KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Allegis Transcription

Engaged Employer

Allegis Transcription

Add a Review

Allegis Transcription Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 64 reviews

3.8
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Allegis Transcription President Joel Gendelman (no image)
Joel Gendelman
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "The pay is decent, and the flexibility of the hours as a work from home job is very nice(in 12 reviews)

  • "I was new to legal transcription and the coaches and learning exercises at Allegis helped me so much(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work holds are tough and prevent you from earning(in 7 reviews)

  • "Some of the audio files are difficult, but that's part of the industry(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best Free-Lance Transcription Company!

      Oct 19, 2018 - Independent Contractor in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the flexibility of Allegis. I also love that I am not "assigned" files, as I was with the other companies I've worked with. I log on to whichever queue I'm assigned to for that week, and I get to choose the files I want to work on. If I'm pressed for time, I choose a short audio file. If I have all day, I'll choose a longer audio file to get more page count. They are always looking for ways to make our lives easier, and have programs where you are rewarded monetarily for your work when you go over and above. While it is true that some of the files are not that great, this is not the fault of Allegis, but rather the fault of the company submitting the audio. But I have to say that in all the companies I have worked for as an IC, these audios are by far better percentage wise than any other company I have worked for. I've seen some reviews on here that say "just about all of the audios are bad," and that is just not true. As with any work at home opportunity for transcriptionists, you will get bad files from time to time, and sometimes all of your files for the day will be not that great. But that is not the norm. If you are looking for a great company to work for as an IC, then this is the one!

      Cons

      There are no cons for me

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful

      Allegis Transcription Response

      Resources Director

      Thank you for your review! We really do appreciate the time you have taken to leave your personal feedback about our company and contracting with us as a transcriptionist. We are very glad to hear that your experience with Allegis has been a positive one, and look forward to continuing our working relationship! -The Allegis Team

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Allegis remote transcription

      Jul 2, 2021 - Remote Insurance Transcriptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work remote. Work your own, flexible hours each week. Choose the length of jobs you wish to transcribe throughout the day.

      Cons

      Pay is for production, not hourly. You will quickly plateau with your production speed.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good but should pay more

      Jun 10, 2021 - Transcriptionist in Missoula, MT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, easy work schedule

      Cons

      can be bad audio, not compensated for it.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company To Work For

      Feb 9, 2020 - Transcriptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed the work and the format for the insurance interviews. I worked there for about 3 years. The office staff was great and responded to questions quickly. I was usually in the top two tiers meaning I did a lot of work each week. I also loved the fact that I could work when it was most convenient for me.

      Cons

      The minimum page requirement per week did not always allow for family/life issues. Unfortunately, this is why I chose to leave.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Worst company in the world to work for

      Aug 26, 2019 - Transcriptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are no pros to working there.

      Cons

      This company is the worst company in the world to work for. I worked for them for almost three years and as time went on things just got worse. They don't listen to any suggestions you might have and they worry more about the contract they have with a company than they do about the people that are doing all of the hard work. They are very nit picky when it comes to the work. If a person belches, they want that in there, even though it has absolutely no pertinence to the case. The pay is extremely low. After all of my hard work I received an email one morning stating that I was fired. Just like that. No explanation. Nothing. Just a we don't need you any more. I went back to freelance work and tripled my income. My only regret was that I worked for them as long as I did. It's nothing more than a sweat shop. If you like that type of atmosphere, then I say go ahead and work for them, but you will soon realize they don't care about you. I never received a raise one time while I worked there. They don't like suggestions, either. Once you start making suggestions, you will be put on a list as a trouble maker. So also keep your mouth shut if you work there. It's just a disgusting place to work.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Allegis Transcription Response

      Resources Director

      It appears that working with Allegis was not a good fit for you and we are sorry that our offerings were not satisfactory for your needs. For transparency sake I'd like to make a few things we have in place clear for future readers: 1. An online Community Network for team and peer support 2. Bi-weekly satisfaction polling and request for feedback and suggestions 3. Market pay rate (but of course skill-level of typist hugely impacts income level) 4. Regular quarterly QA review with results published to Feedback Dashboard 5. A contract performance management process monitoring adherence to minimum production requirement (100+ pages per week) and providing a series of reminders and warnings before contract termination

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Better Places to Work

      Dec 31, 2019 - Transcriptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good for beginners wanting to do transcription as a place to sharpen up typing and grammar skills.

