KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Allen & Overy

Is this your company?

Allen & Overy

Add a Review

Allen & Overy Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 351 of over 495 reviews

4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Allen & Overy Senior partner Wim Dejonghe
Wim Dejonghe
119 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly firm with great people at all levels(in 15 reviews)

  • "Great people, sophisticated work, decent by big law firm standards (in the USA)(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours but to be expected at any big ticket City firm(in 45 reviews)

  • "typical work life balance problem(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Allen & Overy

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Firm

      Oct 15, 2021 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a good firm with a collaborative work culture and most partners (not all) are accessible to work with.

      Cons

      It’s a law firm so you’re expected to be available to work 24/7. They also manage their junior associate resources poorly.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great firm

      Jul 12, 2021 - Revenue Analyst in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great firm to work for

      Cons

      Can't think of any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Jun 4, 2021 - Senior Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Place to Work At

      Cons

      Many Including Very High Working Hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      REview

      Mar 12, 2021 - Associate Attorney in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly Staff Great variety of work Excellent benefits

      Cons

      - Must be prepared to work long and hard hours, but compensated well for the efforts

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Allen & Overy Response

      Wow, five stars! We pride ourselves in our friendly culture and great benefits and are happy to see you mention this in your review.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Lawyer

      Mar 3, 2021 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work interesting people average benefits

      Cons

      tech is third world standard

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great firm

      Feb 2, 2021 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very friendly and collaborative culture

      Cons

      Outdated tech, NY office not as high profile as London

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Allen & Overy Response

      Thank you for the five stars! We pride ourselves in our friendly and collaborative culture and happy to see you note this in your review.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Friendly Atmosphere

      Feb 4, 2021 - Support Staff 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone was great to work with

      Cons

      As with any legal position the work is demanding and long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Allen & Overy Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Glassdoor! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your colleagues and would recommend A&O to others.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good firm, at least to start a career

      Jan 9, 2021 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, sophisticated work, decent by big law firm standards (in the USA)

      Cons

      Very little opportunity for advancement to partner in most practice areas (again, in the USA).

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Allen & Overy Response

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. It is nice to see you enjoyed your time with us, and wish you all the best in the future. Please do connect with our Alumni team!

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great law firm

      Nov 19, 2020 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A&O New York is a large firm that has a smaller firm culture.

      Cons

      Lots of ruthless greedy capitalist co-workers and bosses.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Allen & Overy Response

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review on Glassdoor. We pride ourselves on our culture, and it is great to see you noted in your review. We are happy to have been a part of your career journey, and wish you all the best.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Oct 6, 2020 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly atmosphere Updated technology and resources

      Cons

      Deals are staffed with small teams

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Allen & Overy Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and for the five stars! We pride ourselves in our collaborative culture, and friendly work environment, and appreciate that you noted this in your review. It is also great to see you mention our technology and resources as a pro, as this became very apparent in our swift transition to effectively working virtually during Covid-19.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 351 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Allen & Overy Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Allen & Overy? Share Your Experiences

    or