Cover image for Alley Cat Allies
Logo

Alley Cat Allies

Is this your company?

Alley Cat Allies

Add a Review

Alley Cat Allies Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 39 of over 41 reviews
1.6
11% Recommend to a Friend
15% Approve of CEO

Found 39 of over 41 reviews

1.6
11%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Alley Cat Allies President Becky Robinson (no image)
Becky Robinson
34 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great benefit package(in 8 reviews)
  • "They have good health insurance and you can look at cat pictures all day(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Mission focused, great team, huge impact in movement

    Jan 20, 2017 - Program Manager in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love working here, we are very focused on having huge impact to stop killing of cats. For such a small team, we have had tremendous across the country in saving cats and changing laws. I am so proud of our work and my team members. I now think of them as some of my best friends. I love the dedication and passion of the executive team. They work late nights and almost every weekend.

    Cons

    its hard when we cant save every cat, although we try. The metro commute has been bad because of the metro work. -

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    MANAGER

    May 3, 2016 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, passionate about mission, flexibility, get to be involved in high level strategic discussions that at all of my other jobs I didn't get to be part of, great staff and great leadership. Becky, Charlene and Rebekah provide good strategic decisions and they care about the employees. I have learned a lot from them and appreciate their dedication and genuine concern for animals. If you don't work hard and don't care about the mission, you wont do well here. They don't put up with slackers.

    Cons

    I have a long commute so I wished I lived closer to the office.

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Alley Cat Allies team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A rewarding opportunity you won't find anywhere else

    Dec 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -The welfare of cats is always #1 priority. Seeing cats thrive indoors and finding forever homes, and helping people coexist with outdoor cat populations is very fulfilling. -Management recognizes and appreciates employees efforts, and ensures we have the tools we need to succeed in our work. -Great benefit package -Vegan foods at all events!

    Cons

    None! If you have a passion for animals, then you understand that sometimes the job will require you to be flexible and ready to get your hands dirty.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Program manager

    Dec 27, 2018 - Program Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best reasons is always for the mission! The benefits are very good and the staff is wonderful.

    Cons

    Communication can be difficult, but the company stays so busy in so many areas.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Founderitis - the President suffers from this

    Jan 31, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cats in the office and potential to educate the masses on the feral cat issue, which is something a lot of people are unaware of.

    Cons

    Leadership lack empathy and necessary skill sets to steer this large ship. Micromanagement is common practice which creates an unpleasant atmosphere.

    Continue reading
    25 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Reviews speak for themselves

    May 14, 2020 - Development Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission, nice people who work there, work/llife balance

    Cons

    Management is just...rife with scandals, and CEO is pretty much a crazy person.

    18 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    They are crazy in here

    Mar 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits the pay

    Cons

    slightly crazy pres but I don’t mind it

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Great Mission; Poor Culture

    Oct 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ability to save lots of cats' lives and educate the public

    Cons

    Poor culture and huge turnover

    Continue reading
    26 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Non profit animal advocacy organization

    Nov 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Headquarters is located in downtown Bethesda MD

    Cons

    Small non profit with less than 13 employees

    3 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Poor management, unorganized, manipulative

    Sep 17, 2021 - Field Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cats, compensation, benefits, health care

    Cons

    MANAGMENT, lying 'co-workers', extensive travel, no facility, no regular veterinarian, not enough fosters, protocols inconsistent, no work-life balance

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews
</>Embed

Alley Cat Allies Reviews FAQs

Alley Cat Allies has an overall rating of 1.6 out of 5, based on over 41 reviews left anonymously by employees. 11% of employees would recommend working at Alley Cat Allies to a friend and 13% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Alley Cat Allies employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Alley Cat Allies. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

11% of Alley Cat Allies employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Alley Cat Allies 1.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 1.7 for culture and values and 1.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Alley Cat Allies to be coworkers, benefits and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, management, senior leadership.

Work at Alley Cat Allies? Share Your Experiences

Alley Cat Allies logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Alley Cat Allies Job Seekers Also Viewed

Born Free Foundation Logo
Born Free Foundation

2.9

14 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 41 Alley Cat Allies reviews submitted anonymously by Alley Cat Allies employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Alley Cat Allies is right for you.