      Cons

      Technologically weak company. Corporate-type environment. Low pay.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Okay company to work for.

      Jul 26, 2020 - Transcriptionist in Wyoming, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was okay working there. Sometimes good sometimes not.

      Cons

      This is a bit tougher. Work holds are tough and prevent you from earning.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Aug 24, 2019 - Transcriptionist in Renton, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Consistent work, work from home, make up your own schedule as long as you got 100 pages done a week.

      Cons

      Low pay. Got out in tiers and bottom tiers had work holds.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome Company

      Dec 27, 2017 - Independent Contractor in Snohomish, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been working with Allegis as an independent contractor for about 2 months now. The onboarding process is thorough and simple and provides the perfect amount of guidance. The videos included in recources are also very helpful and you can look back at them if need be. The coaches and all other staff members are awesome and are very quick to reply to any questions you may have. You also get to choose how much you work which is great, as long as you meet the 100 page minimum per week which is not hard to do at all. There is always work to do as well. This is the best job I have ever had and fits to my lifestyle perfectly. I love Allegis. The pay is great too, that is, if you are 100% committed and get a lot of work done during the week. Pay is every friday as well which is extremely helpful.

      Cons

      No cons at all.

      Continue reading
      24 people found this review helpful

      Allegis Transcription Response

      Resources Director

      Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback about our company and your experience working with us. We are happy to hear that your experience has been positive with us, as we aim to ensure all of our transcriptionists feel this way! -The Allegis Talent Team

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Transcriptionist/contractor

      Mar 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can't think of any.

      Cons

      I have been a court reporter for over 35 years and I have never once been challenged on any of my work. This company is extremely knit picky. You are afforded work based on productivity, but your productivity is slowed considerably with bad audio and research that you have to perform because there is no background information with each file. You are on your own. It is verbatim, so if they say I, I, I, I, I, then it has to be put in, but don't put in too many I's or it will be held against you. Their proofreading policies are out of control. One person proofs your work and may spend hours knit picking through it. Then you are graded and based on your grade you could be put on probation. Three strikes and you're out. I would not recommend working for this company. The pay is not good and there are no perks. No bonuses, no raises. You can work there for years and no matter how much work you do for them, you won't get a raise, a thank you, or an atta boy. Nothing. All you get with this company is criticism. Court reporting is held to the highest standard around, yet somehow this company feels they are worthy of more. As I said, not one complaint in 35 years working for our judicial system, and yet this company can make you feel as though you are worthless.

      Continue reading
      48 people found this review helpful

      Allegis Transcription Response

      Resources Director

      We appreciate your perspective, thank you for caring enough to take the time and share. We do have a structured Quality Assurance Management Program. It is based around critical content in the insurance industry and the review process also takes into consideration the challenges audio and research can present. Our management team is largely made-up of ex-court reporters and our standards based upon this type of transcription. The Allegis QA team is well trained to ensure assessment points are transparent and within reason, and that more time is not spent reviewing than would take to transcribe (rule is to not rewind more than 3 times). Our quality program certainly is more structured than most transcription companies, we do have an end point to assessments wherein inability to meet the 98% quality level after a series of feedback and review leads to the end of a contract. Because of this we are confident in in the independent work of all of our transcriptionists and know that we can meet the quality promise we make to our customers. We are fortunate to have so many talented transcriptionists all across the nation who do well and appreciate the ongoing feedback. In a recent survey the number one “thing we do best” was communication. We appreciate all suggestions, responses and questions we receive, we reply and take action whenever possible, and likewise will take your perspective to heart.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Allegis Transcription Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Allegis Transcription? Share Your Experiences

    Allegis Transcription logo
    or