KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Alley Cat Allies

Is this your company?

Alley Cat Allies

Add a Review

Alley Cat Allies Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 of over 40 reviews

1.6
12%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Alley Cat Allies President Becky Robinson (no image)
Becky Robinson
34 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Mission focused, great team, huge impact in movement

    Jan 20, 2017 - Program Manager in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love working here, we are very focused on having huge impact to stop killing of cats. For such a small team, we have had tremendous across the country in saving cats and changing laws. I am so proud of our work and my team members. I now think of them as some of my best friends. I love the dedication and passion of the executive team. They work late nights and almost every weekend.

    Cons

    its hard when we cant save every cat, although we try. The metro commute has been bad because of the metro work. -

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Poor management, unorganized, manipulative

    Sep 17, 2021 - Field Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cats, compensation, benefits, health care

    Cons

    MANAGMENT, lying 'co-workers', extensive travel, no facility, no regular veterinarian, not enough fosters, protocols inconsistent, no work-life balance

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Lol it’s so bad

    Sep 9, 2021 - Communications 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have good health insurance and you can look at cat pictures all day

    Cons

    I can’t add anything new. The good reviews are fake. The bad reviews are accurate. It’s so bad and there’s no real way to convey it unless you’ve been there. They aren’t helping cats. They aren’t helping anyone. If this place were a reality show people would say the drama is being faked for the camera because it’s so ludicrous. The level of paranoia and verbal abuse is almost comical until you realize people actually invest their money and lives to this place. HARD PASS.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Checking in

    Jun 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I left the organization before getting fired years ago - my first review is posted here already. (PS Most people at ACA get fired, and for no good reason). I sometimes check back in here at Glassdoor to see how things are going, if anything at ACA has changed. Sort of like checking an ex's social media. I see that nothing has changed.

    Cons

    The same cruel leadership and ineffective management is reflected in these reviews. Just a note to job seekers...I have thought about this organization, and my negative, scary, sad, stressful experiences there, many times. Truly. Many times. I probably needed therapy.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The Absolute Worst Job I Have Ever Had

    Apr 20, 2021 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Full paid health insurance and dental

    Cons

    Toxic work environment, unstable leadership, no job security (average tenure less than a year) expensive parking.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I would call this place a joke, but that would be ignoring the real damage they do

    Jan 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits and pay, but that's it

    Cons

    -Leadership: The founder is prime example of founder's syndrome. She has too much control over the organization she founded, even though it has grown beyond her ability to manage. She micromanages everything, to the point of nothing getting done. That would be bad enough, but even worse is that she was horrible to employees. At best she's rude, snapping at people and making them bend to her every whim, acting like we had nothing better to do than serve her, instead of doing our real jobs. At worst, she's emotionally abusive and makes employees cry. -Work Environment: During my time there, the COO was so paranoid that she separated conversations if people were talking together for "too long." People were scared to go out to lunch together and close office doors. There's no HR department, so there is nowhere for people to go with these problems. There's also no board oversight for questionable management and financial practices. -High employee turnover: It's a fact of life. Once in the span of about five days, four people left. Two were unjustly fired and two quit and walked out on the spot, which I wish I could say was rare during my time there.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Dishonesty and paranoia in abundance

    Sep 5, 2020 - Manager in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None. You work hard to earn your vacation days then they wont let you to take then because of a million reasons!

    Cons

    Never got reimbursed for any of my sick or vacation days accumulated. Had to get a lawyer and ACA would rather pay thousands to legal fees then do whats right. How do they sleep at night?

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Reviews speak for themselves

    May 14, 2020 - Development Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission, nice people who work there, work/llife balance

    Cons

    Management is just...rife with scandals, and CEO is pretty much a crazy person.

    17 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    They are crazy in here

    Mar 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits the pay

    Cons

    slightly crazy pres but I don’t mind it

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Read about Alley Cat Allies in the Chronicle of Philanthropy to learn it all...

    Mar 29, 2019 - Assistant in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good health insurance. Good job if you want to gather research for a book about toxic workplaces.

    Cons

    Google reporter Marc Gunther’s article in the Chronicle of Philanthropy and then go to his website to read his blog posts about Alley Cat Allies and Becky Robinson. That sums up this organization. Dysfunctional and corrupt. Wasting donor dollars. Screaming at employees. Firing people who dare speak up. Run. Run. Run away.

    Continue reading
    36 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews

Work at Alley Cat Allies? Share Your Experiences

Alley Cat Allies logo
or