worked with such immature and unprofessional individuals in my entire career, not even high school. And this goes for the corporate employees, not the people just working in stores. It’s like everyone is in a high school popularity contest from the store managers, to the district managers, to training managers, and even as high up as directors of retail and CEO’s. It’s all a cut throat game of who can screw who over the fastest to get to the top. As an assistant manager I didn’t even feel comfortable telling my district manager anything because I knew it would turn into gossip between the whole company. Unfortunately this goes the same with the director and CEO of the company as well. All they do is talk about other managers, stores, and employees to other managers, stores, and employees. It’s disgusting. I’ve personally had the director of retail call me to ask about what was going on in a certain store that wasn’t performing and she heavily questioned me on each associate basically wanting me to gossip. Not to mention the level of favoritism is embarrassing. They don’t even try to hide the fact that some managers are clearly favored over others. Employees with the same exact position are paid completely different salaries depending on how much they’re “liked” in the company and people are given unwarranted promotions based off their popularity. They preach the quote “people promote themselves!” to defend the fact that the person blatantly doesn’t deserve the promotion in the slightest. There are even conference calls where managers are asked to speak about their fellow staff members and their “strengths and weaknesses” which then the entire company is listening to and then repeats everything that was said about certain individuals. I use to laugh it off by saying they’re just a bunch of girls who were losers in high school and were given some power and are now using that power for their own sick pleasure, but you can only laugh it off for so long. Don’t worry, they make it crystal clean when you’re not a favorite or a “cool kid” and then you feel like you’re right back in high school sitting alone in the cafeteria... except you’re at work and in you’re early 30’s. My third and last point is this company has absolutely zero appreciation or acknowledgment for their employees. They work their staff members to the bone, harass them weekly with sales goals, client business, events, conference calls, etc. and even when you have an incredible month its never good enough. They believe in write ups and will write you up even if you’ve made you’re sales goal for the month but did not achieve 3/6 KPI’s. I’ve seen some of the best employees who have worked with the company for 5+ years quit and they don’t even bat an eye. That’s because they don’t invest in their employees and could care less if they quit because they’ve already worked them to the absolute bone and they know that have zero intentions on ever promoting them. Only favorited employees are ever given an opportunity to be promoted and it’s never based off performance or merit. They make this job so stressful it’s as if you’re a surgeon instead of just selling cute clothes. The best part about all of this is that the director of the company will read this bad review, along with the hundreds of other bad reviews, and say “well that person just didn’t believe in what we stand for as a company.” Talk about delusional? Don’t you think if 100 people are saying the same exact thing there might be some truth to it? And instead of taking a step back and realizing that your turnover rate is so sky high that every single store has multiple positions available, you convince yourself that its not you and it’s all of us. I hope this company realizes that who they have on their upper management teams are what their ultimate downfall will be. They are slowly but surely demolishing this company. The company culture is so toxic I don’t know how I stayed as long as I did, and when I left for my new company I fully realized how sick it all was. They brainwash you into thinking the verbal and mental abuse is normal. Well it’s not. There is zero reason for a company to run like this. They preach “People work for people.” I’ll have nightmares about this place for the rest of my life.

    Alice & Olivia2020-01-08
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    uniform is provided for staff

    Cons

    A lot of pressure to exceed your goal

    Alice & Olivia2019-11-01
  5. "Exciting yet Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training & exposure to corporate team but no growth opportunity

    Cons

    Very selective & once hired you are put under a lot of pressure

    Alice & Olivia2019-09-09
  6. "Challenging but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Corporate is based in NY so you have exposure. Everyone in the company supports to make the business successful.

    Cons

    Expectations are high but I guess that’s why they are successful.

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2019-08-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Don’t do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clothing allowance, some lovely people

    Cons

    Run screaming if you are offered a job at corporate HQ. This company is run by a shrill brat who presumably never had to work another job, has never had to be nice to anyone, and has lived her entire 42 years in a bubble of her own creation. Imagine if Trump was a fashion designer who loved yoga... that’s who we’re talking about here. Erratic, unpredictable, rude, belittling all the staff, firing people with no good reason, creating a constant climate of fear. And obsessed with the vanity project that is her social media account (instagram, which paints an entirely inaccurate, upside-down idea of the person she really is). Honestly this is the worst job you will ever have. Don’t do it!

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2019-09-10
  8. "Entrepreneurial culture & strong leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    President is a strong leader who places trust in employees. Excellent development opportunities. Collaborative environment & smart entrepreneurial people.

    Cons

    Documentation of operational processes would help streamline certain team functions. However, am seeing progress being made here.

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2019-08-06
  9. "Chicago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Alice and Olivia is the most motivating company I have ever worked for. I have worked in different types of retail for 11 years (in management roles) and I have never felt more at home. Most companies say they will promote from within, then go with an outside hire. That never happens at Alice and Olivia. We take the time to develop you and give you tools/opportunities/trust to get you promoted. I have worked for the company for only 6 months and have already had so many opportunities to grow and am on track for a promotion. The culture is also fantastic- very positive and inclusive. You really feel like you make a difference, every day. No big corporate structure with lots of red tape. The founder, Stacey, is such a great role model for women and she ensures that those same attributes can be found in all the management roles within the company, worldwide. Work for Alice and Olivia and you will find friends and mentors alike!

    Cons

    Employees have a no-returns policy on clothing. So must try everything on before you buy it or order it.

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2019-08-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "When you’re passionate about what you do, it doesn’t feel like work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’ve never felt more invested in and inspired in my life. I’ve found a home and a career! This isn’t a stepping stone for me; not a temporary place until I find something better. I know there are a lot of negative reviews, but we tend to complain first before we give praise... Yelp, anyone? I started out as an ASM 3 years ago, and after 2 years, I was promoted SM. I learned so much (and am still learning) about sales, marketing, running a business, developing a team, developing myself, accountability, Human Resources, operations, trainings, visual standards, event planning, and the list goes on! I appreciate that this company values your thoughts and opinions on anything from what can make the work atmosphere better to what we could have done better with the buy. This company is all about feedback and providing you with a defined career path! I’m excited for the next 12 months of my own career path, and the tools, resources, and opportunities that have been given to me have been crucial to where I am today. I feel like I have a voice, and I feel empowered in my position. I’ve fostered invaluable relationships with my boss, my peers, corporate partners, higher-ups, and even 3rd party jewelry designers that we work with as a brand; this network I’ve created has been the key reason to why I take my development and career so seriously! I’ve got a wealth of knowledge and expertise at my fingertips! Where else can you find that?

    Cons

    I don’t have specific cons. I think your attitude and approach to negative situations really defines your experience in any job you have. It’s a demanding environment, but the growth and experience you gain far outweighs any negativity.

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2019-07-30
Found 109 reviews