Alief ISD Reviews | Glassdoor

Alief ISD Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 83 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
HD Chambers
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Most departments have a cookie cutter teaching format that is catered towards training new teachers(in 4 reviews)

  • "High teacher turnover at some schools(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Better of Houston Area Districts to Work In"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alief ISD full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great district, support from administration and great programs coming about for students (see CTE Center). Best paid district.

    Cons

    Parent support is difficult in some cases.

    Alief ISD2019-04-12
  2. "Great place to work and flourish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Helpdesk Technician in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alief ISD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    School schedule and many days off

    Cons

    Limited salary growth although entry level jobs are well paid.

    Advice to Management

    Communication issues need to be ironed out.

    Alief ISD2019-04-01
  3. "Alief"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alief ISD full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Higher Salary than most districts Large District Benefits

    Cons

    Complete lack of support with behavior from administration. Or I should say support that actually works and makes a difference. Professional development is okay at the beginning, but gets very repetitive the more years you've been in the district.

    Advice to Management

    The culture in the two schools I've taught at is ridiculous. Never before have I seen students act the way that they do...and get away with it! There is a strong message that is very clear to students that they can act however they want, and nothing will happen. It makes for a very poor work environment. We differentiate everything for our students, but it's not done for the staff. When I first started off the...

    Show More
    Alief ISD2019-03-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Alief teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Teacher 

      I have been working at Alief ISD full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Alief independent school district has a Great atmosphere

      Cons

      One thing I wish I could change is the Commute due to where I live

      Alief ISD2019-01-29
    • "Everything you need to be worldly educated..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Library Assistant in Alief, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Alief ISD full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Teachers will help you adjust Good benefits and lots of time off

      Cons

      Lack of administration no social experiences Badly behaved children Teachers that do not care

      Alief ISD2019-01-22
    • "Alief ISD"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Alief ISD full-time

        Pros

        Great benefits. Competitive pay. Professional Development and needed support. (ask for it!) Great superintendent!

        Cons

        A lot of students lack strong family support which makes teaching more difficult.

        Alief ISD2019-01-15
      • "Teacher"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Alief ISD full-time

        Pros

        None, none, none, and none.

        Cons

        Everything, please don’t be fooled by by their gimmicks. This was the worst district I have ever worked for. Most of their employees are either actively looking for other jobs teaching jobs or have been brainwashed into thinking that they deserve to be in Alief. Reminded me of being in an abusive relationship.

        Advice to Management

        Teachers are humans.

        Alief ISD2018-12-12
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Secretary 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Alief ISD full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        I love it here. I am able to balance my work/family life

        Cons

        I cant think of any at the moment.

        Alief ISD2018-10-12
      • "Beware"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Alief ISD full-time

        Pros

        Great community feel on the campus level.

        Cons

        Horrible administration at the top. Cut throat.

        Alief ISD2018-09-27
      • "Job Is Great, Co-Workers Not So Much"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Alief ISD full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great work life balance with almost 6 weeks off. After a year of employment you get an additional 10 days of paid vacation time. Very positive environment at the administration building.

        Cons

        Rough area. Certain departments can be cliqueish. Pay isn't that great.

        Advice to Management

        Get rid of bad apples and promote this that display positive attitudes and a willingness to learn and improve.

        Alief ISD2018-08-13
      Found 83 reviews