Alice & Olivia "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Alice & Olivia Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Alice & Olivia Chief executive Stacey Bendet (no image)
Stacey Bendet
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "The discount and clothing allowance was good since we could only wear Alice & Olivia clothing to work(in 18 reviews)

  • "Working market here is a lot of fun and you learn a lot(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is rude with high expectations and don’t understand the intense day to day work load(in 18 reviews)

  • "Not paid, long hours, lots of hands-on work,(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Incredible opportunities - a place to build invaluable skill sets and a rewarding career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Alice + Olivia is an incredible company with tremendous growth potential. -Management style: I have always felt a+o to be an environment where hard work is recognized and rewarded. Upper management gives you the opportunity and exposure to learn new skills every day. They are open to approaching and analyzing the business in new ways and improving organizational efficiencies. -Exposure to cross department functions: what I love about this brand is that learning never felt hierarchical. As an assistant when I started, I had exposure to multiple departments / department heads and was often given a chance to work with every level of the hierarchy. This was always a pro as it allowed me to learn about other functions within the organization. -Corporate culture: everyone from HR to upper management and individual department leaders genuinely wants to foster work life balance. This is the shift I believe has been the most notable and exciting in the last 8 years I have been here. The company makes every effort to engage employees: a generous store discount, bi monthly happy hours, workout classes in the showroom, sweet treats left in the kitchen from Stacey and Deanna at random, team bonding, summer fridays - the list of perks goes on and it genuinely makes a difference in the day to day happiness of employees. -Longevity and growth: many key roles and department heads have built their careers at a+o. Many have been here for 10+ years which should be very motivating to new hires. Most notably: -Brand: in a fleeting competitive landscape, alice + olivia has sustained, flourished, and established itself as a top brand with a clear customer and an everlasting place in this market. Our brand has an established DNA and Stacey knows her customer. Our girl look to us for newness and trend as much as she comes to us for reliability and her closet staples. Internally, upper management is always pushing for organic growth - always looking to expand into new product categories, improving systems, and developing authentic regional presence and launching satellite offices.

    Cons

    Oftentimes you are faced with a challenge or a task that may be outside the scope or outside the 'job description'. In any company, this can be approached in two ways. It can be viewed in a negative light where someone that is clearly unmotivated feels overextended. It can also be viewed as an opportunity to learn, grow, and develop new skill sets that will serve as valuable building blocks in your career. Personally, in my 8 motivating years at alice + olivia, I have always chosen to approach new tasks as a learning opportunity and it has led to incredible new skill sets that I otherwise would not have developed. I view this as a chance to gain the trust of upper management and prove oneself as a valuable employee who is genuinely invested in the long term success of alice + olivia.

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2019-07-22
  2. "Building a Career with a Brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The reason that I am still a part of this brand is due to the constant ability to not only better yourself but to truly have input to better the brand. You are never just a number in a very large over encompassing company but an important part of an ever changing and growing fashion brand. They are always offering the opportunity to grow if you are able of showing good work ethic and dedication. I have personally had the pleasure of meeting some of the most amazing/inspirational/ driven people not only that I work with but have had the opportunity to style and will have a life long relationship with.

    Cons

    No Job/Career is perfect there are everyday challenges but nothing that this company will not give you the tools to overcome. With extreme support from upper management they truly wish to see every employee succeed.

    Alice & Olivia2019-07-20
  3. "Love where you work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time

    Pros

    I have been part of this organization for a better portion of my professional life and can't say enough good things abut it. The environment is creative, regardless of your role and upper management truly cares about your growth and development. It is a fast paced environment filled with tons of team collaboration, strong mentorship from leaders and a place for all employees to have a voice.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons!

    Alice & Olivia2019-06-19
  4. Helpful (5)

    "No growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Would Rather Not Say in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incentives, clothing allowance , benefits, clothing

    Cons

    No room for growth with several manipulative conversations in between, intense workload, will make you go above and beyond your job description, catty work environment, CEO claims to empower women but does not care about her employees therefore trickles down to management. Interview process is intense therefore a lot of people with very skilled work ethic are employed, but unfortunately they never stay. Upper management is rude with high expectations and don’t understand the intense day to day work load

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2019-04-07
  5. "Great Company and Growth Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager and Previous Store Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I started working at A+O in 2013 in the Retail field and within two years and my success in sales I was able to work with upper management and develop my staff in the retail store to achieve my goal to work in the corporate offices. The company allows a lot of growth from within for employees who put in the effort and are willing to prove success and work for it. Definitely worth the effort and lots of personal learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Offices were way to far from my home all the way in Meatpacking District!

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2019-01-16
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Think Twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia full-time

    Pros

    Looks like a supportive environment from the outside

    Cons

    This is a company basically run by a spoiled brat. Upper management uses bullying tactics to break down employees until it is unbearable. Behavior this nasty should not exist in a professional environment. It is embarrassing to the fashion industry. Only friends of the CEO get promotions. Everyone else is verbally abused and ignored. This is a very toxic environment. Go somewhere else where you are valued.

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2018-11-16
  7. Helpful (8)

    "This Company Needs a Major Corporate Overhaul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discount and free clothing

    Cons

    I hate to be another sorry statistic, but the reviews you’re reading are true. After working here you’ll realize any good review was a sad attempt from corporate to increase their rating. All of corporate/upper management are entitled, insecure women who criticize your every move but refuse to accept feedback of their own. In the beginning, you will be the shiny new toy that is dangled in front of the seasoned staff only for them to resent you. Eventually, you will just become another undervalued employee. If you express any concern, you will be reminded that you can be easily replaced. I’m never one to be compelled to write a review out of anger, I just genuinely wish to warn anyone of what they are getting themselves into.

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2018-11-13
  8. Helpful (6)

    "This Place SUCKS!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clothing allowance and the Commission

    Cons

    Practically everything. I have NEVER felt so disrespected in my life. The staff is super catty and upper management tends to pick favorites regardless of their performance. Forget about speaking up for yourself and doing too well as your coworkers will get jealous and team up to get you terminated. This job is what made me walk away from retail for good. Stay away.

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2018-11-13
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Invest in yourself first and just pass on this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount and clothing allowance

    Cons

    - Indirect communication from senior management, all talk about training and coaching but actions do not follow as conversations tend to be very aggressive! - Management is quick to write people up if they miss even a month of goals; where is the investment to helping your team grow? - Very high turn over, with most associates staying a 1.5 years... Ouch! - The team work in the districts are inconsistent and everyone seems out to get each other, even though "one team, one goal" is put as a focus. - Upper management will tell you what you want to hear and then will try and manipulate you. -Stacey Bendet has no idea how things are run in the retail level.

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2018-11-13
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alice & Olivia full-time

    Pros

    Cute clothes, employee discount and wardrobing

    Cons

    Everything else. The micro management from upper management was maddening. The catty-ness and pettiness was so condescending, I’ve never been so disgusted by behavior in a work environment before. Overall extremely unprofessional and highly disorganized as a company. High turnover rate. Understaffing leads to you doing the jobs of 2-3 people. I felt that one of the managers was not stable enough to hold their position, always ambiguous with direction or contradicting when giving instructions. There was often poor treatment/ill speaking of customers and coworkers. Overly aggressive sales tactics for clothing that is mostly made in China. Training was so poor, more often than not I was finding myself being told to do things that I had had no prior training for, which made me feel incompetent and bad when asking questions. The CEO seems creepily self absorbed.

    Continue reading
    Alice & Olivia2018-09-06
Found 21 reviews