Alice & Olivia "learn a lot" Reviews | Glassdoor

Alice & Olivia Employee Reviews about "learn a lot"

Updated Mar 28, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Alice & Olivia CEO Stacey Bendet (no image)
Stacey Bendet
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "The discount and clothing allowance was good since we could only wear Alice & Olivia clothing to work(in 18 reviews)

  • "Working market here is a lot of fun and you learn a lot(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is rude with high expectations and don’t understand the intense day to day work load(in 18 reviews)

  • "Not paid, long hours, lots of hands-on work,(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "learn a lot"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shop Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Alice+Olivia was a great experience. The people were a pleasure to work with and I truly enjoyed going to work every day because of it. They have a great corporate culture and management encourages growth within the company. If you have the oppourtunity to work with the Retail team, take it! The Senior Executives are hard working and passionate about the brand. You can learn a lot from them.

    Cons

    Can't say I have any cons.

    Alice & Olivia2016-03-15
  2. "Ok company to start out at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia part-time

    Pros

    1. Learned a lot about my field. 2. Most of the people there were super nice, casual work environment 3. The office/location was gorgeous

    Cons

    Lot of turnover - everybody seemed to leave after a while. Lot of complaints about the CEO

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to make employees want to stay instead of seeing it as a pit stop.

    Alice & Olivia2018-03-28
  3. "Wholesale Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia

    Pros

    Learned a lot about wholesale and the programs they use here and widely though the fashion industry. Nice work environment everyone is really nice. They pay for your lunch. They like to hire interns if there is a position open but you don't know if that will happen. Working market here is a lot of fun and you learn a lot.

    Cons

    No discount for interns and is unpaid. Disorganized, you have to ask for daily tasks its never an ongoing project. A lot of "intern" work but a good amount of actual work. Worked a lot of late nights during market.

    Advice to Management

    Add a little structure to the internship. Give a internship long project to work on that the interns can learn from.

    Alice & Olivia2017-11-09
  4. "part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia

    Pros

    Good brand, learn a lot of fashion brand knowledge, improve my spoken English.

    Cons

    The bonus competition system made employees too stressful.

    Alice & Olivia2017-10-19
  5. "Great Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot at this company as my role was very undefined and I had my hands in a lot of different aspects. They hire a lot of young talent who has great ideas.

    Cons

    Not the best execution of said ideas. Undefined roles and expectations leaves you working a TON and feeling underappreciated. I have heard it has gotten better with the addition of some new executives and a more clear direction.

    Advice to Management

    Set clear expectations for your people. As glamorous as something sounds, it may not be worth the expense.

    Alice & Olivia2015-08-27
  6. "OK Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia

    Pros

    You really do learn a lot of hands on experience and see how everything works.

    Cons

    no clear instructions, rude upper management, no respect to employees

    Advice to Management

    stop being phony to the press but actually be more caring to the employees

    Alice & Olivia2015-05-27
  7. "Good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Technical Design Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia for less than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot about the company, about its product and how everyone works in order to achieve their goals.

    Cons

    The only thing I would improve would be the amount of hours that we work.

    Alice & Olivia2014-08-04
  8. "Good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - PR Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia for less than a year

    Pros

    Got to work with an amazing PR team, help with the fashion week presentation, and learn a lot. My advice to current and future interns is work hard, show up on time, and don't be afraid to stay late. They love that and you'll be rewarded for it in more responsibility and excellent letters of recommendation

    Cons

    It's unpaid, you're their personal messenger service in all weather conditions, no room to grow, and the president and CEO are standoffish

    Advice to Management

    Pay your interns!! Especially if they're running around the city dropping off/picking up samples

    Alice & Olivia2014-07-31
  9. "Great summer internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public Relations Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Was able to learn a lot about the PR department, but also the company as a whole. Enjoyed the hands on experience- interns aren't just fetching coffee! A+O is a fun place to work, you're surrounded by a lot of cool, interesting people. The intern group project was a great experience as well. The interns, paired in groups, were asked to design an event for the company.. Really gave us the opportunity to take what... we've learned, collaborate, and put it into action.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes too many interns in certain departments.

    Advice to Management

    Interns would benefit from being able to attend more meetings, simply to shadow, and would gain a better understanding of what is going on in their departments.

    Alice & Olivia2014-07-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Internship was OKAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in New York, NY

    I worked at Alice & Olivia for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is growing fast. There were many chances for me to interact with other people in different departments and learned a lot from them.

    Cons

    They never hired interns for full time job positions, and the company culture was quite cold.

    Advice to Management

    Need more structured internship programs

    Alice & Olivia2014-05-29
Found 12 reviews