Allegheny Health Network "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Allegheny Health Network Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 250 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Cynthia Hundorfean
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management does not understand the importance of preventative care(in 9 reviews)

  • "Highmark Merger really hurt morale(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Allegheny Health Network full-time

    Pros

    Working a weekend program I am given 1 weekend off every 6 weeks.

    Cons

    Very poor work-life balance. Flexibility of homecare has been taken away. Supervisor unwilling to help employees and answer questions.

    Allegheny Health Network2017-11-07
  2. Helpful (7)

    "One of the worst places I have ever worked! Avoid it like the plague!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Allegheny Health Network full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My team itself is made up of some very talented, very intelligent people who are willing to go out of their way to help shoulder the enormous burden.

    Cons

    Inept Upper Management - Totally lacking vision and the ability to properly prioritize the workload. Work/Life Balance - Absolutely nonexistent. Expect to 12+ hour days just to keep your head above water. Communication - They've never heard of the concept. If you enjoy being kept in the dark and then blamed for it by management, this is the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Get it together already. Make the tough calls. Take care of your people.

    Allegheny Health Network2017-05-19
  3. "Senior Call Center Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Allegheny Health Network full-time

    Pros

    Decent Pay, Good Benefits, Good Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Management, Unstably Run, No Job Security

    Allegheny Health Network2017-03-15
  4. "Medical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Allegheny Health Network

    Pros

    A beautiful facility in Wexford

    Cons

    Terrible "family friendly" enviroment! No understanding at all if there is a family emergency or sickness.Any type of incident outside of work that you may have to attend to that is unplanned. If you work for AHN I would not recommend it if you have children you have to take care of. No work/life balance!

    Allegheny Health Network2016-12-01
  5. "medical coder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Coder in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Allegheny Health Network full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    It gave me years of experience.

    Cons

    They weren't very compassionate to my special situation where I needed a work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    A part of the word the term Health Care is to care, and you should especially care for your employees the most because they make your company.

    Allegheny Health Network2015-10-07
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Building an EMR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Allegheny Health Network full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great team work with in the IT department.

    Cons

    - Extremely aggressive deployment schedule creates more problems than solutions. - Management stresses work/life balance, but there isn't any. - No extra compensation for on-call coverage despite the fact that you are required to be on call 24/7 for 7 days on a rotating basis.

    Advice to Management

    Step back from the end goal and realize that you are driving your employees away with unreasonable build and testing timelines. The build could be completed with more careful thought and attention to detail with a little breathing room and this would lead to more successful (and safe!) deployments.

    Allegheny Health Network2015-08-31
  7. Helpful (3)

    "IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Allegheny Health Network

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Most of people you work with are nice and competent.

    Cons

    Office Politics and out dated technology.

    Allegheny Health Network2014-12-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Allegheny Health Network

    Pros

    Decent place, decent pay, wasn't a terrible place to spend a few years. Kinda liked it, kinda didn't

    Cons

    work life balance was pretty manageable, had some good benefits that helped to balance everything out

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Allegheny Health Network2014-04-25
  9. "Depends on the department..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Allegheny Health Network full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance is great.

    Cons

    Unless you are part of the group that they want don't you most likely will end up being let go. Management is too busy to notice what goes on day to day within the office and when brought to their attention it is ignored. Most departments do their own thing and issues are handled within the department.

    Advice to Management

    HR needs to step in and take a closer look at what goes on in each department. Some of the activities that are going on would not be allowed if they were caught by HR or compliance but senior management in departments do a great job covering up for their favorite employees.

    Allegheny Health Network2014-03-04
Found 250 reviews