Alion "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Alion Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Alion CEO Steve Schorer (no image)
Steve Schorer
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexibility, good benefits, progressive management(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great coworkers, okay benefits, flexible hours, good work-life balance, some interesting work(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of Communication from Upper Management(in 23 reviews)

  • "Top level management should have been fired years ago as they have drowned the company in massive debt while earning annual(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, good benefits, progressive management

    Cons

    Little advancement opportunities, can be stagnant at times

    Alion2019-04-02
  2. "Used to be good, a lot of turn overs now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in Fairfax, VA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alion full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good team to work with, competitive salary, good benefits

    Cons

    Lost $$$ in stock share plan after company went through different investor. Inadequate training and career advancement.

    Alion2019-06-24
  3. "SENIOR ANALYST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company - good benefits, hard working people

    Cons

    no cons to comment upon. good company

    Alion2018-04-03
  4. "Good company in DC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alion full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and great coworkers.

    Cons

    Lack of proactive management of work force.

    Alion2017-04-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Writer/Editor Associate in Crane Naval Depot, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Alion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and salary. They seem to want to care about their employees, most of the time.

    Cons

    Their word can only be taken at face value. Fail to follow-through with promises regarding vacation time, etc. After you work there a while, you become just a number.

    Advice to Management

    Look deeper at your employees lives, most of them are good people and deserve a chance.

    Alion2016-12-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Senior Research Technician in Mc Lean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alion for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, health, vision and dental

    Cons

    management shared favoritism to certain employees

    Advice to Management

    treat all employees equally

    Alion2016-05-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Acquisition Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Acquisition Analyst in Burke, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Alion for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good reputation in industry and with clients.

    Cons

    Not a con for the company, but the outlook for defense industry contractor support is questionable.

    Alion2015-11-21
  8. "Graphic Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alion part-time

    Pros

    When I was full time, they had good benefits, good hours, and the funds for furthering education were very appreciated. The transition to part-time was fairly painless as well.

    Cons

    Their payment tiers rob you of any individual merit you could contribute, so if you want a raise with this company, you better be in it for the long run as extra effort will not be recognized nor rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Try to establish a better presence with your workers, I barely knew who my actual boss was nor did I ever meet another Alion employee.

    Alion2015-11-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good company met with hard times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Alion full-time

    Pros

    For a while, it was a good place to work, with a great facility, good benefits, and healthy work environment.

    Cons

    Company hit some hard times and training and advancement opportunities vanished.

    Advice to Management

    Become more involved with your client. Become more involved with your employees. Senior management is too passive and distant.

    Alion2015-09-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Employed there for 10 plus years and has a very stressful political work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alion

    Pros

    Good benefits and sound structure.

    Cons

    Favoritism and competition between Groups needs to be changed to a Team player environment.

    Advice to Management

    Need to institute more of a team environment, especially in you mid to lower levels instead of the competition between groups as is was occurring in the field instead of the favorite son mentality.

    Alion2015-04-06
Found 17 reviews