Align Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Align Communications Reviews

Updated May 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
James Dooling
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Good money and great place to work, despite what some of the reviews would make you think(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is very stuck in their old ways(in 4 reviews)

  • "Manual processes & heavy reliance on Excel-based tools in lieu of real systems(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Align Communications full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits great pto Excellent management Have no complaints about working for the align Would recommend working for align to anyone Always treated with respect

    Cons

    Don't have anything bad to say

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Align Communications2019-05-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terrific potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Align Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    team mentality / commitment through investment / works in many verticals / flat org chart

    Cons

    manual processes / number of internal meetings / flat org limits career advancement

    Advice to Management

    apply a proper org chart / empower mid-level /remove drag of manual processes / eliminate excessive ad-hoc internal meetings

    Align Communications2019-04-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Align Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Level II NOC Engineer in Piscataway, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Align Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good health and dental options

    Cons

    No bonus for overtime employees

    Align Communications2018-07-25
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Full Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Align Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for college students with zero experience, but do not get too comfortable.

    Cons

    At the core the company has not changed it's approach and behavior towards growth or the cause of why smart people leave the company. More effort goes into disguising the truth than positive change. When you see mixed reviews on Glassdoor throughout the years, it clearly define's how low the company will go through to hide the truth. If you are good at what you do stay away. You won't last more than two years. Align is...

    Show More
    Align Communications2018-08-28
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Don’t even bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Align Communications full-time

    Pros

    Only pro is Health benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes I feel my brain shutoff when I come to work because there arent any interesting projects going on, and the majority of projects are physical lifting and shifting. Employees that have a drive to succeed only last 1 or 2 years at Align. Employees sleep with one eye open around the fall and winter holiday because of the massive layoffs that occur.

    Advice to Management

    Stop firing people just because you can

    Align Communications2018-08-01
  6. Helpful (5)

    "CAUTION!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Align Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong benefit package - Quick hiring process which should should be a red flag

    Cons

    The best people leave within 1-2 years tops! Micro managers Dishonest and political leadership No trust of employees Unhealthy and hostile work environment

    Advice to Management

    Unconscious bias training would be a start for leadership. Consider why your best and brightest leave instead of keep hiring. Try and be more inclusive with newer employees that are not part of your boys club. It saddened me when the founder acknowledged that he knows that tenure is 2 years while he keeps his dysfunctional weak leadership in place to bolster his ego.

    Align Communications2018-07-25
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Worst people I have ever met"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Align Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, I'm serious the positive comments are all fake and put up their by Align's marketing team.

    Cons

    They don't train you in any way. You come in the door with NO guidance and you are expected to navigate through pods of people and none of them work together. There is no room for advancement. They will belittle you every chance they get. No one is happy and everyone thinks that they will be next to be fired. Revolving door doesn't even scratch the service as to the culture here. You will not last long. The company...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Karma

    Align Communications2018-07-20
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Align Communications

    Pros

    What makes this company special is its people and their commitment to their clients! They understand that when their employees succeed the organization succeeds. They get it

    Cons

    None that I could see

    Align Communications2018-06-14
  9. Helpful (4)

    "A lot of turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Align Communications full-time

    Pros

    Company have been around for 30+ years, strong relationships with select customers.

    Cons

    A lot of turnover across the organization. It Doesn’t seem to bother management, but employees certainly take notice and affects morale. Limited growth opportunities.

    Align Communications2018-06-03
  10. Helpful (4)

    "The Best Place to Work and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Align Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been in the IT industry for over 20 years, and have worked for and consulted at dozens of companies, both large and small. Based on this experience, I can confidently say that Align is, by far, the best place I've worked. Here’s why: People are treated with the utmost respect and understanding. They are appreciated for their professionalism, skills, and contributions, and are rewarded with flexibility, perks,...

    Show More

    Cons

    People are generally expected to be in the office or at client sites. While there is some flexibility and opportunity for remote work, most employees would prefer more days to work from home. As a medium sized company, Align does not have the well-established processes of a larger organization.

    Advice to Management

    Grow the company and continue to recruit the best and brightest talent and demand their best work.

    Align Communications2018-05-23
Found 46 reviews