Alliance Boots Reviews | Glassdoor

Alliance Boots Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 227 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Alliance Boots CEO Stefano Pessina
Stefano Pessina
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount card, yearly Christmas bonus(in 20 reviews)

  • "very good pay for a retail store(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work - life balance can be compromised sometimes as working hours can be quite long(in 8 reviews)

  • "There does not seem to be a cohesive policy for all the teams in Boots Head Office, as certain practises differ per teams and departments(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Photo Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Alliance Boots full-time

      Pros

      Great, fun,gave me experience, challenging.....

      Cons

      Less incentives, no respect, .. no team work

      Alliance Boots2018-05-04
    • "No Life as a Beauty Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Beauty Consultant in Chattanooga, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Alliance Boots full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I love my customers and the loyalty to Walgreen ! I have meet some amazing people at Walgreen and I feel appreciated by them when I can accomplish their needs. I enjoy building lasting relationships and repeat customers. I also love the global brands and the thought of some day being known as a beauty store. I am very excited about the changes in the beauty department at Walgreen.

      Cons

      Walgreen isn't ready to be a Boots store like the UK. The customers would never walk into a neighborhood Walgreen thinking about seeing a beauty consultant to service their needs. This position doesn't allow you to growth. Your not allowed to do any task to keep your day busy or to your team members. The hours working 5 days in a row at 11 am - 7 pm is unrealistic and BORING

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your BC and realize this position isn't built to be a cookie cutter. Every Walgreen and location is different.

      Alliance Boots2019-01-08
    • "rx nanager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Alliance Boots part-time

      Pros

      pay/benefits good training programs

      Cons

      Work load crazy schedules and expectations

      Alliance Boots2018-12-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "No loyalty"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Pharmacy Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Alliance Boots full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Hourly pay is decent (Not for what you have to do as pharmacy managers at Tier 3 or 4 stores)

      Cons

      Terminated easily (regardless of how minor or severe - pharmacists are dispensed like medication at Walgreen's Boots Alliance - no appreciation - no raises for pharmacists but other POS employees get a raise... lol - ridiculous) No loyalty (corporate world - no personal relationships) KPI goals (unreachable in most instances - especially in Memphis - corporate management acts like it's the pharmacy personnel not giving...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Learn how to lead before your company goes under due to reviews and how you treat people (especially those that work their butt off for you) - promote pharmacists to store managers - your company would be a lot better off - instead of using people with "MBA" - is that even a degree??? Anyone can get through those courses.

      Alliance Boots2018-07-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Customer service, cash handling, pharmacy experience and general maintenance."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Leader in Murphysboro, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Alliance Boots full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Excellent work experience and a chance to help each customer or patient personally. They were there for me when I needed it.

      Cons

      It is ever changing and not in a great way. It is just time to move on and try something new.

      Advice to Management

      Your employees are people too.

      Alliance Boots2018-05-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Walgreens"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Floater Pharmacist in Portland, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Alliance Boots part-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Fast paced- never bored. Decent wage

      Cons

      Company values have changed. Employees no longer priority. Only money.

      Advice to Management

      Treat your tenured employees like more than door mats.

      Alliance Boots2018-05-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "sales associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Alliance Boots part-time

      Pros

      Great job for the pay, you meet great people who you become long time friends with.

      Cons

      If you have a bad store manager then you r school sceduel might be ignored.

      Alliance Boots2017-10-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "All right job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Alliance Boots full-time

      Pros

      Independent, no one directly over you every day

      Cons

      Bad relations with store management

      Alliance Boots2017-03-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Beauty Advisor Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Beauty Advisor & Representative in Tigard, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Alliance Boots

      Pros

      Independent job where I can build relationships in my business without competition going on around me such as other beauty advisors right next to me like at Nordstrom.

      Cons

      Rate of pay is determined if Advisor makes the goal for the month only which is unfair if certain conditions such as lack of stock arise.

      Advice to Management

      Pay quality associates for the time they put in building customer based sales by paying them direct commission.

      Alliance Boots2016-11-25
    • "Being an employee of Walgreens Boots has been one of the best jobs I have ever had. They're an amazing company."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Aliso Viejo, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Alliance Boots full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Benefits, 401k, paid time off, holidays off, and comparable pay.

      Cons

      Working inside of Target, working along side their beauty concierge. Stock issues.

      Alliance Boots2015-11-28
    Found 227 reviews