Allen & Overy Reviews | Glassdoor

Allen & Overy Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 180 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Allen & Overy CEO Wim Dejonghe
Wim Dejonghe
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Not easy, but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in London, England

    I worked at Allen & Overy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    * High quality work * Mostly intelligent and decent colleagues * Good support systems including training and precedents * Decent pay and benefits * Opportunity to work internationally

    Cons

    * Brutally long hours and the stress that comes with this * Lack of control over personal life; routinely having to cancel or curtail holidays etc * Poor work/life balance; client expectation that you are available 24/7 * Tolerance of partner bad behaviour / personality cases (immunity for big billers?) * Relentless focus on increasing profits per partner

    Allen & Overy2019-04-09
  2. "Wonderful culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Panel Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allen & Overy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people & culture from my experience so far (4 weeks in!) is absolutely amazing - everyone from my direct team, the trainers, other employees I have met so far have been so welcoming and friendly and helpful. Their approach to flexible working is a breathe of fresh air

    Cons

    nothing so far to comment on as 4 weeks in and my experiences so far have been positive!

    Allen & Overy2019-03-04
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Allen & Overy part-time

      Pros

      Work life balance . Lovely team

      Cons

      Lack of progression for part time people

      Allen & Overy2019-03-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Left a while now, but much improvement was required"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Lead in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Allen & Overy full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Staff and colleagues, all the people I met from SSC were lovely and meeting colleagues from other european offices

      Cons

      The 3E system that used. It is not effective for Credit control and company need to re-visit this technology. Staff retention

      Advice to Management

      education to all stakeholders on 3e system - bad debt will continue to rise if changes not made.

      Allen & Overy2019-02-28
    • "Style over substance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great location & office facilities Good focus on wellbeing Innovative performance management

      Cons

      Poor career progression in support Disjointed leadership in some areas

      Advice to Management

      Treat staff more as individuals and recognise their value and skills, not as commodities to move around on a whim

      Allen & Overy2019-03-02
    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Human Resources in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Friendly environment, challenging projects, flexible working, support function in Belfast is a great resource to have, strong team.

      Cons

      The technology infrastructure could be better, however, there is a plan to migrate to a new system.

      Allen & Overy2019-02-12
    • "HR Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Allen & Overy full-time

      Pros

      Great culture, great people, good career advencement

      Cons

      Support staff reward program need to be revised

      Allen & Overy2019-02-05
    • "Paralegal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Allen & Overy

      Pros

      nice people and flexible rules

      Cons

      long working hours and always needed to work on weekend

      Allen & Overy2019-01-30
    • "Sydney office - Not a long term prospect"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Allen & Overy full-time

      Pros

      Great brand to have on your CV Opportunities in terms of variety of work

      Cons

      Lack of career progression or training Unrealistic expectations No recognition or reward when you go above and beyond Very lean teams so you end up doing the job of 3 people Culture became less collaborative/friendly and more siloed Burn out. Sustainable for a short period but not long term

      Advice to Management

      Recognise your employees so you stop losing good talent. Actually provide flexibility to employees, not just expect them to be flexible for you. Focus more on career progression.

      Allen & Overy2019-02-01
    • "Fair work environment, extremely long hours during peak season"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time

      Pros

      Fair environment, helpful coworkers and culture

      Cons

      Exteremely long hours during peak season

      Allen & Overy2018-12-03
    Found 180 reviews