Allens Australia Reviews | Glassdoor

Allens Australia Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
3 Ratings
  1. "Could be a great place to work if not for gossiping and back stabbing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Allens Australia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Facilities and nice people when you are chatting in the kitchen. I really enjoyed my time with Allens for the most part.

    Cons

    Gas lighting and back stabbing, one step forward and 10 steps back. Some people would benefit from obtaining an education rather than learning everything of google then trying to push it onto everyone else. Underpinning knowledge is a must for success, this is why they can't move forward and keep up with technology because people with the title management think they are in control when they are just making a mess.

    Advice to Management

    Choose university educated people for management roles.

    Allens Australia2019-02-07
  2. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Allens Australia full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Decent work life balance (non legal department). Professional. Very organised and structured.

      Cons

      Hierarchical. Lots of paperwork.

      Allens Australia2019-05-29
    • "OK"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Allens Australia full-time

        Pros

        It was a nice place to work.

        Cons

        Some poor performers in the business.

        Allens Australia2019-03-28
      • "Quality work but experience is partner dependant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Associate in Melbourne

        I worked at Allens Australia full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        I loved my time at Allens because I worked for a great partner who looked out for me, but others struggled. Interesting work and mostly very nice people.

        Cons

        Overly technical, academic and conservative at times. Hard workers get slammed while others coast by. Not much of a firm culture in terms of social life.

        Allens Australia2018-09-13
      • Helpful (1)

        "paralegal"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Allens Australia

          Pros

          easy place to work and meet new people

          Cons

          beaurcpatic, and a lot of nepotism

          Allens Australia2018-08-22
        • Helpful (2)

          "Lawyer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Lawyer 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Allens Australia for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Great top end work. Fantastic training. Get to work with very intelligent and motivated staff. Established law firm brand; well respected in the market.

          Cons

          Pay does not reflect the hours nor the market average. The hours are long and very demanding (frequent weekends, public holidays and even days of annual leave; even weeks at times working consecutively big hours without a day off). Very hierarchical firm where juniors are not given opportunities to step up to the next level or take on more responsibility.

          Allens Australia2018-04-26
        • Helpful (8)

          "Non-legal corporate services (HR)"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook

          I worked at Allens Australia for more than a year

          Pros

          Allens has a great profile and reputation amongst lawyers so it is very easy to attract good staff. Very well established policies and procedures in place. The Corporate Services department and the younger lawyers were friendly and appreciative.

          Cons

          I joined the Corporate Services department of Allens well qualified in my field and with great enthusiasm. I stayed with the firm for less than 2 years (my shortest tenure in 20+ years) and during this time lost a great amount of confidence mostly due to my interaction with many of the partners. Many were downright rude and showed no appreciation for the work done by HR. We were often blamed for things completely out...

          Show More
          Allens Australia2018-02-04
        • Helpful (1)

          "Nice external veneer, shabby interior"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Corporate Services in Melbourne
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook

          I worked at Allens Australia full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          - Great location (views from office) - Good commitment to philanthropic ideals - Some nice people

          Cons

          - Antiquated views - Too many empire builders among middle management and senior leaders - Worry about their reputations but behave appallingly with external vendors - Not ready for the future (technologically) - Lack of collaboration

          Advice to Management

          Embrace change, get better at managing and leading through change and sort out your work/life balance (just dreadful)

          Allens Australia2017-12-11
        • "Allens"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Facilities Manager in Brisbane
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Allens Australia full-time for more than 8 years

          Pros

          Great vibe staff amazing management ok

          Cons

          Somethings behind the times some offices better then others

          Allens Australia2017-11-23
        • Helpful (3)

          "Corporate Services ie. non-legal departments are a disaster"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          Former Employee - Corporate Services in Sydney
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook

          I worked at Allens Australia full-time

          Pros

          Highly regarded law firm Interesting work and great career opportunities if you are a lawyer Top quality office buildings and catering

          Cons

          Corporate Services ie. non-legal departments are a disaster. Teams are highly staffed yet barely productive, as a lot of time is wasted on arguing, backstabbing, gossiping and office politics in general. Pay seems to be determined on an ad hoc basis and not based on your performance or work output at all, so if you are not happy with your pay there is not much you can do about it except leave.

          Advice to Management

          Introduce time sheets for non-legal staff so you know where their time is going and which staff waste their time on office politics etc rather than doing work. Unproductive staff can then be weeded out to save on costs.

          Allens Australia2017-11-05
        Found 32 reviews